Fake Trap

John Danker

Administrator
I was just examining the rulings for the card Fake Trap and I'm a little confused as to it's intention...

Fake Trap

Text:

You can only activate this card when your opponent uses an effect of a Spell, Trap, or Effect Monster to destroy Trap Card(s) on your side of the field. Destroy this card as a substitute of those Trap Card(s) and the other Trap Card(s) are not destroyed. If a Set card(s) would have been destroyed, pick up and see the Set card(s).

and now the first ruling under Fake Trap....

[Re: Blowback Dragon] If your opponent uses "Blowback Dragon" on a Trap Card, you can use "Fake Trap" to save it

Since when Blowback Dragon's effect is activated we don't know if the targeted trap card will be destroyed or not how can you activate Fake Trap in chain to Blowback Dragon's effect? Wouldn't this be like trying to activate My Body As A Shield when Blowback Dragon's effect is targeting a monster?.....Or am I missing the intent of the usage of Fake Trap?
 
John Danker said:
I was just examining the rulings for the card Fake Trap and I'm a little confused as to it's intention...

Fake Trap

Text:

You can only activate this card when your opponent uses an effect of a Spell, Trap, or Effect Monster to destroy Trap Card(s) on your side of the field. Destroy this card as a substitute of those Trap Card(s) and the other Trap Card(s) are not destroyed. If a Set card(s) would have been destroyed, pick up and see the Set card(s).

and now the first ruling under Fake Trap....

[Re: Blowback Dragon] If your opponent uses "Blowback Dragon" on a Trap Card, you can use "Fake Trap" to save it

Since when Blowback Dragon's effect is activated we don't know if the targeted trap card will be destroyed or not how can you activate Fake Trap in chain to Blowback Dragon's effect? Wouldn't this be like trying to activate My Body As A Shield when Blowback Dragon's effect is targeting a monster?.....Or am I missing the intent of the usage of Fake Trap?

I think the idea is that Fake Trap is activated in response to the targeting of the set card and regardless of whether Blowback's effect resolves favorably, the set card remains where it is and is not destroyed.
 
Kool-AidMan.jpg


HA!! In your face space coyote!!
 
Brilliant! That's exactly what I was expecting.

The activation and timing of Fake Trap just doesn't seem to gel in this case with Blowback Dragon. Blowback targets, player flips coins. Flips 2 "heads" so the card will be destroyed. Then you activate Fake Trap. It's as if they are saying that there are 2 times when you can respond to Blowback's effect. Once upon the targetting, and once upon the destruction. Or am I reading way too much into this now?
 
just email them and say "Hey dudes your rabid monkey with tourettes made a ruling again that makes no sense." By the logic of that it means that i could activate barrel behind the door to the effect of paths of destiny or another such chance related card.
 
"You can only activate this card when your opponent uses an effect of a Spell, Trap, or Effect Monster to destroy Trap Card(s) on your side of the field."

"When your opponent activates a card that has an effect which destroys 1 or more monster(s) on the field..."
There's enough difference between the two card texts for Konami to claim that their fundamentally different activation requirements. We seem to run into this a lot when two cards with seemingly similar effects, but different grammar, have two totally different rulings. Particularly in this case, since I've never quite understood why My Body as a Shield has that requirement, as the text would not imply it.



And as my wife would say, Emerald: "You all up in my Kool-Aid, and you don't know the flavor." ;)

koolaidman5pk.jpg
 
John Danker said:
I was just examining the rulings for the card Fake Trap and I'm a little confused as to it's intention...

Fake Trap

Text:

You can only activate this card when your opponent uses an effect of a Spell, Trap, or Effect Monster to destroy Trap Card(s) on your side of the field. Destroy this card as a substitute of those Trap Card(s) and the other Trap Card(s) are not destroyed. If a Set card(s) would have been destroyed, pick up and see the Set card(s).

and now the first ruling under Fake Trap....

[Re: Blowback Dragon] If your opponent uses "Blowback Dragon" on a Trap Card, you can use "Fake Trap" to save it

Since when Blowback Dragon's effect is activated we don't know if the targeted trap card will be destroyed or not how can you activate Fake Trap in chain to Blowback Dragon's effect? Wouldn't this be like trying to activate My Body As A Shield when Blowback Dragon's effect is targeting a monster?.....Or am I missing the intent of the usage of Fake Trap?

This may be a stretch but I think it has to do with the translations:

My Body as a Shield
Quick-Play Spell

When your opponent activates a card that has an effect which destroys 1 or more monster(s) on the field, pay 1500 Life Points to negate the activation of that card and destroy it.

Fake Trap
Normal Trap

You can only activate this card when your opponent uses an effect of a Spell, Trap, or Effect Monster to destroy Trap Card(s) on your side of the field. Destroy this card as a substitute of those Trap Card(s) and the other Trap Card(s) are not destroyed. If a Set card(s) would have been destroyed, pick up and see the Set card(s).

Subtle differences in the bolded part. The first implies that the destruction is guarenteed. The 2nd implies that it's possible to destroy it. So that would mean you can use Fake Trap against Snipe Hunter as well.

This would bring up a 2nd question though in that while My Body as a Shield has to be activated right after the effect that would destroy a monster, because Fake Trap seems to set up more a "state" does that mean it just needs to be activated at some point in the chain and not immediately afterwards. After all, say you plan on using Goldd to destroy my Strike Ninja and Mirror Force. Could I not chain Strike Ninja's effect, and then activate Fake Trap since all it needs to be resolved by the time my trap would be destroyed so I can use that instead?
 
Back
Top