field of confusion

harvey locust

New Member
I have been dueling for about 7 years now I think. I first started when Metal Raiders was released here in the US. a year or so later myself and a few of my friends ran decks with multiple types of fields. I, for one, ran a deck with both umi and umiruka. Back then we just assumed that you could replace one with the other simply by discarding the previous one to the graveyard. Then along came the Duel Masters Guide set wich included a DVD on how to play. Out of sheer bordom we watched it and were suprized when they said if you already have a field spell on the field you can not activate another one untill the previous one was destroyed. So ever since then we have been playing it that way. Then along comes the 2008 champion ship game. In this game the rules revert back to the way we originaly played and you can simply play one field 'over' the other.

my question is this, How is this done in the actual card game?

thanks in advance.
 
The 2008 is correct. You can replace your own Field Spell card with your own Face-Up, or Face-Down Field Spell Card.

One more interesting thing to note, though: If your opponent attempts to replace your Field Spell Card with his and you negate his, your Field Spell Card stays. If, however, you attempt to replace your own Field Spell Card with another one of your own and your opponent (or you) negates it, ithe original one is still gone. Hope this helps.

Oh, and check out the new Field Barrier Card from FOTB:

Field Barrier
Continuous Spell
Field Spell Cards cannot be destroyed. Also, a new Field Spell cannot be activated. You can only control 1 face-up "Field Barrier" at a time.
 
[info] Rule Book
These cards are placed in the Field Card Zone and remain on the field after they are activated. There can only be 1 face-up Field Spell Card on the field at any given time between both players. When a new Field Spell Card is activated, the previous active Field Spell Card is destroyed automatically.

These cards may be placed facedown in the Field Card Zone, but are not active until flipped face-up.[/info]I'm not sure if they flip-flopped or not on this one, but for as long as I can remember, the rules where any time one was activated the other was destroyed.
 
DLoC is correct.

If your opponent activates a Field Spell and you either negate that activation with a card like "Magic Jammer", or destroy their Field Spell before it resolves with a card like "Mystical Space Typhoon", then your Field Spell Card will not be destroyed.

If you activate another Field Spell Card then your existing one is immediately destroyed no matter if the new one is negated or destroyed before resolving or not.

Talk about strange..huh?.....;)
 
DLoC is correct.

If your opponent activates a Field Spell and you either negate that activation with a card like "Magic Jammer", or destroy their Field Spell before it resolves with a card like "Mystical Space Typhoon", then your Field Spell Card will not be destroyed.

If you activate another Field Spell Card then your existing one is immediately destroyed no matter if the new one is negated or destroyed before resolving or not.

Talk about strange..huh?.....;)

Thanks for backing DLoC up on the question of activating a new Field Spell when you already have a Field Spell on the field... I know he knows a lot about the game but I thought "That is crazy that it doesn't matter if it's negated."
 
Back
Top