gemini vrs skill drain vrs ceasefire

harvey locust

New Member
ok Im working on a new deck for upcoming tournaments and was thinking of throwing 'ceasefire' into the mix. here is my question up for debate:
player 'b' has two set cards
player 'a' has a face up gemini monster that has not been re-summoned
player 'b' activates skill drain
player 'a' attacks
player 'b' activates ceasefire.

I am assuming that skill drain negates the gemini monsters effect and thus returning it to a effect monster (even tho the effect is negated) and that player would receive damage from ceasefire.

can anyone argue that statement?
 
I don't see why they wouldn't be counted as Effect Monster with Skill Drain on the field. They are treated as such when in the Deck or hand, so I would imagine the same is true when their effect is negated.
 
If I'm not mistaken...Skill Drain merely negates the ability of the Effect monster to use it's effect, not take away the fact that it is still an Effect monster. If Skill Drain is removed, the monster returns to being an Effect monster with the ability to use it's effect, right? Ceasefire doesn't look to see if the monster's effect is being negated, just how many effect monsters are on the field.
 
I think you might be a little confuzzled. We're not saying Skill Drain takes anything away. We're saying, in the case of a Gemini Monster, it gives it back. Or more accurately, makes them Effect Monsters again.
 
Not really confused, just re-emphasizing the fact that Gemini monsters, although considered a "normal" monster is still an effect monster and as such, still beholden to the effect of Ceasefire regarding damage.
 
To my knowledge, this is how "Skill Drain" works with "Gemini" monsters.

If the "Gemini" Monster has not been Gemini Summoned, then it becomes a 'blank' effect monster with no effect. You cannot attempt to Gemini Summon that monster with its own effect while "Skill Drain" is active. Once "Skill Drain" leaves the field, that "Gemini" monster will once again be treated as a Normal Monster.

If the "Gemini" monster has been Gemini Summoned, then it behaves just like any other effect monster while "Skill Drain" is active.

There is a ruling under "Super Double Summon" that kind of explains this...
UDE FAQ said:
You can activate "Super Double Summon" and select a Gemini Monster that is having its effect negated by "Skill Drain". The Gemini Monster will be treated as having been Normal Summoned while face-up on the field, but the effects it gains will be negated by "Skill Drain". If "Skill Drain" is negated or removed from the field later in the turn, the selected Gemini Monster's effects will be active and can be used.
So..in regards to "Ceasefire", a "Gemini" monster will pretty much always count as an Effect Monster even while "Skill Drain" is on the field.
 
Back
Top