Getting into VS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well how do I start this threshold thing to begin with? I read that I need say a Plot Twist or was it Location to be in my resource Zone first before I can pay the needed costs to flip it over or something/
 
because on turn 1 if you decide to place no resources you then have nothing to play. lol.

but if you place a resource you now can activate all Plot twists or locations[only benefit on the field] that cost 1.
then on turn 2 you can activate all that cost 2 or 1
on 3 you can activate all 3 or less
on 4 you can activate all 4 or less
on 5 you can activate all 5 or less
on 6 you can activate all 6 or less

like i said before threshold costs just look that you have certain amount of resources to activate the card. You dont spend anything on them.

their basically free aslong as you have enough resources to suffice it. In other words.

each plot twist and location go in order of turns.

on turn 3 you should have 3 resources so you can activate all 3 or less.
on turn 4 you should have 4 resources so you can activate all 4 or less.

and so on and so forth.
 
So if I have say Gotham City as my location and it costs 1 drop. After I put 1 card in my resource zone, boom I can activate Gotham City from my hand? Then afterward summon say Batman if he had 1 cost?
 
Locations can only be played from your resource row. You can set the Gotham City, then flip it, but locations can never be played from the hand.
 
chaosruler said:
Locations can only be played from your resource row. You can set the Gotham City, then flip it, but locations can never be played from the hand.

Ok first turn. I put a card in the resource zone. I want to activate my 1 cost Gotham City. Do I put it in my resource zone and then flip it or do I wait the next turn to put it in there and then flip it, thus giving me 2 resources to summon say a 2 cost Batman?
 
Yeah, I mean first turn of the game and I am first. If I want to activate a 1 cost Gotham City for example, do I put 1 card in my resource zone then put Gotham City face-down in my resource zone, only to flip it over because I have 1 resource thanks to the first card I put there? Or do I wait 1 turn in order to put Gotham City in my resouce zone face-down, giving me 2 resources to summon say a 2 Cost Batman and then I flip over my Gotham City?

Better yet, can I just put Gotham City in my resource zone first turn, then flip it over? Then I can summon a 1 cost Batman for example.
 
you can put Gotham City down AS your turn 1 resource, THEN flip it on that turn. the resource card you set can be Gotham City.
 
TIso said:
Better yet, can I just put Gotham City in my resource zone first turn, then flip it over? Then I can summon a 1 cost Batman for example.

thats usually what you would want to do, if it benefits you. :)
 
Ok now it makes more sense. I sort of figured out the entire point of the game. TO get that 50 endurance down the fastest. Ok what happens in the recover phase or whatever it is called. I read that any stuns after you move one of your stunned (or was it exhausted) guys from horizontal to vertical position (you are allowed to do this once per phase of that) and the rest get KOed.
 
preaty much say you battled with 5 characters and in the end of combat phase all of your 5 characters got stunned.

Horizontal Face down

during the recovery phase you select 1 of thouse and flip it over and ready it to Vertical position, the rest will be sent to your KO pile [Graveyard]

if you have creatures with Evasion mechanic on them and you used the Evasion Mechanic then you can recover thouse aswell.

you also DONT have to recover any characters if you dont want to.

say i have 1 stunned characters during recovery i chose if i wish to recover him or her.

If i chose no then it gets KO'ed and next turn i start with nothing.

You may think this is dumb but trust me there is a Team affiliation that makes the whole "Army of One" thing a big deal. lol
 
Tiso said:
Ok now it makes more sense. I sort of figured out the entire point of the game. TO get that 50 endurance down the fastest. Ok what happens in the recover phase or whatever it is called. I read that any stuns after you move one of your stunned (or was it exhausted) guys from horizontal to vertical position (you are allowed to do this once per phase of that) and the rest get KOed.
At the start of the recovery phase any effects can be played (following the wonderfully clear rules of priority that VS has) and when the chains resolves and every one passes then we go to the end of the recovery phase.

At the end, of the recovery phase, you can recover one stunned character (face down horizontal to face up horizontal). Once you choose that character and it recovers, then everyhting exahusted now readies (horizontal to vertical). Since stunned characters cannot ready, all stunned chaarcter will KO at this point in the phase. These actions mark the end of the recovery phase and the end of that turn. There is no priority here, so no chains are created.
 
Actually priority is what bugs me in a confused state. I understand Yu-Gi-Oh! priority, I do not get Vs. It is not like where I activate a Spell Card and then my opponent chains to it. I can activate a bunch of effects, stack them in the chain, and then pass it to my opponent is where I get lost. How does it resolve? What does it look like resolving. How do I even chain if I can to an attack?
 
Ironically, Yu-Gi-Oh! is the game with the obscure chain. No other card game has unclear priority and the back ad forth chain that we have. But Yu-Gi- players have goten used to it, and the VS chain seems odd, even hard to grasp at times.


It's actually quite simple. If you have the intiative, then you get to go first at each phase or pass.

Starting a chain (which just about everything in this game does) does not mean your opponent gets to respond. You build your chain first. Once you've decided your done buildig the cain you pass to your opponent.

He now has priority to build onto the chain. And he gets to do the exact same thing. He adds effects and you don't respond until he passes priority back to you.

If two players pass in succession then the chain begins to resolve.

The chain resolves a little differently. Yes, it resolves backward with the last card played, just like in Yu-Gi. But...

Say, I've built a cahin with two effects on it. I pass to you and you put two more effects on the chain. Then you pass back to me. I now have the option adding on or passing. I choose to pass, so the chain begins to resolve.

But when the first effect resolves, a player may add an additional effect onto the existing chain and the whole process of passing back and forth can continue like before.

Basically, the chain can up and down before it ever fully resolves. As efffects resolve off of it, new effecst can beadded onto it, like a stack of blocks.
 
But it will resolve like YGO and in that fashion in the middle of the chain if one of the effects was to KO a card or something, would that effect then be not able to resolve or something?
 
Like in Yu-Gi, if an effect is triggered it's added to the chain. The effect then becomes seperate from the card that generated it. So KOing the card won't matter. If its a continuous effect, however, it would need to be in play to be active. But continuous effects don't use the chain, so there's no confusion there. The effect is either on or off.
 
Hence forth why its called The Stack in MTG.

see VS.'s Chains resolve exactly like in Magic.

"When all players pass in succesion the TOP card of the Chain resolves first."

This doesnt mean the entire Stack has resolved only the Top card.

Hence forth in VS. you use the same method of Resolving a Chain.

Its why in the Begginers Guide to Magic i stated that the Stack Resolves just like in VS so Vs. Players could have a Easy Time Learning Magic.

So basically the same thing happens in VS. Only like DJ stated you can make a giant Chain and untill your satisfied pass and let your opponent go at it till their hearts content. :D
 
But like I said never played MTG so all of this flies over my head in understanding.
 
Just think of the Chain like a stack of blocks. I build mine, then pass to you. You can add more blocks to the stack and pass to me. If both of us pass in succession the the first block on that stack will be knocked off (resolves). But now one of us (starting with the last player priority got passed to) can add another block on to that stack.

So in other words, in order for a link to resolve, both players have to pass in succession. When they do, an effect resolves, and we can start adding to that chain again. Each link will require both players to pass in succession before a given link can resolve.
 
But like the chain in YGO, all of the blocks will eventually resolve? Not just, ok block A is done, next turn block B goes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top