guardian sphinx

BURN

New Member
Where can I find an official ruling saying that as long as Guardian Sphinx doesn't change battle position that I can flipp him face down and then flipp him face up attack postion and still get his flipp affect?

The reason I asked this came up in a game.

My opponent attacked my face down Guardian Sphinx then on my turn I flipped him face down then flipped him face up in attack postion and he said that I could not do that. I said that I could but I can not flipp him back face down. Until the next turn.
 
If guardian sphinx begins its turn in face up defense, then you may flip if face down (not changing its battle position) and then flip summon it, thus getting its effect. However I'm not entirely sure that flipping it face down resets its effect such that you can turn it face down again in the same turn.
 
If you go here:
http://www.upperdeckentertainment.com/yugioh/en/faq_advanced.aspx

Look for the following section:
Flipping Face-Down: "Guardian Sphinx", "Royal Keeper", etc.

The paragraph states:
"
[font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]If "Guardian Sphinx" is in face-up Defense Position, you can use "Guardian Sphinx"'s effect to flip it to face-down Defense Position. Also, you can then Flip Summon it that same turn. (It is not considered a change of battle position since "Guardian Sphinx" went from Defense Position to Defense Position)."

Now, with that said, you CANNOT use it's effect again to flip it back face down. It is stuck in face-up attack position until your next turn, or until flipped face-down by another effect such as "Book of Moon".

[/font]
[/font]
 
I realize that it's implied there, but I still don't agree with that assesment. I also realize I'm the only one. But it just doesn't make sense that an effect Battle Position change will burn your manual Battle Position change that turn. It strikes me as one of those badly worded phrases similar to the those found in some rulings.
 
Digital Jedi said:
I realize that it's implied there, but I still don't agree with that assesment. I also realize I'm the only one. But it just doesn't make sense that an effect Battle Position change will burn your manual Battle Position change that turn. It strikes me as one of those badly worded phrases similar to the those found in some rulings.
It's more a case of that you're only allowed one Battle Position change per turn, period, but sometimes effects can circumvent this and so allow more if the monster already changed position once this turn.
 
Digital Jedi said:
I realize that it's implied there, but I still don't agree with that assesment. I also realize I'm the only one. But it just doesn't make sense that an effect Battle Position change will burn your manual Battle Position change that turn. It strikes me as one of those badly worded phrases similar to the those found in some rulings.

You disagree because it doesn't make sense? <nudge> Since when does this game make sense? We're playing a game based on cartoon and comic book characters who's hero has a split personality and talks to himself.....you want the game to make sense? <smirk>
 
Back
Top