harpie's pet baby dragon

1cup

New Member
what type of effect is harpie's pet baby dragon's third effect?
can tp use priority to use pet baby dragon's third effect after summoning him, provided 3 harpie's already exist on his field?

harpie's pet baby dragon

This card accumulates effects according to the number of monsters on your side of the field that include "Harpie" in their names (other than "Harpie's Pet Baby Dragon" and "Harpie’s Brother"). At least 1: While this card is face-up on the field, your opponent cannot select monsters on your side of the field as attack targets if they include "Harpie" in their card names (other than "Harpie's Pet Baby Dragon" and "Harpie’s Brother"). At least 2: Double the original ATK and DEF of this card. At least 3: Once per turn, you can destroy 1 card on your opponent's side of the field.
 
i thought it read more like a trigger
IF xxxx, THEN xxxx

like the monarchs: IF there are 3 harpies, THEN destroy 1 card.
that or i'm misunderstanding the general effect type templating.
 
Actually, the trigger effects of the monarch monsters read " When xxxx, then xxxx" and not "if". The ignition effects of Harpie's Pet Dragon are conditional upon the number of Harpie's cards on the player's side of the field. The monarchs have only one condition and that is that it be tribute summoned. The effect triggers when that condition is met.
 
If I'm not mistaken, the effects are:

1. Continuous
2. Continuous
3. Ignition

And Triggered Effects can use the "When 'x' happens, do 'y'..." or "If 'x' happens, do 'y'...". It just so happens that in most cases, the "If 'x' then 'y'" usually denotes a condition of some kind and not a Triggered Effect.
 
pardon my ignorance, but i'm trying to wrap my head around how it is an ignition effect.

to me, it reads like a trigger.

e.g.
tp has 2 harpies on his field. he normal summons pet baby dragon. as there are only 2 harpies, pet baby does not have his third effect.

during the same turn, tp special summons a third harpie. by special summoning a third harpie, pet baby now gains its third effect. (effectively, in my mind, by having 3 on the field, it triggers this effect allowing the controller to destroy one card per turn)

or is that why it's a ignition, allowing the option for something to happen (d-hero diamond dude, exiled force)

i am under the presumption that for an effect to be an ignition, a cost (lp, discard, picking up a card, tribute, etc.) is involved, while trigger involves interaction with other cards (on field/GY, rfg pile, in either players' hands, or an action that was just performed)

would it be possible for there to be a list, or a guide as far as determining what effects are what types? (continuous, trigger, ignition, multi-trigger)
the UDE rulebook 6.0 isn't very good at clarifying the nuances.
 
Well, if verbal aspect of english convention has anything to do with it... Usually, if something is a trigger effect, an event must precede the triggering. If a state exists that allows you to do something, the state precurser, not being an event precurser, would pedilect an ignition effect (more obvious when there is a cost involved, more difficult when there is not).

In other words: If the condition is a state of being, it is propbably an ignition effect. If the condition is an event or action it is usually a trigger. The condition here is 3 harpies are (state of being) on the field. If it had said "If a 3rd Harpie is Summoned (an event) to the field..." then it would most likely be a trigger (but never always).
 
that actually helps a lot.
and verifying that i'm not a doorknob, if you'll allow me to make sure i understand.

ignitions and triggers are similar in that they have a condition to be met before its effect can activate.
the two differ in that a trigger's condition is usually an action while an ignition effect's pre-condition is usually a state (state meaning current evaluation of the duel at the moment the effect in question would like to occur).

senet monsters' effects occur in which the cards are in the proper position (ignition effect)
exiled's effect occurs in a state where he has been tributed (ignition effect)
creator's effect occurs in a state where a monster in the grave has been selected and a card has been sent to the GY (ignition)
 
The significant difference between an Ignition and a Trigger is that Triggers are event driven. Something has to occur in the linear stream of time to trip the effect and add it to the chain. It's the difference between a light that comes on when a switch is flipped, and a light that comes on using a motion sensor. The switch is the Ignition. You have to turn it on to make it bright. The motion sensor is a trigger. There only needs to be movement for it to automatically come on.

Now add a rule that says the light can only be activated when it's dark outside. That's a condition that only allows the light to turn on under a certain circumstance, but it doesn't change whether the light comes on manually or automatically (ignition or trigger). Similarly, you could have an effect that can only be manually activated when it's "dark outside", or you could have an effect that automatically activates, but only when it's "dark outside". The condition doesn't determine whether the effect is trigger or an ignition, it only determines whether it's legal to activate or not. What determines triggers from ignitions is how the effect activates. Is it something you manually choose to activate? Or is it something that get's activated for you when an event in the game occurs?
 
would it be possible for there to be a list, or a guide as far as determining what effects are what types? (continuous, trigger, ignition, multi-trigger)
the UDE rulebook 6.0 isn't very good at clarifying the nuances.
For the OCG, there's the Japanese Expert Ruling Page (JERP), but nothing for the TCG. Also, the Japanese rulings don't have much weight in the TCG.

According to it, everyone's right about it being an Ignition effect.
 
Back
Top