I know I saw this somewhere

In the old days when Giant Orc first came out I remember a ruling for it on Netrep basically saying it is ruled the same as GAF. GAF also had a ruling that explained what happens if your opponent takes your monster with Snatch Steal. I can not find this anywhere now! I searched old questions here in the city and found this:


08-30-2005, 06:34 PM
DaGuyWitBluGlasses
Conseil des Héros
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, On. Canada
Posts: 1,681 | Points: 2565.81 (Donate)
Trader Rating: (1)
Inferno Player Scan: DaGuyWitBluGlasses





Turn 1: Player A does whatever...
Turn 2: Player B Summons Goblin Attack Force and attacks.
Turn 3: If player A takes control of GAF it's position cannot be changed manually
Turn 4: Player B cannot manually change the position of GAF
Turn 5: If player A takes control of GAF player A can change its battle position.
Turn 6: Player B can change GAF battle position.

This is the answer I was looking for but it is not in the FAQ anymore. Could somebody direct me down the right path.(standing ready with the lit lantern for the long journey).
 
If you attack with Goblin Attack Force, and your opponent snatches it, he cannot change the Battle Position because it cannot be changed until the End Phase of your next turn, and we all know that you can't manually change Battle Position's at End Phase unless it is the actual effect of the card to do so, which it is not, so the only opportunity would be at the "new" controllers NEXT turn.

Turn 1, attack, go to defense
Turn 2, snatch, cannot change position
Turn 3, original owner regains control, cannot change position
Turn 4, use Brain Control, change position, attack
 
We've just interpreted it more clearly (???) by stating that you actually cant change the Position in 2nd End Phase, so it would be on turn 3rd turn of original controller, or 2nd turn of new controller.
 
It's funny how certain rulings are a hot topic for a while and then just Disappear to resurface many moons later. I worked the Jump this weekend in Chicago and I must have had this question 5 times!!!!!! All by a certain group. They all had the same story. That's not what they did at the last tournament I was in. I actually got appealed to the head judge once. When I got back to the room that night, I was double checking on something else when I realized it was not in the FAQ anymore. Correct me if I am wrong but I thought it used to be there. Sometimes the only way to convince some players of a ruling is to have it in black and white.
 
That's one of the reason's I always hated playing with Goblin Attack Force. You get so caught up in the fact that you cant change his position, that you can often forget when its actually time to do so, and lose him when you could have possibly gotten one more attack from him.
 
Back
Top