[judge-yu] Hallowed Life Barrier vs. Lava Golem

Status
Not open for further replies.

UDEbot

More Machine Than Man
Can I chain 'Hallowed Life Barrier' to the effect of a 'Lava Golem' (which was summoned to my side of the field by my opponent) to prevent my Life Points from damage?

Greets





Answer:

You can activate "Hallowed Life Barrier", but it won't help you.

Because the damage is being inflicted to you by a card effect that you control, "Hallowed Life Barrier" will not stop it.

---------------------------------------
Curtis Schultz
Official UDE Netrep
CurtisSchultz_Netrep@Hotmail.com
---
You are currently subscribed to judge-yu as: judge-list@igforums.com.
To unsubscribe, log into your account at www.ude.com/op (click on edit membership link).
You will see the option to manage your lists.

http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/?forum=judge-yu
 
Guys, does my mind fool me, or does this contradict the BTH ruling, because they ruled that you CAN use it if they summon it to your side, because they're summoning it, so what's up?

if I'm just being stupid, it's because I'm tired

-chaosruler
 
I would have to agree that it would not help. The text states "During this turn, any damage you take from your opponent becomes 0." Even though your opponent summons Lava Golem, you now control it, and also the fact that Lava Golem reads "This card inflicts 1000 points of damage to the Life Points of this card's controller during each of his/her Standby Phases." , keywords being "Standby Phases", so when Lava Golem is summoned, no damage is incurred during "this turn".
 
Hi!

I wanna know if the combo woodland sprite/archfiend of gilfer can be done.

Ex: I have a woodland sprite on the field. I send archfiend of gilfer to the graveyard with graceful charity, use the effect of him and put it on woodland sprite. I send archfiend of gilfer to the graveyard and give 500 points of damage. I use again the effect of archfiend of gilfer and put it in woodland sprite and use its effect again. It´s infinnite. Can be done?
 
Robson Clei said:
Hi!

I wanna know if the combo Woodland Sprite/Archfiend of Gilfer can be done.

Ex: I have a Woodland Sprite on the field. I send Archfiend of Gilfer to the graveyard with Graceful Charity, use the effect of him and put it on Woodland Sprite. I send Archfiend of Gilfer to the graveyard and give 500 points of damage. I use again the effect of Archfiend of Gilfer and put it in Woodland Sprite and use its effect again. It´s infinnite. Can be done?

Afraid not. Heres why: http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/messages?id=2623#2623

Curtis, Steve, or Kevin can you please explain the effect of "Archfiend of Gilfer"
with some examples?

I'm seeing it in tournaments.

Thanks for the help.

Mike MMW12002


Text for those unfamiliar:
"When this card is sent to the Graveyard, you can activate its effect.
You can then equip it to a monster on the field, and this card will be
treated as an Equip Spell Card that decreases the ATK of the equipped
monster by 500 points."



Response:

"Archfiend of Gilfer's" one main issue is its Optional Trigger Effect
that can miss its own timing. Like "Pinch Hopper" and "Peten the Dark
Clown" and "Butterfly Dagger - Elma", the Optional Trigger Effect
restricts when its effect can be activated.


For example:

Its effect cannot be activated when it is sent to the Graveyard by the effect of
"Woodland Sprite." The last thing that needs to have happened is that "Archfiend
of Gilfer" was sent to the Graveyard, and that's not the last thing that
happened. The last thing that happened was that "Woodland Sprite" inflicted
damage to the opponent.

And forget about Tributing it with "Cannon Soldier" and then trying to activate
its effect, because that doesn't work either.

Offering "Archfiend of Gilfer" as a Tribute to Summon a monster will also
prevent you from activating its effect. In this situation the last thing to
happen will be the successful Summon of a monster and not "Archfield of Gilfer"
being sent to the Graveyard. When "Archfiend of Gilfer" was sent to the Graveyard
you were in the process of Tribute Summoning your monster and could not activate
effects. By the time you could it was already too late.



Now it has to work sometime, right?

Well, it does work when Discarded through the effect of "Painful Choice."
The timing is not missed because the last thing to happen will be "Archfiend
of Gilfer" being discarded. (along with the 3 other cards)
With "Painful Choice" being a Spell Speed 1, it is typically the beginning of
the Chain, so when it resolves the Chain is done. Now you can activate
"Archfiend of Gilfer's" effect and start a new chain.

Or perhaps you discard it for "Graceful Charity." You would be able to activate
its effect then as well.

It can also be activated if destroyed in Battle. At the near end of the
Damage Step, when it is sent to the Graveyard, you can activate its effect.

---------------------------------------
Curtis Schultz
Official UDE Netrep
CurtisSchultz_Netrep@Hotmail.com
 
Robson Clei said:
The Combo Jowgen + Last Turn can be done?

In short, yes it can.

For a longer and in depth discussion on this subject see the thread in rules & regulations concerning this combo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top