Last Resort vs Horus lv8

english chef

Truly English
I checked the forums and couldn't find anything, so here goes:

Player A activates Last Resort
Player B passes.
Player A resolves last resort, searches out Rainbow ruins and activates it as part of the resolution of last resort
Player B wails and gnashes his teeth as he has Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8 on the field, and can't chain during a resolution

OR

Player A activates Last Resort
Player B passes.
Player A resolves last resort, searches out Rainbow ruins
Player A starts new chain, activating rainbow ruins
Player B smiles evily and chains Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8...

IMHO I think that it is the first example, unless I am missing something...
 
You're missing something....Horus LV 8 cannot stop the activation or resolution of a trap card that searches for a spell card. Horus LV 8 can only negate the effect of the spell card. So while the player is able to search for and activate Ancient City, when the player activates the effects of Ancient City, the player controlling Horus LV8 is able to chain it's effect and negate the effect(s) of Ancient City.
 
Rulings folks...rulings....
UDE FAQ said:
You can chain the effect of "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8" to the activation of a Continuous Spell Card, Field Spell Card, or Equip Spell Card and negate it. However, if the Continuous, Field, or Equip Spell Card is already active, you cannot later decide to try and negate its effect with "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8". You can only negate it when it is originally activated.
Since the Field Spell Card is already active by the time "Horus LV8" can do anything, it's too late for him to be able to negate any of it's effects.

And
UDE FAQ said:
Putting a Clock Counter on "Clock Tower Prison" can be chained to. The effect to Special Summon "Destiny Hero - Dreadmaster" can also be chained to. Even though this effect can be chained to, it cannot be chained to with an effect that negates the activation of a Spell Card, such as "Magic Jammer" or "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8" because the "Clock Tower Prison" card has already resolved.
 
Maruno said:
Spell Canceller and Imperial Order will not allow you to activate Last Resort, because Last Resort activates a Spell Card (which is forbidden).
And I'm going to disagree with this statement.

You can force the activation of a Continuous Trap Card while "Jinzo" is active with "Bait Doll" and it will remain on the field meaninglessly until "Jinzo" is removed.

Why would this not be the same?
 
Back
Top