level limit-area B

icecold

not too 1337
if I play level limit-area B and my opponent chains final attack orders to it what happens?
:? :?
 
When you have multiple active Continuous Spell/Trap cards, you go in the order in which they were resolved. In your example "Final Attack Orders" resolves first, so all monsters would be changed to attack position. Then "Level Limit - Area B" resolves so all Level 4 and higher monsters are changed to defense position.

When a new monster is summoned to the field, the same thing would happen when it is face up. It would go to attack position first and then possibly defense.

If the person didn't chain and instead waited for "Level Limit - Area B" to resolve first and then activated "Final Attack Orders", some monsters would be changed to defense position first before being changed to attack position (this is important to remember since "Berserk Gorilla" will be destroyed in between steps of the chain if he is changed to defense position).
 
Also, in this example, it would only affect Level 4 monsters and above.  All Level 3 and below monsters will remain in attack position from Final Attack Orders since the chain resolution did not negate the effect on them. 

This could work well if you have a pesky Spirit Reaper on your opponents side of the field that you cant get rid of. 
 
If my understanding of what you've said is correct....then it needs to be modified slightly.

When two continuous spell / trap cards contradict each other the one most recently played takes over.

The following is from the old Yahoo judge's list. Post # 10225. Please let me know if you've found something to countradict this.

Can you please give a ruling on what happens if dealing with both Final Attack Orders and Level Limit - Area B?Thanks,
MarkMark Wolanski
Level 1

Answer:Face-up Level 4 and higher monsters will be affected by the most recent of the two effects. The face-up Level 3 and lower monsters will remain in AttackPosition.

If "Final Attack Orders" was already active on the field and a player activates"Level Limit - Area B," the Level 4 and higher monsters would be shifted to Defense Position and remain that way due to "Level Limit - Area B."

If "Level Limit - Area B" is in effect and a player activates "Final AttackOrders," all face-up monsters in play would be shifted to Attack Position,including the Level 4 and higher monsters.

---------------------------------------
Curtis Schultz
Official UDE Netrep
 
That was the basis of what I said, but that's also why I was going with not necessarily the one played second dominates, but rather most recent to resolve since in his example, "Final Attack Orders" was being chained to "Level Limit - Area B". Even though FAO was played second, because it was in the chain, it resolves first, and then LL-AB. So when future monsters hit the field, I would continue to base it on the order of resolution... FAO turning it into attack position and then LL-AB turning it into defense (if the monster was 4 Star+). But if it wasn't done in a chain but after the resolution, then the effects would be to go to defense first (maybe), then attack (definately).

Hope that clarifies it a little more too.
 
densetsu_x said:
That was the basis of what I said, but that's also why I was going with not necessarily the one played second dominates, but rather most recent to resolve since in his example, "Final Attack Orders" was being chained to "Level Limit - Area B". Even though FAO was played second, because it was in the chain, it resolves first, and then LL-AB. So when future monsters hit the field, I would continue to base it on the order of resolution... FAO turning it into attack position and then LL-AB turning it into defense (if the monster was 4 Star+). But if it wasn't done in a chain but after the resolution, then the effects would be to go to defense first (maybe), then attack (definately).

Hope that clarifies it a little more too.

I don't believe that positions would change back and forth by virtue of Final Attack Orders for monsters summoned after these cards have resolved. Level Limit Area B was the last to resolve. Newly normal summoned 4 star+ monsters will of course be summoned in attack position (as all normal summoned monsters are...not by virtue of Final Attack Orders) turn to defense position from Level Limit Area B's effect....and stay in in defense position. Even a special summoned 4 star+ monster that might be special summoned in defense position would not be forced to attack position first in spite of Final Attack Orders being face up on the field if Level Limit Area B were the last to resolve. Perhaps this is what you were saying anyway <soft chuckle> Sometimes it's easy to minconstrue text.

That's what I'm reading out of Curtis's post anyway and it's the way it's been explained to me in the past.

(Partial quote from Curtis's post)

Answer:Face-up Level 4 and higher monsters will be affected by the most recent of the two effects. The face-up Level 3 and lower monsters will remain in AttackPosition.
 
Back
Top