"My Body as a Shield"/"Judgment of Anubis"

Kyhotae

Delusional Knight
Wow, Simon. They actually answered that situation that we discussed over on UDE's forums. It looks like I was wrong (again), but are you going to reply and ask them about the wording "an effect that destroys a Magic or Trap Card" that I was pointing to?

For the rest of you, I argued that These cards cannot be used against cards like "Final Destiny" or "Darkworld Lightning" because their effects do not specify Trap or Monster in their wording and "Judgment of Anubis" and "My Body as a Shield" have specific wording in their effects as to what they can be used against.
 
I guess you're referring to a judge list post. If so, it would be great if you could provide a link to the judge list post.

Right now, I honestly have no clue what you're talking about. ^^
Sorry.

soul :cool:
 
Well. Seems I gave you too much credit. ;)

Basically, that text was central to my stance. Since "Final Destiny" and the like did not have the specific text to destroy Magic and/or Trap Cards in its effect, I argued that "Judgment of Anubis" could not be used to counter it. Similar to the way that "Barrel Behind the Door" cannot be used against a card that might do damage.

Anyway, that point was conspicuously absent from the question, so I hoped that you would reply to the judges list with it if you could.
 
Kyhotae said:
Well. Seems I gave you too much credit. ;)

Basically, that text was central to my stance. Since "Final Destiny" and the like did not have the specific text to destroy Magic and/or Trap Cards in its effect, I argued that "Judgment of Anubis" could not be used to counter it. Similar to the way that "Barrel Behind the Door" cannot be used against a card that might do damage.

Anyway, that point was conspicuously absent from the question, so I hoped that you would reply to the judges list with it if you could.
That's like saying you can't activate Judgment of anubis against Mobius the frost monarch, as he might not destroy a Spell or Trap Card.

If you have Spell and Trap Cards on the field while Final Destiny is played, there is no doubt that they will be destroyed unless you negate the effect of Final Destiny.

No comparison to barrel behind the door here.

If there are no Spell and Trap's, you cannot activate. Plain and simple.
 
psst..hey woo0, you CAN'T activate "Judgment of Anubis" in response to "Mobius the Frost Monarch"s effect...lol. "Judgment of Anubis" only stops Spell Cards...lol.
 
Not really. "Mobius the Frost Monarch" has an effect that destroys a Spell and/or Trap Card, which is what "Judgment of Anubis" looks for (the effect, not the reality) according to its effect. So whether or not a spell or trap card is actually destroyed, "Judgment of Anubis" can still be activated. (oops, please disregard, I forgot too, Simon! *embarassed*)

"Barrel Behind the Door" is a comparison. There's doubt in both cases. If a card is chained that removes your magic/trap cards before they are destroyed by "Final Destiny", then it doesn't destroy any magic/trap cards, so you shouldn't have been able to activate "Judgment of Anubis", but you already did, but...

"Judgment of Anubis" and "My Body as a Shield" look for effects (according to the text of the cards) in the cards they are trying to negate, not actions of the effects at resolution. "Final Destiny" may or may not destroy monsters or Magic/Traps when it resolves because it destroys ALL cards, not any specific type.

DISCLAIMER: I realize the correct way to play these cards based on the rulings, but I personally think that more thought should have been put into the rulings.
 
skey23 said:
psst..hey woo0, you CAN'T activate "Judgment of Anubis" in response to "Mobius the Frost Monarch"s effect...lol. "Judgment of Anubis" only stops Spell Cards...lol.
Right... I was only using it as a comparison in regards to Mobius might not destroy a Spell or Trap Card.
 
Back
Top