Nightmare's Steelcage & Magic Reflector

crh1985

New Member
Nightmare's Steelcage is on the field and i activate a Magic Reflector will the Nightmare's Steelcage still be on the field tell it is destroyed by another card's effect?
 
If you peruse the rulings on Magic Reflector there in the auto-linking, you'll see where its text left much to be desired. Anything with a self-destruction effect ignores the counter (what I like to call a Reflector Counter ;)) placed on it, even if that was something being maintaned with a maintenance cost. It also ignores the counter when the card is destroyed by Game Mechanics, such as when a Field Spell Card is destroyed by another activated one. I would assume that includes Equips when they loose their target.

Swords of Revealing Light doesn't use the word destroy. However, Magic Reflector's 6th ruling implies that Swords does indeed destroy itself:

If "Swords of Revealing Light" has a counter on it, it is still destroyed at the end of the opponent's third turn after it was activated.

This is one of reasons I included this card in my errata thread.
 
novastar said:
As far as i can see that's exactly what he said...

"similar to 'Swords of Revealing Light', it's still destroyed after the two turns are up."

NS is for 2 turns, and it self-destructs regardless of MR.
Right, and as I stated, I was merely backing up his statement. I wasn't arguing with him, or correcting him, I was reinforcing what he stated.
 
Back
Top