Return From Another Dimension vs XYZ Loop?

Card Phantom

New Member
Return from the Different Dimension = XYZ Loop?

Player 1, during main phase 1, activates Return from the Different Dimension to return one X-Head Cannon , one Y-Dragon Head and one Z-Metal Tank to the field -- can the Player remove those pieces to summons XYZ-Dragon Cannon while the effect of RftDD is still resolving >> creating a loop that can summons three XYZ-Dragon Cannon ?


The only ruling I saw on XYZ that fit here was:

"The Special Summoning of these monsters from the Fusion Deck has no Spell Speed and cannot be chained to (but can be negated with Solemn Judgment)."
 
That scenario would not be possible. You must let the effect of "Return from the Different Dimension" completely resolve before you can remove all 3 cards again to Special Summon the "XYZ-Dragon Cannon".

Now, if you had 3 "Return from the Different Dimension"s set from a previous turn, then you could possibly get 3 "XYZ"s to the field in one turn. You'd just have to do it all 3 times.

Hope this helps!
 
How can you create a loop like that? Wouldn't they be special summoned once? Or is the special summon unlimited with RfDD?

Cause if it is, the forget Scientist; just Summon Cannon Soldier, play the trap; and burn til you win. Oh my God, that's way too damn easy. I don't think it's possible man.

Edit: Eep, too late on the posting. No bash!
 
Card Phantom said:
Yes, I agree it has to happen during the resolution of the effect, but, Return from the Different Dimension doesn't fully resolve until the End Phase -- when it returns all the monsters that were returned. So, wouldn't the Special Summoning effect remain active until the end phase too?
Actually, once the monsters have been summoned to the field, the card resolves and it goes to the Graveyard. The 'destroy at the End Phase' part is a lingering effect that stays even AFTER the card has resolved.
[edit] Think of "Waboku". If you activate it during your opponent's Draw Phase, the card resolves and goes to the Graveyard, BUT it's effect stays on the field during the entire turn, even though the card has come and gone and is resting peacefully in the Graveyard, it's memory (effect) lives on.

Plus, you can't interrupt the resolution, or you can't start something new during the resolution of an effect (except for those pesky Archfiend's and thier die roll effect...aaarrrrrgh.)
 
skey23 said:
Actually, once the monsters have been summoned to the field, the card resolves and it goes to the Graveyard. The 'destroy at the End Phase' part is a lingering effect that stays even AFTER the card has resolved.
[edit] Think of "Waboku". If you activate it during your opponent's Draw Phase, the card resolves and goes to the Graveyard, BUT it's effect stays on the field during the entire turn, even though the card has come and gone and is resting peacefully in the Graveyard, it's memory (effect) lives on.

Plus, you can't interrupt the resolution, or you can't start something new during the resolution of an effect (except for those pesky Archfiend's and thier die roll effect...aaarrrrrgh.)

He make good point too, Chief.
 
Back
Top