Return from the Different Dimension VS Royal Oppression

The_Fallen

New Member
I'm sorry if this question was already asked on an earlier forum.





My friend has been bugging me about this question. He was the LOD-091 version and is very stubborn about the new errata. The DB2 text is different. I just need proof for him to believe me.


Return from the Different Dimension:

"Pay half of your life points, special summon as many of your monsters as possible that have been removed from play on your side of the field. During the End Phase, remove from play all monsters that were special summoned by this effect."



Royal Oppression:

"Pay 800 Life Points to negate a Special Summon of a monster(s) and the effect of a card that Special Summons a monster(s) and destroy it. Both you and your opponent can use this effect as long as this card remains face-up on the field.







Can this card negate Return from the Different Dimension's effect and the Special Summoning of the card that where removed from play?



Thank you.
 
The thing to remember with this is....

"Royal Oppression" must already be face-up on the field, AND you must chain to the activation of "Return from the Different Dimension". If you wait until the monsters are already Special Summoned, then you've missed the timing to negate their Special Summon.


Hope this helps!
 
The_Fallen said:
I'm not too sure, The older text confused him and nither of us have the newer version of the card, we both have the LON one.
Never listen to the older text. That's how I got burned big time by someone with an old Necrofear.

The latest errata is always the correct choice.
 
Thank you, but..

skey23 said:
The thing to remember with this is....

"Royal Oppression" must already be face-up on the field, AND you must chain to the activation of "Return from the Different Dimension". If you wait until the monsters are already Special Summoned, then you've missed the timing to negate their Special Summon.


Hope this helps!


So what you are saying is..


Player A: Activates his face down RFTDD

Player B: Chains with his face down Royal oppression then pays his/her 800 to negate.

player B cant do this?
 
The_Fallen said:
So what you are saying is..


Player A: Activates his face down RFTDD

Player B: Chains with his face down Royal oppression then pays his/her 800 to negate.

player B cant do this?

Precisely...

Royal Opression must be alredy face-up on the field and fully resolved before the activation of RftDD in order to be able to negate it.
 
The_Fallen

Thank you.



The cards have the same spell speed... However one is a normal trap the other a continuous Trap, and you cant chain one to the other like a face down MST in responce to a Snatch Steal...
 
The_Fallen said:
So what you are saying is..


Player A: Activates his face down RFTDD

Player B: Chains with his face down Royal oppression then pays his/her 800 to negate.

player B cant do this?
The reason you can't do this is because you can't activate (flip face-up) a Continuous Trap Card, that has a Trigger-like Effect, AND use that effect in the same chain. If the Continuous Trap Card had a continuous effect (Royal Decree), then it would work in the same chain.


Hope this helps!
 
The_Fallen said:
The cards have the same spell speed... However one is a normal trap the other a continuous Trap, and you cant chain one to the other like a face down MST in responce to a Snatch Steal...
You can chain it, but you can't use the effect until after it's resolved to the field. If you chain it to "Return from a Different Dimension" you can't use its effect until after the entire chain block resolves. By that time it's too late to use the effect to negate the Special Summon(s).
 
Back
Top