Rope of Life

No. You can not activate Rope of Life in Damage Step because it does not change the ATK/DEF of a monster(s) in the field; and it is not a Counter Trap. You uset it as a respond to your monster being sent to the Graveyard as a result of battle.
 
What you are suggesting is that you cannot activate Rope of Life during the Damage Step. The Damage Step includes step 5 where a destroyed monster is sent to the graveyard and then step 6 where you would activate any graveyard effects. Thus if my Pyramid Turtle is destroyed by Gemini Elf I must first summon another Zombie to the field and then activate Rope of Life to revive my Pyramid Turtle? I would think Rope of Life is one of those special Traps that doesn't follow the standard rules because it can only be triggered immediately following the monster being sent to the graveyard (in the damage step).
 
I was under the impression that only Effect Monsters that activate in the Graveyard are the ones that triggers in the Step 5 of the Damage Step. Then after that, you can activate Rope of Life when the opponent either declares an attack, or goes to End Phase. I did not realize you can use Step 5 to activate a trap card.
 
2 Follow up questions:

1) Do you have to activate Rope of Life during Step 5 of Damage Step? Can you activate it when your opponent destroys one of your monster, then declares another monster to attack? Can you activate it when your opponent goes to End Step of the Battle Step?

2) Is this play legal?

Player B has a face-up ATK pos "Lord of D."
Player A has a face-up ATK pos "Pyramid Turtle" and a previously set "Rope of Life"

Player A suicide PT agains LoD.
On Step 5 of the Damage Step: Chain Link is Turtle's effect -> RoL
On Resolution: Turtle comes back with 2000 ATK, then special summon "Ryu Kokki"
Then Player A attacks Player B directly with PT and RK for 4400 direct damage.
 
Rope of Life has the effect of increasing a monster's attack. It is not an exception.

Honestly, it makes no difference, the "ATK/DEF Modifier only" rule is really misleading and should be nixed, as there are many exceptions to that rule. It mostly applies to prior to Damage Calculation.

For example, up until a few months ago, the JERP stated you could use Michizure in the Damage Step as well, in response to the monster being sent.

1) Do you have to activate Rope of Life during Step 5 of Damage Step? Can you activate it when your opponent destroys one of your monster, then declares another monster to attack? Can you activate it when your opponent goes to End Step of the Battle Step?

No, it can only be activated in response to the monster being sent to the Graveyard, then and only then. At any point during the Response Chain.

2) Is this play legal?

Player B has a face-up ATK pos "Lord of D."
Player A has a face-up ATK pos "Pyramid Turtle" and a previously set "Rope of Life"

Player A suicide PT agains LoD.
On Step 5 of the Damage Step: Chain Link is Turtle's effect -> RoL
On Resolution: Turtle comes back with 2000 ATK, then special summon "Ryu Kokki"
Then Player A attacks Player B directly with PT and RK for 4400 direct damage.

Yes
 
novastar said:
No it is activated in response to the monster being sent to the graveyard, then and only then.
Yes
But the moster must be destroyed as a result of battle? So, is the other scenario will be ok to activate RoL? I'm not sure which question you answered NO.
 
What im saying is that, the timing for Rope of Life is specific, it is in response to the monster being set to the grave as a result of battle.

I assumed that you were refering to activating it at the Battle Step...which you cant, as well as the End Step...which you cant either.

Only during Step 6 of the Damage Step, in response.

Th Pyramid Turtle example is legal, since its own effect is triggered by it being sent, and is placed in the Response Chain, and you can absolutely chain Rope of Life to it, and bring Pyramid Turtle back.
 
Actually by my chart it would be step 6 that the monster is sent to the graveyard. You wouldn't be able to activate Rope until the monster was actually in the graveyard.
 
Back
Top