Soul Exchange Question

azselendor

New Member
Hi, I searched the board here, the judge's forum, and elsewhere low and high on the net. Over the last two weeks, I've been debating with the tournament judge about Soul Exchange and if it requires a monster or not on your side of the field to activate. While there is a post on the judge's board stating you do not need a monster for Curtis, the post is more than a year old the text on Soul Exchange was errated a few months ago.

It now states...
Soul Exchange (Tournament Pack 7, Starter Decks: Yugi, Kaiba Evolution)
Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field. This turn, if you would Tribute a monster on your side of the field, Tribute the selected monster instead. You cannot conduct your Battle Phase during the turn that you activate this card.


I feel it doesn't require require a monster on my side to active still, but he and several ranking players insist it does.

I was hoping to get someone, a high ranking judge or someone with UDE to answer this clearly, but I can't access the judge's board to ask.
 
The new wording does not change the ruling and the ruling is not changed. You do not have to have a monster on your side of the field. If there were a change in the ruling, they would have posted something on the Judge List about it in order to make sure that we rule it appropriately.
 
Simple way is tell him to check the judges list and ask the question himself and see his face when they email him back laughing at him. Either that or simply print out the judges list posting and show it to him stating its the most recent ruling and thus the correct ruling. And then send him here for a bit of tutalage.
 
Last week I had printed out the posting on the judge's board and he refused to accept that citing that the text errata on the card supported his claim. A few of the players that once supported his side are now on the fence after I talked to them.

I doubt I can convince him to post a question on the judge's board.

How does one gain the ability to post on the judge's board?
 
Id like to know that too. I became a judge but whadya know because of UDEs pure suckiness they didnt put me onto the list at all in any way shape or form. I think i was told it was because they were trying to get some new system sorted for that kind of thing.
 
azselendor said:
Last week I had printed out the posting on the judge's board and he refused to accept that citing that the text errata on the card supported his claim. A few of the players that once supported his side are now on the fence after I talked to them.

I doubt I can convince him to post a question on the judge's board.

How does one gain the ability to post on the judge's board?
So what does he base his rulings on in the absense of actual Konami Rulings if he doesnt refer to the Judge List? "His way or the highway"???

skey23 said:
Print this out....It should be enough proof...

http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/messages?id=6737#6737


Enjoy!
Unfortunately, as he already pointed out, the Judge he is referring to doesnt follow the Judge List.
 
He does follow the judge's list, it's that he considers the proof I gave him to be too outdated and the errata to the card text to justify is point of view. The post is over a year old and the errata is only a few months old, because prior to the errata, he did support the correct play of the card.
 
Well all I can say is he is not following the list. The final ruling in all cases is an official konami ruling and in the event no such ruling exists then the list has final say no matter the date on it. If it needed to be updated it would be updated. The date of the ruling is insignificant as it is still the most up to date ruling on offer.
 
That's the problem with some players, judges or otherwise. They'll come up with any reason not to accept things if it doesnt jibe with their way of thinking. As a judge, however, he should be aware that in the absence of rulings, the Judges List is default, regardless of the age of the ruling. "Old" doesn't mean out of date, unless there's some actual conflict with it and a newer ruling. If there's no conflict, then he's the one in error, not the Judges List.

There's not much you can do with someone like him, other then ignore him. When I deal with someone who thinks he knows better then the people who actually make the rulings, then I usually point that out to them. He can disagree with the list message of hw wants to, it's his right. But he's supposed to rule based on the information available to the best of his ability. If a judge fails to do that, then he is failing his responsibility as a Judge
 
Like I said before, if it was changed, they would have posted something to the Judge List to let us know. That's what the Judge List is for. Since there's nothing "newer", the last ruling about it stands.
 
azselendor said:
Soul Exchange
(Tournament Pack 7, Starter Decks: Yugi, Kaiba Evolution)
Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field. This turn, if you would Tribute a monster on your side of the field, Tribute the selected monster instead. You cannot conduct your Battle Phase during the turn that you activate this card.


I feel it doesn't require require a monster on my side to active still, but he and several ranking players insist it does.

I was hoping to get someone, a high ranking judge or someone with UDE to answer this clearly, but I can't access the judge's board to ask.

OK, read it carefully. This turn, if you would Tribute a monster on your side of the field, Tribute the selected monster instead.
There is NOTHING saying you need a monster on your side of the field! ONLY that IF you WOULD Tribute .... If you WOULD, not that you MUST. Where is it saying ANYTHING about you having a monster? Just that IF you would Trubute ....

How this Judge got that you must have a monster is beyound reasionable comprehension! As ruled it sets up a condition that IF you would Trubute a monster on your side of the field, you would Trubute that Monster instead. That's why after activation, you can NOT select any monster except that one as a trubute until it's effect is used.
 
CPMillerWV said:
OK, read it carefully. This turn, if you would Tribute a monster on your side of the field, Tribute the selected monster instead.
There is NOTHING saying you need a monster on your side of the field! ONLY that IF you WOULD Tribute .... If you WOULD, not that you MUST. Where is it saying ANYTHING about you having a monster? Just that IF you would Trubute ....

How this Judge got that you must have a monster is beyound reasionable comprehension! As ruled it sets up a condition that IF you would Trubute a monster on your side of the field, you would Trubute that Monster instead. That's why after activation, you can NOT select any monster except that one as a trubute until it's effect is used.

<stirring up burning coal embers into a raging fire!!> I still think that the ruling is wrong, especially in light of the errata. It states "If you would tribute a monster on your side of the field". That statement alone insinuates that you have a monster on the field. How can you have a statement like that with NO MONSTER?! The ruling either needs to be updated or the errata changed to read " select a monster on your opponents side of the field and use it to tribute summon a monster to your side of the field". That statement makes sense!! It would TOTALLY erase the debates taking place because of the text versus the ruling. Just my two and a half cents.
 
HorusMaster said:
<stirring up burning coal embers into a raging fire!!> I still think that the ruling is wrong, especially in light of the errata. It states "If you would tribute a monster on your side of the field". That statement alone insinuates that you have a monster on the field. How can you have a statement like that with NO MONSTER?! The ruling either needs to be updated or the errata changed to read " select a monster on your opponents side of the field and use it to tribute summon a monster to your side of the field". That statement makes sense!! It would TOTALLY erase the debates taking place because of the text versus the ruling. Just my two and a half cents.
You're statement makes even less sense mechanically, as now you are saying that you can only use Soul Exchange for Tribute Summons.

Soul Exchange can be used for anything that you would Tribute a monster for (except monsters Tributed to attack, since you have no Battle Phase)

Cannon Soldier
Destiny Hero - Dasher
Ectoplasmer
Mass Driver

The text update is not a "Ruling Change", which is the difference. Cards like Spell Shield Type-8 created a Ruling change by its text update, as well as Swords of Revealing Light. Nothing changed by Soul Exchange's revision.

Original Text (SDY)

"Select an opponent's monster and use it as a Tribute in place of one of your own. You must skip your Battle Phase for the turn in which this card is activated."


To me, this indicated that you didnt need to have a monster.

Screwed up Text (SKE)

"Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field. When you offer your monster as a Tribute, offer the selected monster in place of 1 of your monsters. During this turn, you cannot conduct your Battle Phase."

Definitely sounds like you needed to have a monster on your side of the field, which is contrary to the original intent.

Newest Text (TP7)

"Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field. This turn, if you would Tribute a monster on your side of the field, Tribute the selected monster instead. You cannot conduct your Battle Phase during the turn that you activate this card."

CLEARLY Soul Exchange is setting up a condition to where you do not need to have a monster under your control to be Tributed.
 
Javier confirmed the old ruling still stands last night for me, I've asked if it could be added to the gameplay FAQ and netrep as it seems to be a regular problem.
 
Newest Text (TP7)

"Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field. This turn, if you would Tribute a monster on your side of the field, Tribute the selected monster instead. You cannot conduct your Battle Phase during the turn that you activate this card."

CLEARLY Soul Exchange is setting up a condition to where you do not need to have a monster under your control to be Tributed.[/QUOTE]

How can you think that the statement "this turn, if you would tribute a monster on your side of the field" indicates that you don't have to have a monster under your control? How would you tribute a monster on your side of the field if it isn't there?

I understand the game mechanics but the original posting dealt with using the opponent's monster to tribute summon Jinzo. That's the point I was trying to make about Soul Exchange and tribute summons.
 
Back
Top