To Ojama or not to Ojama

squid

removed from play
Here is what happened to me, and I couldn't rembember the way that Ojama works here:

P1: (me)
Ojama Trio set
Spatial Collapse set
Compulsory Evacuation Device set
Messenger of Peace active
Raging Flame Sprite @ 2100 ATK

P2:
2 face down s/t
1 Kycoo

P2 draws and I respond to the draw by activating Ojama Trio. He had no response, so I chained Spatial Collapse. Then he chained Call of the Haunted to summon his dead Zaborg.

So now he has 4 cards: Zaborg, Kycoo, CotH, and a face down.

then Spatial Collapse resolves, limiting the field to 5

Then Ojama Trio goes to resolve....?

Do the tokens ever make it to the field? Its not like they tell you you can summon "up to". Its all or nothing. But if I can't do all, then will any of them make it?

If the tokens do make it, are they destroyed and inflict damage, or are they simply voided, or removed by the controlling player from the game?
 
All, or nothing.

But, if the Ojama Tokens get summoned to the field, if an effect like Remove Brainwashing were activated, and there were only 2 Monster Zones available to move to, with 3 Ojama Tokens on the field, 2 would move, and the 3rd would be destroyed.
 
Yes, but with Remove Brainwashing, the tokens had already resolved onto the field, no?

Im not sure Im clear with your "all or nothing" answer.

Are you saying that because Spatial Collapse resolved first, that none of the tokens would be summoned?

See, I was looking at the first ruling for Spatial Collapse, and it would seem that it isnt preventing the successful resolution of an effect that would place more than 5 cards on the player's field. It just requires that the controller selects and sends cards to the Graveyard until they have the 5 limit.

"¢ If "Spatial Collapse" is activated, and an effect is chained so that a player has more than 5 cards on the field after "Spatial Collapse" resolves, the controller selects cards to send to the Graveyard to make the number 5.

"¢ You can activate "Spatial Collapse" when you have 5 or less cards on the field and your opponent has 5 or less cards on the field.

"¢ "Spatial Collapse" includes Tokens, too.

"¢ While "Spatial Collapse" is active and you have 1 or more cards already on your side of the field, you cannot activate "Scapegoat" because you would have your 1 previous card + the "Scapegoat" card + 4 monster tokens = 6.

"¢ When you have 4 cards on your side of the field while "Spatial Collapse" is active, you cannot activate "Change of Heart".

"¢ When "Cyber Jar" is activated while "Spatial Collapse" is active, if the number of cards exceeds 5, each player selects cards to send to the Graveyard to make the number 5.

"¢ When you have 4 cards on the field and you activate "Remove Brainwashing", you select cards to destroy to make the number of cards you control 5.

"¢ [Re: Amplifier] If the controller of "Jinzo" with "Amplifier" has activated the effects of "Regulation of Tribe", "Spatial Collapse", "Robbin' Goblin", "Robbin' Zombie", "Curse of Darkness", etc., their effects are not negated, but if the opponent activates them, they ARE negated.

And then there is the Cyber Jar ruling a bit further down too, which would suggest that the tokens would be summoned, then the player would mark down until they were under the Collapse limit.
 
All or nothing means that Ojama Trio would not resolve because they must have 3 Zones to occupy.

In my example with remove brainwashing, I was only showing "when" a situation would result in Tokens being able to split from the "group".

Cyber Jar is not the same as Tokens summoned from Scapegoat, Ojama Trio, or Stray Lambs. These Tokens can only be summoned as a group. Monsters from Cyber Jar may or may not be summoned if you get level 5 or above, or level 4 or below that cannot be special summoned by retrictions on their card text, like "Spirit Monsters".

You must summon as many monsters as possible by Cyber Jar's effect. You "can" only summon as many Zones as available, but any Level 4 or below that cannot be summoned, that normally "would" be summoned, are destroyed.
 
So, because the Ojama tokens need legal available spaces for both activation and resolution, the restriction of spaces placed by Spatial Collapse would prevent Ojama Trio (the trap card) from resolving successfully. More similar to the situation put into place by the ruling #4 regarding Scapegoat.

Is that interpretation correct?
 
squid said:
So, because the Ojama tokens need legal available spaces for both activation and resolution, the restriction of spaces placed by Spatial Collapse would prevent Ojama Trio (the trap card) from resolving successfully. More similar to the situation put into place by the ruling #4 regarding Scapegoat.

Is that interpretation correct?
Yes. You must summon 3 Tokens as a group from activation to resolution.
 
Back
Top