Tokens as Costs

Digital Jedi

Administrator
Staff member
About a year ago, I started a thread about tokens and Ultimate Baseball Kid's secondary effect. General consensus was that you could not send a token to the Graveyard for the cost of that effect, even though you knew you would not be inflicting any damage. Maybe you just wanted to clear a Sheep Token out of the way.

This ruling under Elemental Hero Tempest would seem to confirm that:
ELEMENTAL HERO TEMPEST
You cannot use a Monster Token for the cost because they are not sent to the Graveyard.
But I ran across an older ruling today that I thought you'd want to know about under Altar for Tribute:
ALTAR FOR TRIBUTE
You can select a Token Monster as the cost for "Altar for Tribute", but you won't gain any Life Points because Tokens are taken off the field instead of going to the Graveyard.
In a tournament situation, and faced with these two rulings, what would you, as a judge, be forced to decide? Is it general practice to go by newer more current rulings, even when an old one clearly conflicts? Or would you default to the old ruling, in this case, until more information came to light?
 
When Altar for Tribute came out, we were still under the impression that Tokens were destroyed when they were removed from the field. Now, we know that they simply "cease to exist". As a result, I think the ruling that states Token's may be used as the Cost, but the effect does not apply, was mostly correct at the time.

I think this is one of those obscure rulings that slid under the radar as far as needing to be changed. The elemental hero tempest ruling would more than likely be the "correct" statement.
 
Could it possibly be the difference in effects that make the two rulings different and not another "forgotten ruling"? Elemental Hero Tempest could be a case where your not fulfilling the cost and Altar for Tribute could be a case where your simply refrencing the the sent monster?
 
Could it be that "send this card to the graveyard" doesn't mean the same as "send this card to the graveyard" :p

I.E. E-Hero means "send this card and deliver it to the graveyard"
and altar of tribute means "send this card towards the graveyard" (but if you miss, that's okay)
 
Back
Top