Yata-Garasu

Status
Not open for further replies.

prairiedoglenny

New Member
I have currently had a praoblem with some people's opinoins on Yata-Garasu's effect. A few people said that I have to battle another monster and do damage to my opponent's life points to keep them from drawing during their standby phase. I, personally think this is wrong. I think if you attack them directly with Yata-Garasu, the same effect works (, they still don't draw). (For instance, after I use Chaos Emperor Dragon's effect and I had not normal summoned any monsters this turn, and Witch of the Black Forrest (,or Sangan,) is already on the feild, I can bring Yata-Garasu into my hand, summon it, and keep them from drawing for the turn after I attack them- even though I am not destroying a monster.) Your opions?
 
Yes, what you described is one of the ways to perform a "Yata-Lock". "Yata-Garasu" (aka "The Pigeon") does not have to destroy a monster. All it needs to do is inflict battle damage (which given its low ATK, most of the time you are going to be attacking directly) in order to prevent your opponent from drawing a card.

- Andrew
 
It's already explained, but anyways...

They probably think Battle Damage means you gotta inflict the damage by destroying a monster in battle and inflicting damage.

Battle Damage inflicted to opponents life points = If the attack resulted in causing damage to your opponent's lifepoints.
 
And technically, that would also occur if the opponent attacked with a monster whose ATK was lower than the DEF of the monster so :
Say I had "Yata-Garasu" in face down defense position and "Fairy Box" on the field and my opponent attacks with "Gemini Elf". They miss the coin flip and "Gemini Elf" is reduced to 0 ATK. Yata would inflict 100 battle damage and would cause the turn player in this case to skip his/her next turn.

- Andrew
 
densetsu_x said:
And technically, that would also occur if the opponent attacked with a monster whose ATK was lower than the DEF of the monster so :
Say I had "Yata-Garasu" in face down defense position and "Fairy Box" on the field and my opponent attacks with "Gemini Elf".  They miss the coin flip and "Gemini Elf" is reduced to 0 ATK.  Yata would inflict 100 battle damage and would cause the turn player in this case to skip his/her next turn.

- Andrew

yup yup,that's inflicting battle damage too.. i forgot about defensive ways of inflicting battle damage, nasty if you got a robbin' goblin, yata-garasu and fairy box on the field...
 
they lied to you, and the judge should prolly not even consider them selfs to be a judge for calling it into their favor. or maybe he/she was sick and tired of seeing the damn bird way to many times.


I know im sick of it, but i wouldnt be so nasty as to kill it for the person playing.
 
krazykidpsx said:
they lied to you, and the judge should prolly not even consider them selfs to be a judge for calling it into their favor. or maybe he/she was sick and tired of seeing the {BEEEEEPP!!!} bird way to many times.


I know im sick of it, but i wouldnt be so nasty as to kill it for the person playing.

Every judge will make mistakes, we should all be tolerant of these mistakes since at one point or another we have probably made them. We wouldn't need judges if we didn't make mistakes.
 
yes i agree with anthonyj. its well possible the judge got them confused<but honestly has he been living under a rock for 3years if he never heard of the little terror named yata?>
 
wich is probelly exactly what the judge was thinking. either that or it was one of those "hey dad? we need a judge you mind finishing your coffee and tell that kid duelling my brother he is wrong?"
 
Since the ban list came out I've seen a great number of decks trying to use Fenrir to replace the Cowardly Chicken (Yata), particularly nasty with Ojama Trio. It is very possible that the judge in question has been in advanced format for a while and was mistaken in which card he was dealing with. (Remember some tournaments have been using the Japanese ban list here ever since Yata was first banned over there).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top