An old doubt... priority/ special summon

Dr Sin

New Member
First of all, I wanna say it's kind a dumb question. But it came to my attention recently, when I caught myself questioning about this...

I activate Premature Burial or Call of the Haunted targeting my Chaos Sorcerer on the grave in my turn (let's say it's MP1). My opponent doesn't "negate" the card (with Royal Decree, Magic Jammer, Dust or Typhoon, just to be more specific) but when CS enters the field he activates BTH. My question is if I still can call priority in this situation and use CS effect before he gets removed by BTH... It's weird beccause until this moment I was so sure I could not (maybe because I've seen judges call it wrong so many times... or right, I don't know anymore).
As I see it, above situation happens like that:

I (TP) activate Call/ Premature targeting CS, starting a chain (link 1).
My opponent doesn't respond.
Call/ Premature resolves, special summoning CS to the field. Since the response window to Pramature is now closed, priority is now with me, TP, right? So, I can activate CS effect as link 1 in this new chain, before my opponent can activate BTH, right?

Man, I am such a noob... But I would like to check it anyway.

Thanks in advance
 
Once again, just to make sure we're all on the same page...

When a chain ends in a monster being Summoned or Special Summoned, the Turn Player is the one that retains Priority to respond to that Summon 1st. It does NOT matter whose monster got Summoned. Correct?
 
daivahataka said:
Thought it was whoever summoned the monster gets priority. It's just that if the summoner is not the TP, they can't use priority for activating an ignition effect.
Isn't that exactly what I just said?...lol..:confused_

If the summoner is NOT the Turn Player, what would be the only reason they can't use Priority? Because the Turn Player retains it!...lol...:yes_jedi:
 
skey23 said:
Once again, just to make sure we're all on the same page...

When a chain ends in a monster being Summoned or Special Summoned, the Turn Player is the one that retains Priority to respond to that Summon 1st. It does NOT matter whose monster got Summoned. Correct?

That statement is correct.
 
Jason_C said:
That was indeed the scenario.

What sQuid and I were doing was pointing out the glaring flaws in the laws of priority. Something that, you'll notice, I do habitually.

Who's to say there are glaring flaws? Just because it's not the way you see it doesn't make it a flaw, it just makes it different than your perception.

I like peaches, you like strawberries...that doesn't make me liking peaches a flaw.

Rules, especially rules of the game of Yugioh (as I'm sure you must have realized by now) aren't always the most logical or orderly, they are, however, still the rules.

It's like my sons say, "That's not FAIR!"
and I reply, "Who said I was going to be fair?"
 
I like peaches, you like strawberries...that doesn't make me liking peaches a flaw.
True, but that's not what I said. But if we must use fruits:

Georgy-Porgey says "I like all fruits that are red or orange, but I dislike all fruits that have pits"

NOW we have a flaw, becuase peaches are reddish-orange, but they have pits. Georgy has just made two contradicting statements, although it takes a specific scenario to show the flaw.

When a monster is summoned during the opponent's turn, a monster with an ignition effect, summoned by Call of the Haunted, we have a problem. Theoretically, the opponent, as the TP, and as the opponent of the last effect to resolve, gets priority. However, in theory, the non-TP also gets priority, because he summoned a monster, and because should retain priority after a non-chainable event.

I don't make the rules. I only take the rules of UDE, and show how they conflict.
 
I believe I've already pointed out that was the exception to prioity, the summoning of a monster as the last link in the chain. That doesn't make it a flaw, it makes it an exception.
 
but is that really the theoretical answer, or just an assumption that has been forever made that because the player committed a non chainable event (summoning) that he immediately assumes the priority of activating an ignition effect?

Could it not simply be that when the turn player summoned a monster, this event causes the Turn player to gain priority? It just happens to be that the turn player and the player doing the summoning are usually one and the same.

But if we just take the event as being something that immediately turns priority over to whoever the turn player is, no matter what, then it simplifies matters.

At least....I dont see a contradiction.

btw, fruits? I like foodproducts on sticks, to be honest.
 
John Danker said:
I believe I've already pointed out that was the exception to prioity, the summoning of a monster as the last link in the chain. That doesn't make it a flaw, it makes it an exception.
If you are willing to accept the premise that there are exceptions to fundamental game mechanics, then the laws work. BUT...

http://www.cogonline.net/threads.11204&highlight=absolutes

...as a matter of personal opinion, I do not believe there should be any exceptions. EVER.
 
You can believe what you wish obviously...but there are SO MANY exceptions to the rules and mechanics of the game of Yugioh they're almost uncountable....and I doubt highly that you'll change them all....so you may as well accept them.
 
But we are speaking of a fundamental game mechanic that was never clearly defined. This is like taking exception to the concept that you can flip summon Guardian Sphinx in the same round that you already flipped him face-down with his effect, or that you could activate Gravity Bind after your opponent attacked you and you activated Sakuretsu Armor and had it negated with Seven Tools. At one point we understood that both of those moves would be illegal. Obviously we were given erroneous information by UDE about these game mechanics. Likewise we have been given some misinformation regarding Priority and there were already many opinions about how it should and would work, but we haven't been given final absolute answers on how everything does work. Thus the best we can do is operate under the current directions and rulings we have been given to this point. And currently that means that a summon by either player will give Priority to the Turn Player. That just may be how it was always meant to be. It may also be further confusion that UDE has failed to fully grasp Konami's explanation of Priority. Only time will tell. But I don't think there is a fundamental game mechanic that is being broken by this.
 
skey23 said:
Isn't that exactly what I just said?...lol..:confused_

If the summoner is NOT the Turn Player, what would be the only reason they can't use Priority? Because the Turn Player retains it!...lol...:yes_jedi:
They can't use priority to activate an ignition effect but I thought the general belief was that it could be used to activate a spell speed 2 or higher spell/trap after a summon? Has this idea been scrapped?
 
Back
Top