Another Because Konami Said So

Here's a heads up:

You can activate "Fuh-Rin-Ka-Zan" if "Elemental Mistress Doriado" is on
the field (no other monsters are required).

"Elemental Burst" requires 4 Tributes. "Elemental Mistress Doriado" can
be used as 1 of the 4, but you will still need to Tribute 3 other
monsters of the Appropriate Attributes

But the card texts are virtually the same, they both say 1 each of four attributes. And yet one works, but one doesn't.

So hopefully the card text of Fuh-Rin-Ka-Zan will be errata'd. But if not, i wonder how to explain this one?

Any judges out there care to take a shot at explaining the difference to your players?
 
Read the ruling. 1 just requires that the 4 elements be on the field. The other requires the 4 elements to be tributed. Dryad can count as 1 of the tributes, but you'd still need the other 3. That's the difference.
 
It's simple.

Fuh-Rin-Ka-Zan only require that you have 1 Earth monster, 1 Fire Monster, 1 Wind Monster, and 1 Water Monster on your side of the field. Since Doriado counts as all of those, and you only have to have them on the field, you can use it.

Elemental Burst requires that you TRIBUTE 1 monster of each of the previously listed element. You can Tribute Doriado for one of those elements. Let's say you tribute it as your Fire Monster. Since you no longer have it on the field, counting as all the four elements, you can't use it to count as all four.

I know that sounds confusing...hell, it was confusing trying to explain it...but it makes sense.

Damn, beaten to it! :p
 
Is there a fire monster on the field, is there a water monster on the field, is there an earth monster on the field, is there a water monster on the field. Yes.

But is there one each.
I.e.:
one fire monster + one earth monster + one water monster + one wind monster
on the field?
one + one + one + one = four

There's only one monster on the field so then the conditions of Fuh-Rin-Ka-Zan should not be satisfied.

But an errata would solve any issues:
Fuh-Rin-Ka-Zan
You can only activate this card when there are WIND, WATER, FIRE and EARTH monsters face-up on the field. Select and resolve 1 of the following effects:
~
 
Actually, she would be 1 Earth/Fire/Water/Wind/Light monster on the field. So the 4 needed attributes are all there in 1 card. Given what her effect is, that's how I would have played it before the ruling came out.
 
densetsu_x said:
Read the ruling. 1 just requires that the 4 elements be on the field. The other requires the 4 elements to be tributed. Dryad can count as 1 of the tributes, but you'd still need the other 3. That's the difference.

I could not have worded it better myself
 
Doriado? When did this monster become mexicano nobility? Don Doriado De La Vega? :D

In any case, the rulings would make sense if the tributes for elemntal burst didn't take place all at once, but took place in succesion. Otherwise I don't really see a difference in thier effects.
 
DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:
Is there a fire monster on the field, is there a water monster on the field, is there an earth monster on the field, is there a water monster on the field. Yes.

But is there one each.
I.e.:
one fire monster + one earth monster + one water monster + one wind monster
on the field?
one + one + one + one = four

There's only one monster on the field so then the conditions of Fuh-Rin-Ka-Zan should not be satisfied.

But an errata would solve any issues:
Fuh-Rin-Ka-Zan
You can only activate this card when there are WIND, WATER, FIRE and EARTH monsters face-up on the field. Select and resolve 1 of the following effects:
~
I'd agree with you that they need to remove the "each" from the card text as it implies separate monsters of the elements simultaneously existing on the field. They do that and the ruling would make sense.
 
Back
Top