Autonomous Action Unit?

[edit]Again, I can't read! I'm gonna stop posting.

I'm too worked up about taking my Level 3 test this weekend.

My brain is NOT functioning correctly!



Again, I apologize.
 
novastar said:
I know this is very late but...

It's a simple concept here, AAU is NOT what is keeping the monster on your side of the field, so it being negated is irrelevent.

As a general rule of thumb, when you (or an effect you control) perform a "summon" event, part of that mechanic places the monster(s) summoned under you control automatically.

The act of summoning gives the summoning (or setting) player "permanent" control of the monster.

Just some thoughts
Yes, thank you very much. Actually, when DaGuy said to swap in "Monster Reborn", everything made perfect sense!
 
novastar said:
I know this is very late but...

It's a simple concept here, AAU is NOT what is keeping the monster on your side of the field, so it being negated is irrelevent.

As a general rule of thumb, when you (or an effect you control) perform a "summon" event, part of that mechanic places the monster(s) summoned under you control automatically.

The act of summoning gives the summoning (or setting) player "permanent" control of the monster.

Just some thoughts

So is the Silent Swordmaster LV5 ruling just a BKSS? I can't see why he would be immune to the destruction effect of his "permanent" controllers spell when he is only granted immunity from the "opponent's" spells.
 
I still see Autonomous Action Unit as "temporary control". As long as the monster is equipped to AAU it's status on the field is tied to whatever happens to AAU. That isnt so when you use cards like Monster Reborn and Creature Swap. There is no residual effect. You have control of the monster until it is destroyed.

So, I know I posted this somewhere back a few months ago, something to the effect that since you summoned Silent Swordsman LV5 from your opponents Graveyard, and Autonomous Action Unit only gives you control of the monster for as long as it remains on the field, that is not permanent control, so if it were destroyed, it would be your opponents effect on your monster, and SSLV5 should be immune.
 
still see Autonomous Action Unit as "temporary control". As long as the monster is equipped to AAU it's status on the field is tied to whatever happens to AAU. That isnt so when you use cards like Monster Reborn and Creature Swap. There is no residual effect. You have control of the monster until it is destroyed.
That can't be true because if IO negates AAU, the monster remains under the summoners control...which indicates "permanent" control.

Unlike for example Snatch Steal, where the monster would returned to the opposing field.

So is the Silent Swordmaster LV5 ruling just a BKSS? I can't see why he would be immune to the destruction effect of his "permanent" controllers spell when he is only granted immunity from the "opponent's" spells.
Seems to be incorrect, the ruling also does not make any mention of a control switch, so SSLV5 should be destroyed.

The only Reasoning would be IF SSLV5's effect is actually refering to "ownership" not "control" but the text is written in a "control" fashion.

AAU is the exact same effect as PB, just a different Graveyard and one extra destruction condition, this has nothing to do with ownership.
 
novastar said:
That can't be true because if IO negates AAU and then it is removed, the monster remains under the summoners control...which indicates "permanent" control.

Unlike for example Snatch Steal, where the monster would return to the opposing field.

Seems to be incorrect, the ruling also does not make any mention of a control switch, so SSLV5 should be destroyed.

AAU is the exact same effect as PB, just a different Graveyard, this has nothing to do with ownership.
But see Imperial Order is negating the effect of Autonomous Action Unit, so anything that would happen to it is also preventing the destruction of the monster that was reborn. There is no issue of control changing because the monster is not destroyed, so since it was summoned and NOT destroyed, it remains on the field, and that would then be permanent control.

Until then, as long as there is a "active" link between monster and equip, the summoned monster is tied to the status of the Spell Card.
 
masterwoo0 said:
But see Imperial Order is negating the effect of Autonomous Action Unit, so anything that would happen to it is also preventing the destruction of the monster that was reborn. There is no issue of control changing because the monster is not destroyed, so since it was summoned and NOT destroyed, it remains on the field, and that would then be permanent control.

Until then, as long as there is a "active" link between monster and equip, the summoned monster is tied to the status of the Spell Card.
You might have a point here, because of the Dimensionhole ruling for AAU.

However this is a glaring inconsistancy, on one hand the IO logic indicates permanent control, and the Dimensionhole logic indicates temporary control.

But it is an exception to the norm, as by all accounts it should not work this way because it performs a Special Summon. Summoning from the OP's grave shouldn't matter, as you do the same thing with MR.

At the end, looking at it again, all arrows seem to be pointing to the fact that this is an Equip (or Continuous Effect/Card) as the reason why.
 
masterwoo0 said:
But see Imperial Order is negating the effect of Autonomous Action Unit, so anything that would happen to it is also preventing the destruction of the monster that was reborn. There is no issue of control changing because the monster is not destroyed, so since it was summoned and NOT destroyed, it remains on the field, and that would then be permanent control.

Until then, as long as there is a "active" link between monster and equip, the summoned monster is tied to the status of the Spell Card.

And as such, monsters are under "temporary" control as long as they are tied to equip cards that decide the "fate" of the monster (ie. Call of the Haunted, Snatch Steal, Premature Burial). It's only after an external effect that alters the state of the equip card that determines where "permanent" control of the card exists. Correct?
 
HorusMaster said:
And as such, monsters are under "temporary" control as long as they are tied to equip cards that decide the "fate" of the monster (ie. Call of the Haunted, Snatch Steal, Premature Burial). It's only after an external effect that alters the state of the equip card that determines where "permanent" control of the card exists. Correct?

Not to nit-pick, but Call of the Haunted is not, never was, nor ever will be an equip card. or card that is equipped. (clarification)
 
masterwoo0 said:
But see Imperial Order is negating the effect of Autonomous Action Unit, so anything that would happen to it is also preventing the destruction of the monster that was reborn. There is no issue of control changing because the monster is not destroyed, so since it was summoned and NOT destroyed, it remains on the field, and that would then be permanent control.

Until then, as long as there is a "active" link between monster and equip, the summoned monster is tied to the status of the Spell Card.

Where do we have a ruling about control of the monster and Autonomous Action Unit and Imperial Order? I can't seem to find where it has been addressed.
 
DarkLogicianOfCaos said:
Not to nit-pick, but Call of the Haunted is not, never was, nor ever will be an equip card. or card that is equipped. (clarification)

Nit, Nit, Nit! LOL...okay, I had a brain fart on that one but the point I was trying to make is that monster cards that are special summoned by equip spell cards are controlled "temporarily" until the equipping of the monster is altered by another card's effect.
 
HorusMaster said:
Nit, Nit, Nit! LOL...okay, I had a brain fart on that one but the point I was trying to make is that monster cards that are special summoned by equip spell cards are controlled "temporarily" until the equipping of the monster is altered by another card's effect.

Remeber the word "and" connects two separate points, but it doesn't indicate cause and effect.

Don't confuse Cause and effect:
http://www.nizkor.org/features/fallacies/confusing-cause-and-effect.html

If you use "Autonomous Action Unit" to Special Summon a monster from your opponent's Graveyard and then activate "Dimensionhole",

-"Autonomous Action Unit" is destroyed (and)
-when the monster returns to the field it returns to the original owner's control.

Those points are separate. There is nothing to suggest that one is the cause of the other.
 
Back
Top