Bottomless Trap Hole/Targetting question

Well for one thing Bottomless Trap hole can destroy multiple monsters if they're all summoned at the same time, e.g. by Cyber Jar's effect.

Text wise the only difference is that Bottomless can be used for special summons and also removes the monster(s) from play.
 
daivahataka said:
Well for one thing Bottomless Trap hole can target multiple monsters if they're all summoned at the same time, e.g. by Cyber Jar's effect.


Careful of the word target. It doesn't target multiple monsters.

"the monster is destroyed and removed from play"
Bottomless Trap Hole is written in passive tense. No effect written in passive tense will target, unless it's a second effect that effect the same card the first effect does.

(However the reverse is not true. Non-targetting effects are written in active tense as well.)
 
DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:
Careful of the word target. It doesn't target multiple monsters.

"the monster is destroyed and removed from play"
Bottomless Trap Hole is written in passive tense. No effect written in passive tense will target, unless it's a second effect that effect the same card the first effect does.

(However the reverse is not true. Non-targetting effects are written in active tense as well.)

Sorry but I don't understand how the wording on BTH and TH is any different.

Is it this?

"When your opponent Normal Summons, Flip Summons, or Special Summons a monster with an ATK of 1500 or more, the monster is destroyed and removed from play."

"When your opponent Normal Summons or Flip Summons a monster with an ATK of 1000 points or more, destroy the monster."

Is it because in Trap Hole your told to destroy the monster yourself, but in Bottomless the card does it?
 
Pretty much the only reason why "Bottomless Trap Hole" is not considered a targeting card is because it is possible for multiple monsters to be affected by it ("Cyber Jar," "The Flute of Summoning Dragon," etc.).
 
Kenjiblade said:
Pretty much the only reason why "Bottomless Trap Hole" is not considered a targeting card is because it is possible for multiple monsters to be affected by it ("Cyber Jar," "The Flute of Summoning Dragon," etc.).

Ah! Thanks, it finally makes sense.
 
Spike Kaiba said:
Alright cool, *thinks its time for BTH and Cyber J abuse xD* my fiance aint guna be too happy...she has enough trouble with those cards singley let alone teamed up
Just be careful with this abuse because BTH can not be activated during the damage step. So if Cyber Jar is attacked and the effect resolves, you can not play BTH.

Spot's Knight
 
just read this : "Bottomless Trap Hole" vs. "Cyber Jar" - "Bottomless Trap Hole" can be activated as a response to the monsters Special Summoned by "Cyber
Jar". All monsters on the opponent's field Special Summoned in face-up Attack Position with 1500 ATK or more will be destroyed and removed
from play.

why???
it is IMHO either bad wording on the card or bad ruling...
or maybe bad translation?
anyone knows what the japanese version does?
 
The Japanese version does the same as is posted in the ruling quoted. If multiple monsters are Special Summoned at the same time and at least one monster has an ATK of 1500 or higher, Bottomless Trap Hole may be activated and will remove all monsters Special Summoned by that effect that have an ATK of 1500 or higher.
 
Back
Top