cannon vs ring

removefromp

New Member
Both Players have no cards in their hands.
Player A has 500 LP and Player B has 3000 LP.
Player B has a face-up cannon solider from the previous turn.
It's Player A's turn.

Player A draws a ring of destruction, set it on the field, then ends his turn.
Player B draws a Black Luster Solider-Envoy of the Beginning and successfully summons it to the feild.
Player A then activates his face down ring of destruction targeting BLS.

My question is can Player B use his prioirty and tribute BLS with cannon solider's effect and wins the duel, or he can't and therefore the duel results in a draw?

Thanks in advance. ^^
 
No, a player may only use priority when a monster is summoned. Cannon Soldier effect is spell speed 1 and Cannon Soldier was already face-up on the field, so a player cannot apply priority with Cannon Soldier in this situation.
 
But it doesn't have to be used with the actual monster summoned:

http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/messages?id=2416#2416

ANSWER:
Yes, Player A can certainly activate the effect of "Cannon Soldier" and Tribute the
newly Summoned "Archfiend Soldier", before the opponent activates "Bottomless
Trap Hole".

Many 'knowledgeable' people on web sites will tell you otherwise. They're wrong.
Best to wait for the priority article to go up before making dangerous
assumptions.

If anyone has a specific question, such as this, we'll be happy to answer it in
the meantime.

Kevin Tewart
Game Developer
UDE Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG R&D Lead
Upper Deck Entertainment
================================================================================
================================================================================
QUESTION:

In all of the priority talk, it is normally "I summon Exiled Force (for example,
can I tribute it per its effect before Trap Hole can destroy it?"

What I am wondering, is can priority be used for a card that was not the last card
played, as this example shows:

-Player A is in his/her Main Phase 1, and controls a Cannon Soldier

-Player B has a Bottomless Trap Hole set, and is at 900LP.

-Player A Normal Summons Archfiend Soldier, and wishes to activate Cannon Soldier's
effect with priority to tribute Archfiend Soldier so that he may then tribute
Cannon Soldier (in a seperate chain) for the victory.

Can Player A do this, or will Player B be able to activate Bottomless Trap Hole to
remove Archfiend Soldier from play?
 
This game's mechanics change way to much lol I'm getting old. I thought an effect of monster that a Player may use priority to use the effect of a monster is only when it's summoned, and use only the effect of the monster newly summoned.

I don't get it though, how can Player apply priority and use Cannon Soldier's effect even though it is already face-up on the field?

I'll admit, that rule is sort of crazy, it's like Player A has 2000 Life Points, a face-up Cannon Soldier, and some face-down monster, Tribute summons the face-down for Mobius, selects the targets and wishes to use priority to have Cannon Soldier offer Mobius to inflict 500, when Player B had a face-down Ring of Destruction and couldv'e won that duel, but Mobius is already gone.

Oh well... No one is always right lol

I don't know.... I still don't get it. lol help me out someone.
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
I'll admit, that rule is sort of crazy, it's like Player A has 2000 Life Points, a face-up Cannon Soldier, and some face-down monster, Tribute summons the face-down for Mobius, selects the targets and wishes to use priority to have Cannon Soldier offer Mobius to inflict 500, when Player B had a face-down Ring of Destruction and couldv'e won that duel, but Mobius is already gone.
Well in this particular case the player could use Ring as part of a chain to Mobius' effect rather than responding to the summon with it, this would circumvent the priority issue above since spell speed one effects can never be chained to anything.
 
The moment Mobius the Frost Monarch is successfully Normal Summoned, you designate the targets of the effect before Priority, I mean ya have to since it's effect is Continuous. Though I think the Continuous Effect "state" only last until his Normal Summon is resolved.

So there's no way for Player B to win with his face-down Ring of Destruction, Player A will just use his Priority and launch Mobius no matter what.
 
It's not continuous, it's just like Breaker's counter placement effect in that it immediately happens once the monster is summoned and so nothing can occur before it on the summoning response chain.

The cards targeted by Mobius' effect can be chained to it as long as they're spell speed 2 or higher and their activation would be correct.
 
daivahataka said:
The cards targeted by Mobius' effect can be chained to it as long as they're spell speed 2 or higher and their activation would be correct.

2000 LP Player A has face-down monster, a face-up Cannon Soldier
2500 LP Player B has a face-down spell/trap Ring of Destruction set

Player A: Tribute Sumones Mobius the Frost Monarch and designates the targets of the effect
Player A wishes to use Priority after asking Player B if he can actually "negate" the summon of Mobius the Frost Monarch
Player B responds No
Player A then uses Priority, uses Cannon Soldiers effect and offers Mobius (remember, Cannon Soldier effect is a Cost Effect, so you offer right when you activate the effect)

Player B wanted to use Ring of Destruction to destroy Mobius the Frost Monarch, but it's already been offered and is no longer on the field. Maybe a victory was at hand....
 
daivahataka said:
It's not continuous, it's just like Breaker's token placement effect in that it immediately happens once the monster is summoned and so nothing can occur before it on the summoning response chain.


It's a counter that is placed on Breaker, not a token lol :)
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
2000 LP Player A has face-down monster, a face-up Cannon Soldier
2500 LP Player B has a face-down spell/trap Ring of Destruction set

Player A: Tribute Sumones Mobius the Frost Monarch and designates the targets of the effect
Player A wishes to use Priority after asking Player B if he can actually "negate" the summon of Mobius the Frost Monarch
Player B responds No
Player A then uses Priority, uses Cannon Soldiers effect and offers Mobius (remember, Cannon Soldier effect is a Cost Effect, so you offer right when you activate the effect)

Player B wanted to use Ring of Destruction to destroy Mobius the Frost Monarch, but it's already been offered and is no longer on the field. Maybe a victory was at hand....
Ok, I've obviously poorly explained myself thus far, look up the rulings on Breaker, you'll find that the placement of the counter uses up the prority of the person who summons him and starts the chain for his summoning. Same applies with Mobius, so all you'd have to do is chain RoD to Mobius' effect.
 
Like Breaker and Mobius, there effects has to resolve then there effect applies. Summon Breaker, and it begins a chain to have a counter placed on Breaker. When that resolves, Breaker gets a counter. I know that.

When Mobius is Normal Summoned, you designate the targets you wish to destroy. When it resolves, it destroys the two cards it desginates, of course you can respond to that with Ring of Destruction (i dont mean when Mobius effect resolves). Agen, I know that.

What I been trying to point out is that there no way for Player B to defeat Player A for the win.
 
If you chain RoD to Mobius' effect your opponent and you would both take the 2400 damage when RoD resolves your opponent would now be at 0LP , while you still have 100LP, and no further resolutions would occur.
Mobius' effect is like two simultaneous MSTs, it doesn't prevent you from chaining the selected cards and using them before the effect resolves.
 
lol I know that.

Player A: summons Mobius, designates targets
Player B: responds with Ring of Destruction

I know that's all perfectly legal.

I'm just saying in the situation I described, there's no way for Player B to win.

----------------------

2000 LP Player A has face-down monster, a face-up Cannon Soldier
2500 LP Player B has a face-down spell/trap Ring of Destruction set

Player A: Tribute Sumones Mobius the Frost Monarch and designates the targets of the effect
Player A wishes to use Priority after asking Player B if he can actually "negate" the summon of Mobius the Frost Monarch
Player B responds No
Player A then uses Priority, uses Cannon Soldiers effect and offers Mobius (remember, Cannon Soldier effect is a Cost Effect, so you offer right when you activate the effect)

Cannon Soldier would have already offered Mobius before Ring of Destruction could destroy it, due to priority.
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
lol I know that.

Player A: summons Mobius, designates targets
Player B: responds with Ring of Destruction

I know that's all perfectly legal.

I'm just saying in the situation I described, there's no way for Player B to win.

----------------------

2000 LP Player A has face-down monster, a face-up Cannon Soldier
2500 LP Player B has a face-down spell/trap Ring of Destruction set

Player A: Tribute Sumones Mobius the Frost Monarch and designates the targets of the effect
Player A wishes to use Priority after asking Player B if he can actually "negate" the summon of Mobius the Frost Monarch
Player B responds No
Player A then uses Priority, uses Cannon Soldiers effect and offers Mobius (remember, Cannon Soldier effect is a Cost Effect, so you offer right when you activate the effect)

Cannon Soldier would have already offered Mobius before Ring of Destruction could destroy it, due to priority.
The effect of Mobius uses up that player's priority and so they cannot activate Cannon Soldier's effect until the resulting chain resolves so as I said all you need to do is chain RoD to Mobius' effect and you'll win.
 
daivahataka said:
The effect of Mobius uses up that player's priority

OoOh that's what you were trying to point out. Ok, now i get it. You should use that example of incorrect use of priority and paste for everyone to see since Mobius effect uses up a player priority, along with other examples. No one ever told me that effects like Mobius takes up a player's priority.

For a minute there, I must admit, I thought I was correct. LoL *slaps self silly

Hey thanks alot :)
 
The way I think of it is, any effect that triggers upon a monster being summoned uses up the turn player's priority. Breaker, any of the Monarchs, DMoC (retrieving a spell card from the grave), all of these begin a chain automatically upon summoning, thus you cannot "use priority" to gain the effect of a monster already on the field because a chain already exists and must resolve before you can activate another spell speed 1 effect.

The situation with Cannon Soldier/Catapult Turtle, only applies to situations where the turn player summons a normal monster or a monster with an Ignition effect they do not choose to use at that time.
 
jdos said:
The situation with Cannon Soldier/Catapult Turtle, only applies to situations where the turn player summons a normal monster or a monster with an Ignition effect they do not choose to use at that time.
Or continuous effect, e.g. Jinzo.
 
jdos said:
The way I think of it is, any effect that triggers upon a monster being summoned uses up the turn player's priority. Breaker, any of the Monarchs, DMoC (retrieving a spell card from the grave), all of these begin a chain automatically upon summoning, thus you cannot "use priority" to gain the effect of a monster already on the field because a chain already exists and must resolve before you can activate another spell speed 1 effect.

The situation with Cannon Soldier/Catapult Turtle, only applies to situations where the turn player summons a normal monster or a monster with an Ignition effect they do not choose to use at that time.


Well put...bingo.

It seems that many thought the situation with a Cannon Soldier / Catapult Turtle from a previous turn being able to launch a newly summoned monster on the current turn with the use of priority was a rules change. It wasn't. It's been that way for as long as I can remember. Has anyone seen a post on the judge's boards that said you could not? <curious> I was lucky to have it explained to me by Kevin at last year's nationals. I just don't think it was common knowledge is all.
 
Back
Top