correct me if I'm wrong but... (ultimate offering question)

exiledforcefreak

RIP Jacob KT 2/16/06
Ultimate offering works as follows:
(correct me if I am wrong)
-Ultimate offering does not create a condition where by I can make additional summons at the cost of 500 life points but instead
-I must add a ultimate offering to the chain, or start a chain as the case may be, and during the resolution of said chain the summoning of a monster takes place.
-this is not considered a special summon despite it happening during the resolution of a chain link.
-This being the case, monsters like monarchs and dark magician miss the timing for their effects because they are optional-trigger.
-I "use" ultimate offering (by adding it to the chain), my opponent chains trap dustshoot, i chose to make no further chains. My opponent choses the monster I was GOING to summon and I still have another monster in hand I am able to summon. I must summon that monster.

Was everything I said here pretty much on par with how ultimate offering works?
 
It's an ignition effect, spell speed 1. So it can only begin a chain; it can never be added to an existing one.

Other than that you've pretty much got everything down.
:edit And I think on that last one, since it isn't targetting at activation, there's no need to even make mention of what you were GOING to summon. Theoretically, you don't even decide until resolution.
:edit D'Oh!
 
I agree with everything except for one thing:


If Ultimate Offering were chain link 1, then the DMoC/Stratos/Mobius (the only optional Monarch) would not miss their timing. The last thing to happen when the chain resolved was the summon of the DMoC/Stratos/Mobius. As for the other monarchs, they are not optional and would not miss timing anyways. Actually, I'm not too sure on Granmarg. Thestalos and Zaborg are manditory though.
 
exiledforcefreak said:
-This being the case, monsters like monarchs and dark magician miss the timing for their effects because they are optional-trigger.
For this one, not necessarily. Optional Triggers only miss their timing if the "event trigger" was not the last thing to happen. If Ultimate Offering is the last resolving link in that chain, then the last thing to happen is going to be their Normal/Tribute Summon.

This would be just like when you draw a card for the last link in three resolving Heart of the Underdog effects. If the last card drawn for the effect is a Normal Monster, you trigger all three copies again.


-I "use" ultimate offering (by adding it to the chain), my opponent chains trap dustshoot, i chose to make no further chains. My opponent choses the monster I was GOING to summon and I still have another monster in hand I am able to summon. I must summon that monster.
Good question. It entirely depends of if Ultimate Offering is setting up an opportunity to summon, or if it's Normal Summon sitting on actual chain link. I'll defer for that one/
 
With Ultimate Offering you don't even "choose" the monster you are going to summon until the effect resolves. I put quotes around choose because obviously you had plans to summon something specific. If you can still summon, I would say you have to resolve it. If you don't have any monsters that can be normal summoned at that time, that's a whole other story.
 
Digital Jedi said:
For this one, not necessarily. Optional Triggers only miss their timing if the "event trigger" was not the last thing to happen. If Ultimate Offering is the last resolving link in that chain, then the last thing to happen is going to be their Normal/Tribute Summon.

This would be just like when you draw a card for the last link in three resolving Heart of the Underdog effects. If the last card drawn for the effect is a Normal Monster, you trigger all three copies again.

Yes yes, of course... My mistake for not being more clear :redface
 
Good question. It entirely depends of if Ultimate Offering is setting up an opportunity to summon, or if it's Normal Summon sitting on actual chain link. I'll defer for that one/
I'm not entirely sure I understand the difference this makes.

I thought it was simply a matter of the target is not picked until resolution, so what was in your hand before is irrelevant.

Good catch on the optional trigger timing!
 
roadhouse007 said:
With Ultimate Offering you don't even "choose" the monster you are going to summon until the effect resolves. I put quotes around choose because obviously you had plans to summon something specific. If you can still summon, I would say you have to resolve it. If you don't have any monsters that can be normal summoned at that time, that's a whole other story.
Well, the question that arises in my mind is what is resolving in an Ultimate Offering chain link? A Normal Summon? Or an opportunity for a Normal Summon?
 
Card Text:

Ultimate Offering
Trap Card (continuous)
By paying 500 Life Points, Normal Summon or Set 1 extra Monster. You can only activate this effect during your main phase or your opponent's battle phase.

I would possibly agree with you if it said you can, but it doesn't leave the room for that option. If you don't have a monster that can be normal summoned or set at that time, then obviously, you couldn't. But you have to resolve as much of the effect as you can.
 
This is Konami we're talking about. There will always be room for refinement. But I understand your point. If the situation came up though, I would rule a summon had to be made if possible. Until we get more clarification, that is.
 
A Normal Summon is what's resolving, hence why you don't miss the timing for Optional Triggered Effect monsters. If you have a monster in hand when the effect resolves, then you must summon/set it.

And just to throw this in there...paying the 500 LPs is a cost to activate the effect. If you no longer have any monsters in hand when the effect resolves, then you are still out 500 LPs and you don't summon anything (of course).
 
Digital Jedi said:
Bear in mind, this is relatively new text. Aside from the fact that it's old text was egregiously wrong, not all the nuances may have been worked out.

*Asks smarter child to define egregiously*

OH, THATS WHAT IT MEANS. Yeah, the old wording was very much egregious.
 
Back
Top