Couple of Q's

Ultiheart

New Member
Urgentish (well...preferably today, but hey, who I am to demand)

Narrow path vs Ultimate Offering: A friend and I are trying to figure out (well, I reckon I know the answer) which of these cards takes precedence.

E.g. Narrow Path is used (only 2 more normal summons/sets for each player can be performed as long as it is face up on the field) BUT Ultimate Offering states that an EXTRA normal summon or set can be performed for 500 LP.

Would it be that:
1. Ultimate Offering does not work as, regardless of the 'extra' word being used, it is still considered for a normal summon/set (my opinion)
or 2. Ultimate Offering's 'extra' word in fact overrides the issue of the Narrow Path blocking the normal summons/sets (contested idea).

And other Q: My friend also wanted to know if effects where removing spell tokens (e.g. Skilled White or Dark Magician, Magical Marionette etc) can be used in the opponent's turn. (I don't believe so, as most cards will state if they can be used in the opponent's turn...however, the fact that Ultimate Offering can be used pretty much any time, including during the opponent's turn, confused her)

Thanks - Ulti
 
1. If Narrow Pass is active on the field, you can only summon the limited number by Narrow Pass of monsters with UO.

2. No, you can only activate those effects in your own turn, unless otherwise stated.

(BTW, UO can only be used during your own Main Phases and your opponent's Battle Phase)
 
Ta for that, my suspicions remain unchanged (hooray, I was right about something for once)

However...again this is relating to the video game, I seemed to be able to activate UO just about anytime ANYTHING happened (short of drawing a card in the draw phase) but then again...the video game does have other discrepicies...and the rulings on the netrep site do make it pretty clear.

Thanks again.
 
Well you can activate Ultimate Offering initially just about anytime (except the damage step). But once it's activated, you can only use the effect of UO during your Main Phase 1/2 and opponents Battle Phase.

Also remember you can't simply activate Ultimate Offering and say "I'm going to pay 500 to summon/set something now." The card's initial activation must be successfully resolved first (meaning you opponent will have the chance to chain to it and destroy it before you can use it). After that then you can use it's effect to summon a monster during the appropriate phases.

- Andrew
 
Ultiheart said:
...again this is relating to the video game

Be careful about pulling rulings from the video games; they don't always completely follow the "official" rules.

However, when something does come up (like it did), then don't hesitate to bring it up here (like you did). Better to find out something now than when you're in the middle of a duel...
 
why can ultimate offering be activated in your opponent's battle phase, and yet at no other time where you would not *normally* be able to summon a monster? why not in your battle phase - or their main phases?

:?

by the way ulti, thanks for making this post for me :D
 
Mostly balance issues, I think. During your own Battle Phase, you would be able to mount a rather easy attack and continuously pound on your opponent. (I have Gemini Elf on the field. I attack. I Tribute it for Summoned Skull. I attack. I Tribute it for Summoned Skull. I attack. I Tribute it for Summoned Skull. I attack. I win.)
Similarly with your opponent's Main Phases, it would start screwing up targeting cards and making them weaker.
 
Back
Top