Curse of Anubis?

skey23

Council of Heroes
I've been reading other posts about things with this card and one thing has been said that confuses me. I would like to get this cleared up in my mind.

Player A has 2 two effect monsters in face up attack position.
Player B has 1 face down defense position monster and one set 'Curse of Anubis' from a previous turn.
Player A declares an attack.
Player B activates 'Curse of Anubis'.

What happens?

I know both of Player A's monsters will be switched to defense, and their defense reduced to 0.
But what happens to the face down monster? Does it get flipped up?
What happens to the initial attack? Does it stop at the point where the monster is changed to defense position?

It has been stated in other posts that a 'replay' would occur. How can this be possible when the number of monsters on Player B's side of the field did not change?

I don't have the 5.0 rulebook in front of me at this time, so I can't quote the 'latest and greatest' text on what causes a replay, but as far as I know, the attacking monster changing battle position was not a valid reason for a replay to occur.

Thanks.
 
Which is EXACTLY what I thought would happen! Then why is nobody correcting the statements on the other posts regarding 'Curse of Anubis'?

Thanks.
 
skey23 said:
Which is EXACTLY what I thought would happen! Then why is nobody correcting the statements on the other posts regarding 'Curse of Anubis'?

Thanks.
It's because the other Thread talks about activating "Curse of Anubis" in Damage Step rather than in Battle Step which is done on this Thread.
 
Raigekick said:
It's because the other Thread talks about activating "Curse of Anubis" in Damage Step rather than in Battle Step which is done on this Thread.
Ok then, how/why would a replay occur if 'Curse of Anubis' was activated during the damage step?

Again, the number of monsters on Player B's side of the field did not change. The only thing that occurred was the attacking monster being switched to defense position.

Why wouldn't it be the same as before, except this time the face down monster WOULD be flipped face up, but no damage calculation would occur since the attack was stopped before it reached that point?

Let's say, for the sake of argument, the attacking monsters are both 'Chiron the Mage'. Both have 1800 ATK. And the face down defense position monster is the puny 'Magical Scientist'.

When Player A attacks, Player B let's the attack go through to the point where 'Magical Scientist' gets flipped face up (Sub-step 2), then decides to activate 'Curse of Anubis' during Sub-step 3 (appropriately, pending outcome of the other 'Curse of Anubis' debate currently going on.).

What happens? Does a replay occur? If so, why?
Does the attack stop at that point, since the attacking monster is no longer in attack position and no longer able to 'complete' the attack?
What about damage calculation?
What happens to 'Magical Scientist'?

Thanks.
 
First of all, NO Replay will occur when you reach Damage Step. Secondly, it is still being debated on the other thread if "Curse of Anubis" can be activated in the Damage Step (thought the thread went off topic now). So, we still don't know what will happend to attacking "Magical Scientist".
 
Raigekick said:
First of all, NO Replay will occur when you reach Damage Step. Secondly, it is still being debated on the other thread if "Curse of Anubis" can be activated in the Damage Step (thought the thread went off topic now). So, we still don't know what will happend to attacking "Magical Scientist".
Good, that is what I thought, but that's not what YOU were implying with your reply, and not what is being said in the other post.

And I started this post BECAUSE the other one went off topic. I'm trying to help keep SOMETHING on topic.

I don't want this issue to just 'fizzle' out and 'dissapear'.
I want to know the answers to this issue, if possible.
 
skey23 said:
Good, that is what I thought, but that's not what YOU were implying with your reply, and not what is being said in the other post.
Which post of mine are you talking about that I imply that you can have a replay during Damage Step, so I can correct it?

I will also try to get the other thread back to topic, if it fails, I think it's better to start a new one since this topic is about activating CoA during Battle Step.
 
I asked why is nobody correcting what is being said in the other post.

You said:
Raigekick said:
It's because the other Thread talks about activating "Curse of Anubis" in Damage Step rather than in Battle Step which is done on this Thread.
The implication being that 'Curse of Anubis' was being activated during the damage step, therefore a replay would occur, since that was stated several times in the other post.
 
skey23 said:
I asked why is nobody correcting what is being said in the other post.

You said:

The implication being that 'Curse of Anubis' was being activated during the damage step, therefore a replay would occur, since that was stated several times in the other post.
Oh...OK. This is how I see it.

CoA can be activated during Battle Step. But, this will no cause a replay because the number of monsters on the opponent's side of the field did not change. However, the attack will stop. Even if you change the position of that monster into attack position again, it still can't attack because it had declared an attack already.

CoA is still being debated if it can be used in Damage Step. If it can be used, it will still not cause a replay. But we don't know what will happened to the attack.

I hope this clears things up. :)
 
Yep!

Everything but what is still being debated on, of course...lol.

Have you looked at the 'Insect Princess'/'Zero Gravity' post?
The answers given there also do not match with what you (and I) have said here, and I am confused as to why.

Maybe you could post an/some answers there as well.

Thanks.
 
skey23 said:
Have you looked at the 'Insect Princess'/'Zero Gravity' post?
The answers given there also do not match with what you (and I) have said here, and I am confused as to why.

Maybe you could post an/some answers there as well.

Thanks.
I did. And I thought it was answered already by densetsu_x.
 
I saw that AFTER I posted here...duh!

I think I understand the reasoning behind densetsu_x's answer, so I posted what I understand just to make sure.

Thanks!
 
I have a question about Curse of Anubis. I got pulled into a silly argument with another player online about the first effect of Curse of Anubis which I have highlighted in bold

Curse of Anubis
Normal Trap
All face-up Effect Monsters on the field are changed to Defense Position. During the turn this card is activated, the original DEF of those Effect Monsters become 0 and their battle positions cannot be changed, except with a card effect.
Now to me and a few others, that reads as soon as the card activates, effect monsters are changed to defence position and if you have used up your option of being able to change the monsters positions in main phase 1 and/or 2 (depending on when the card has been activated), then they would remain like that till the end of the turn. Then, on the players next turn, you can change them back to attack mode and use as normal. The player I was facing was convinced that I was not allowed to change the monsters to attack mode, for the remainder of the duel other than when new monsters are being summoned or the others are tributed or sent from the field and brought back. This player was convinced that the full stop meant, you cannot change their position full stop and if there wasn't one then it didn't mean that. I checked with people in the chat and 5 of them had confirmed that the effect is temporary and that you can change the monsters positions with effects or manual movements during your main phase 1 and/or 2. I checked the RONIN rulings and there is nothing to say that this effect is permanent, if it was surely someone would have said so. This player got mad, labelled me a Noob and promptly left the duel in a huff after a long argument. Earlier in the duel, the dueller played a card called Clone Duplication which I can not find in the current TCG, and I have not heard of anyone else using it. The only card I found similar to that was Physical Double.

I am happy to admit I am wrong if someone can prove this, but there is no evidence and neither duelist was willing to comprimise, the duelist was adamant I was incorrect and if a few more people had said that the effect of Curse of Anubis was correct from the arguing duelost I would have aGreed, but I was not convinced, any thoughts on this one? Because of this players attitude and neither of us being able to comprimise, it left the duel in a terrible place and both players lost respect for each other. It should not have gone that way, but proves even for me if we cannot discuss matters civilly, then we have problems.
 
I know that "Curse of Anubis" alters the DEF of effect monsters, but I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say that it can't be activated during the Damage Step. After all, it isn't a Counter Trap. If it could be activated during the Damage Step, then that would open up a whole big debate on what would happen to the attack and such stuff. No one wants any of THAT!

Of course, I don't have that link handy that explains all the timing issues of the Battle/Damage Step, so I'm not really sure...
 
It really doesn't matter if it isn't a Counter Trap, it still alters ATK/DEF, it can still be a legal activator for Damage Step.
 
Not a lot you can do when a player CHOOSES to be ignorant on a subject. Even so the best you can do is be sure of a subject yourself counter any insinuations of being a "noob" with the fact that you looked it up. What can he say then?
Jack Of All Decks said:
Now to me and a few others, that reads as soon as the card activates, effect monsters are changed to defence position and if you have used up your option of being able to change the monsters positions in main phase 1 and/or 2 (depending on when the card has been activated), then they would remain like that till the end of the turn. Then, on the players next turn, you can change them back to attack mode and use as normal.
Your right on all point here. Just a better way to phrase it would be that as so as the card RESOLVES, monsters are changed to Defense Position.

The player I was facing was convinced that I was not allowed to change the monsters to attack mode, for the remainder of the duel other than when new monsters are being summoned or the others are tributed or sent from the field and brought back. This player was convinced that the full stop meant, you cannot change their position full stop and if there wasn't one then it didn't mean that. I checked with people in the chat and 5 of them had confirmed that the effect is temporary and that you can change the monsters positions with effects or manual movements during your main phase 1 and/or 2. I checked the RONIN rulings and there is nothing to say that this effect is permanent, if it was surely someone would have said so. This player got mad, labelled me a Noob and promptly left the duel in a huff after a long argument.
This is an example of a player not understandingthe default actions of effects. It actually doesn't matter that the card does not say how long it lasts. It doesn't matter that there are no rulings that say how long it last. What matters is that there would need to be relevant text or a relevant ruling that stated they couldn't be chnged. Other wise Zero Gravity would be one of the most overplayed cards in the game.

What you can do the next time this comes up, is ask the player if he has any proof. Is it a ruling that he can point to, is there a Judges List message is there an errata? If he can't, and you can, then he can't very well call you a "noob", can he?

Earlier in the duel, the dueller played a card called Clone Duplication which I can not find in the current TCG, and I have not heard of anyone else using it. The only card I found similar to that was Physical Double.
There is no card in the Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG named Clone Duplication. There is a Machine Duplication, but it's not similar to Ultimate Offering. You may to kindly suggest a Deck Check on this guy if you duel him in again. If you duel at a store maybe you can get a judge or shop owner or someone knowlegable to give his deck a look-see just to be certain he isn't up to shenanigans.
 
Kyhotae said:
I know that "Curse of Anubis" alters the DEF of effect monsters, but I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say that it can't be activated during the Damage Step. After all, it isn't a Counter Trap. If it could be activated during the Damage Step, then that would open up a whole big debate on what would happen to the attack and such stuff. No one wants any of THAT!

Of course, I don't have that link handy that explains all the timing issues of the Battle/Damage Step, so I'm not really sure...
Boiled down to its most basic fundamentals, there are four things that make a card allowable in the Damage Step. Counter Traps is the on you already mentioned. The other three would be cards that specifically modify ATK/DEF, cards that have relevant text that only provide for activating in the Damage Step, and the infamous "Konami Said So"(s), which are cards that do not fit any of the above categories, but have a ruling that says "yes, you can activate this in the Damage Step".
 
Back
Top