dark ruler ha des

jostam

New Member
if dark ruler ha des destroys a treeborn frog,is treeborn frog comming back in the next standby fase?
 
Flip Effects and effects that activate in the Graveyard WILL be negated. This includes "Sinister Serpent", "Sangan", "Witch of the Black Forest", "Marie the Fallen One", "Mystic Tomato", "Giant Rat", "Masked Dragon", "Magician of Faith", "Man-Eater Bug", "Nimble Momonga", "Twin-Headed Behemoth", etc.


So in short, yes Ha-Des WILL negate Treeborn Frog
 
It would come back if Skill Drain were also active (negating Dark Ruler Ha Des's effect but doing nothing to Treeborn Frog), but you didn't mention it.

So yes, slither is correct. Treeborn Frog isn't coming back. Ever (as long as it stays in the Graveyard).
 
So yes, slither is correct. Treeborn Frog isn't coming back. Ever (as long as it stays in the Graveyard).[/QUOTE]

I'm sorry but I think you are wrong on this one.
Per the rulings on Treeborn Frog:

If the effect of "Treeborn Frog" is negated, you can activate its effect again during the same Standby Phase and Special Summon it.

As long as Dark Ruler is face up on the field, the effect is negated. If Dark Ruler is destroyed or removed from the field, as long as there are no Spell or Trap cards on the field, Treeborn Frog can be special summoned to the field. While Dark Ruler Ha Des negates the effect for the next Standby Phase, it can't negate the effect to special summon it during the Standby Phase after it is off the field.
 
HorusMaster said:
I'm sorry but you are wrong on this one. The second Standby Phase after the turn that Treeborn Frog is destroyed, as long as there are no Spell or Trap cards on the field, Treeborn Frog can be special summoned to the field. While Dark Ruler Ha Des negates the effect for the next Standby Phase, it can't negate the effect the Standby Phase after that.
Once Dark Ruler Ha Des destroys a monster in battle, its effect is negated unless reset. If you special summon Treeborn Frog with Call of the Haunted or Premature Burial and then it returns to the Graveyard, TF would get its effect. However, Treeborn Frog, like Sinister Serpent does not get to apply its effect even on subsequent Standby Phases.

doc
 
That ruling is meant for things like Divine Wrath, that only negates it once. Dark Ruler Ha Des negates it ALWAYS while it is in the Graveyard.
 
Think of it as a lingering effect that always negates the monster every time he tries to activate or become active. The ruling for Treeborn is specifically saying that if the effect is negated once, then you can activate it again. But Ha Des just keeps on negating each time it tries to activate.
 
Digital Jedi said:
Think of it as a ing effect that always negates the monster every time he tries to activate or become active. The ruling for Treeborn is specifically saying that if the effect is negated once, then you can activate it again. But Ha Des just keeps on negating each time it tries to activate.

But that is conditional upon Dark Ruler still being on the field, correct? If Dark Ruler Ha Des is removed or destroyed, doesn't Treeborn Frog's effect activate the following Standby Phase?
 
HorusMaster said:
But that is conditional upon Dark Ruler still being on the field, correct? If Dark Ruler Ha Des is removed or destroyed, doesn't Treeborn Frog's effect activate the following Standby Phase?

now i'm not 100% sure but about 90%-95% sure that its a no cuz it doesn't say on dark ruler while this card is face up on the field or something like that
 
HorusMaster said:
But that is conditional upon Dark Ruler still being on the field, correct? If Dark Ruler Ha Des is removed or destroyed, doesn't Treeborn Frog's effect activate the following Standby Phase?

Nope, once Ha Des negates the effect, it negates it completely. Regardless of where he ends up afterwards.
 
ricencracker said:
now i'm not 100% sure but about 90%-95% sure that its a no cuz it doesn't say on dark ruler while this card is face up on the field or something like that

Yes it does..."As long as this card remains face-up on the field, the effects of Effect Monsters destroyed as a result of battle by Fiend-Type monsters on your side of the field are negated
 
HorusMaster said:
Yes it does..."As long as this card remains face-up on the field, the effects of Effect Monsters destroyed as a result of battle by Fiend-Type monsters on your side of the field are negated

That applies only for this section:

As long as this card remains face-up on the field, the effects of Effect Monsters destroyed as a result of battle by Fiend-Type monsters on your side of the field are negated
 
HorusMaster said:
Yes it does..."As long as this card remains face-up on the field, the effects of Effect Monsters destroyed as a result of battle by Fiend-Type monsters on your side of the field are negated
He has to be on the field in order for Fiend Types to place the negation condition on them when they are destroyed by them. The negation condition remains upon them, regardless of where Ha Des goes afterward. This is covered in the FAQ:

If "Sinister Serpent", "Twin-Headed Behemoth", or "Marie the Fallen One" is destroyed by a Fiend-Type monster when this card is on the field, they will not activate on any following turn. So during your opponent's next Standby Phase, and each of his/her following Standby Phases, they may NOT move "Sinister Serpent" to their hand, Special Summon "Twin-Headed Behemoth", and they will NOT gain Life Points by the effect of "Marie the Fallen One". This negation continues even if "Dark Ruler Ha Des" is later removed from the field.
 
Back
Top