Dimension Wall vs. Dust Tornado

Machinefreak

New Member
I know this is ridiculous. I duel against one of my friends from time to time, but he doesn't get some of the rulings of some of the cards. He assumes that if you destroy a card AFTER you activate it, it doesn't get it's effect. I'm sorry, isn't that called NEGATING? We was dueling not long ago, so let me set the scenario for you:

My opponent attacks my Batteryman AA with his Mobius. I play Dimension Wall so the battle damage is redirected to him. Then, he plays Dust Tornado and targets Dimension Wall. He then says Dimension Wall doesn't get it's effect because of Dust Tornado. Even after I ALREADY ACTIVATED IT!

Please clarify this. (Man, this is ridiculous.)
 
It depends on the type of Spell/Trap that Dust Tornado is trying to destroy. If it's a Continuous S/T like Call of the Haunted, Gravity Bind, Level Limit - Area B, etc., then no you won't get the effects of those since the condition for those kinds of cards are that they must be on the field during resolution for those effects to resolve (Equip and Field Spells would be in this category too). However, for most Normal Spell and Normal Traps (including Quickplay Spell cards and Ritual Spell Cards), once the card is activated, it will resolve regardless if it stays on the field.

So in your example, no Dust Tornado will simply destroy Dimension Wall but it will in no way shape or form negate the effect. He'll still take the battle damage.
 
I'd like to chain a question here about Dust Tornado... pretty simple and probably obvious:

Dust Tornado : If my S/T area is full when I activate Dust Tornado, then I can't use it's 2nd effect of setting a spell or trap, since it doesn't leave the field until it is resolved, correct? The timing of "resolves" and "resolved" is confusing me.
 
Um, It's full because he has four other cards set. :D LOL

Your correct. While Dust Tornado is resolving, you wouldn't be able to set a Quick-Play Spell from your hand because all your zones would be be full, including the zone Dust Tornado is resolving in.

However, if something were to destroy Dust Tornado mid-chain, then you would now have an empty space to set your Quick-Play. This is, of course, presuming Dust Tornado hasn't resolved off the chain yet.
 
Digital Jedi said:
Um, It's full because he has four other cards set. :D LOL
Haha, well of course. But I mean, after he activates it and it resolves, clearly there will be a space to set a S/T from his hand - the space previously occupied by Dust Tornado.
 
heh, that's really the basis of my question... if it's sent to the graveyard after it has resolved then there's no space... if it's sent to the graveyard as it resolves then there is space. So, is it sent to the graveyard as it RESOLVES or once it has RESOLVED?
 
It is not sent to the Graveyard until it has resolved. It's the last thing performed. You would not be able to place a Spell/Trap on the field with it's 2nd effect in this case.
 
Back
Top