Dimension Wall

John Danker

Administrator
The question came up on another board of weather Dimension Wall could be activated in response to an attack on a f/d monster. One post said that, "No, it cannot since you cannot activate a card/effect if it will not do anything."

There is a ruling with Dimension Wall that states....

If your opponent already activated "Waboku" this turn, then they cannot take battle damage, so you cannot activate "Dimension Wall". However, you can chain "Dimension Wall" to "Waboku" if the timing is appropriate

Now I understand this ruling since it's already been established that no battle damage will be taken this turn. My question arrises though from the point of, until the damage step is reached we never know for certain if battle damage will be taken. We only know that at the declaration of attack there is potential for battle damage to be take (in the case of knowing the attacking and monsters atk and if the defenders monster is in atk position or if there is an attacking monster with piercing battle damage effect)

This thought pattern of not being able to activate Dimension Wall in response to an attack on a f/d monster seems fishy to me....am I off base here?

*EDIT* Just got back from SJC St. Louis and I'm bleery eyed and can't reason right now.
 
Fury said:
This is the old text of Waboku (SDJ-046):And the current ruling:We see that they match.

Now the new text:

Lets examine the ruling posted above - first about the monsters:
So the opponent's monsters dont inflict damage. But you say that's not the only thing that happens. Since your monsters wont destroy themselves either does this mean they dont inflict damage either? That would mean they cant destroy opposing monsters or deal damage to the opponent either, which is clearly not the case. So why are they not destroying themselves? Maybe because the new text states that they simply wont be destroyed in battle. But hey! Doesnt that mean that they wouldnt be destroyed by opposing monsters either? Yes it does. So then why we have a ruling that has nothing to do with how the card works? My monsters not taking battle damage is not the same as my opponent's monsters not inflicting damage, is it?

Exactly the same way: me not taking battle damage is not the same as opposing monsters not inflicting battle damage.

So the conclusion is: the card works now differently with the new text, it doesnt work as the ruling describes. So either the old ruling needs to be removed, or the text needs to be changed.

---
EDIT: Oh, and if someone is wondering, this is still on-topic. The first post was also about Dimension Wall vs. Waboku.
I'll be honest, I have no idea what your trying to say.
You take no Battle Damage this turn. Your monsters cannot be destroyed as a result of battle this turn.

"Waboku" makes Battle Damage dealt by your opponent's monsters to your monsters and to your Life Points become zero.​
This ruling and this errata mesh perfectly and in no way contradict each other. I can't imagine how there could be any contradiction. I just can't seem to make sense of the point your trying to make.
 
I would reason, that even if the attacking monster has trample that you still would be unable to activate dimension wall if the defending monster is FACE DOWN because you do not know whether or not the attacking monster is going to deal damage when you activate dimension wall.
 
Are there any Traps or Quick Plays that can give the attacking monster Piercing or Trample? If not, then I'd say the ONLY way you'd be able to activate "Dimension Wall" in your given scenario would be if the monster attacking had Piercing or Trample.

strike slash....makes assura priest a bear....

and why isnt the first sentance of dimension wall the requirement to activate?

"You can only activate this card when your opponent declares an attack with a monster."

since it is not a sp sp 3 and does nothing to change atk/def it would have to be activated in response to an atk or be useless...unless granted special priveleges...

hmmmm
where is the parse yu gi oh cards in text button when i edit??
 
Here's what I don't understand about this whole situation. Dimension Wall's text clearly states that it can only be activated when your opponent declares an attack-PERIOD! The player controlling Dimension Wall activates it in response to the attack-PERIOD! If the opponent's monster has piercing or trample effect, then the damage that would normally be received by the player is passed onto the opponent declaring the attack-PERIOD! If there is no battle damage, then Dimension Wall resolves without inflicting damage to the opponent-PERIOD! What's not to understand about this card?
 
Here's what I don't understand about this whole situation. Dimension Wall's text clearly states that it can only be activated when your opponent declares an attack-PERIOD! The player controlling Dimension Wall activates it in response to the attack-PERIOD! If the opponent's monster has piercing or trample effect, then the damage that would normally be received by the player is passed onto the opponent declaring the attack-PERIOD! If there is no battle damage, then Dimension Wall resolves without inflicting damage to the opponent-PERIOD! What's not to understand about this card?

Couldn´t agree more...i think that the question was in what cases was this card able to redirect the damage,forgetting about the condition of activation....but dont mind me,im just passing by...jejeje
 
Back
Top