discard as a cost

there is a card that says neather player can discard as a cost (monster card) i think it is goblin of greed but n e way if he is on the field can you still actvate cards like lighting vortex , reigiki break, tribut to the doom ext
 
No, they can still discard a spell from their hand in order to get the effect of the first spell that you drained. This discard is not a cost as I mentioned above, and is uneffected by Goblin of Greed.
 
Just remember that Goblin of Greed only prevents cards with an activation cost from being played. If the discard is part of the card's effect, the Goblin won't stop it. For example, Divine Wrath couldn't be activated while the Goblin is on the field, but Graceful Charity could because the discard is part of the effect. Usually if a card has a cost it will be the first thing written on it.
 
I don't think that is right. If you look at the card registry for Goblin of Greed :

Rulings
If your opponent activates an effect and discards as a cost, and you chain "Call of the Haunted" to Special Summon "Goblin of Greed", he doesn't stop the effect because the cost was already paid.



You can see that the cost had already been paid and the Goblin will not stop the resolution of Tribute To the Doomed.
 
They never 'fizzle' in .VS.. (in fact, there is a big emphasis on 'fizzle is not a game term' ;)) They are either negated by game rules or they resolve but do nothing.
 
well

wait if you discard then you still get to use the effect because you already discarded and goblin of greed only prevents you from discarding as a cost but you already discarded so there for he cant stop the effect unless he is on the field before your someone discards

if someone has already discarded before he came to the field say like the chain of call of the haunted(2) to tribute to the doomed(1) then the effect will still take place because you discarded before it was on the field and he only stops discarding so there for since you have already payed the cost you get to use the effect and kill something


and since when you actvate cards that require a discard it is done imeatly so special summiong goblin of greed to a tribute to the doomed ext would be usless because like i said he only stops discarding as a cost if you have already done it before he came to the field then you get to use the effect


ok in simple terms if a guy is in a field and no one can leave wile he is in the field because he stopes them every time they try right (like the goblin of greed to the discarding as a cost)
but if you already left he cant stop you from leaving in the first place unless he has magic power that allowes him to hunt you down and drag you back to the field in this case he dont

in short if you already discarded before he came to the field you get to use the effect because that is all he stops
 
Back
Top