E-scaped Goat

DanAria

New Member
I was in a duel with..well not a friend but a "dueling friend"

I played the quickplay spell Scape Goat and made 3 tokens taking 1 goat off from his attack.

He says he gets to decide or not if he wants to attack the goat or not.

Now here is the problem, he thinks that playing scape goat causes a replay.

I have read somewhere that playing scapegoat while putting more tokens on the field does not cause a replay.

Of course the info I know could be outdated so thats why I have to ask this question.

So does he get the choice of attacking the goat or does he automatically have to kill one?

Thank you for your time in reading this post whoever has happened to come across it and reply.

-DanAria
 
I can think of one reason. Scapegoats cant be tributed for another monster, so unless he uses them for other effects like "Share the Pain", then the controller of Scapegoats has almost locked his field up and can only play one monster, which would mean that he could only tribute on his next turn. Of course there are exceptions, like using the LV monsters, but basically, there is only 1 playable monster zone.
 
any time when the number of monster on DEFENDING side of the field is changes it causes a replay and the batlle phase rewind to its begining

of course monsters that already atcked will not atck once more PROVIDED that occurred damage calculation

woltarr
 
woltarr said:
any time when the number of monster on DEFENDING side of the field is changes it causes a replay and the batlle phase rewind to its begining

That is not True.

A replay is only triggered by the Effects of a Trap or Quick-Play Spell Card. 

"Scapegoat" being a Quick-Play Spell card DOES trigger a replay.

"Mystic Swordsman LV 4" Attacking a face-down monster does NOT trigger a replay.  Neither does Strike Ninja removing itself from play.


And the Battle Phase does not rewind to the beginning.. only to before the monster declared an attack.
 
A replay is only triggered by the Effects of a Trap or Quick-Play Spell Card. 
Untrue, example Gravekeeper's Assailant vs. Berzerk Gorilla or Spirit Reaper.

Any time when the number of monsters on the DEFENDING side of the field is changed during the Battle Phase before enterring the Damage Step the battle phase rewinds and you begin again with choosing to declare an attack and target.
 
Any time when the number of monsters on the DEFENDING side of the field is changed during the Battle Phase before enterring the Damage Step the battle phase rewinds and you begin again with choosing to declare an attack and target.


So let me get this straight?  After a Cyber Jar or Morphing Jar#2 and your opponent has 5 face-down monsters on his/her side of the field... Your Mystic Swordsman LV4  Attacks one monster.. destroys it by effect thus a replay is triggered.. so attacks another.. replay triggered... attacks another... replay triggered... attacks another... replay triggered... attacks another... replay triggered... Attacks directly?   
I dont think so.


http://www.upperdeckentertainment.com/yugioh/train4.asp
Returning gameplay to a previous step and playing that step over again is known as a "Replay". For Example, if the number of your opponent's monsters on the field change due to the effect of Trap or Quick-Play Spell Cards during your Battle Step, a Replay is triggered. When this occurs, play returns to the beginning of the Battle Step with the attacker choosing a new attacking monster and target. Replays can ONLY be triggered by the effects of TRAP or QUICK-PLAY SPELL Cards.


I saw the Gravekeeper's Assailant answer in the FAQ, i will send an email inquiring about it.
 
DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:
Any time when the number of monsters on the DEFENDING side of the field is changed during the Battle Phase before enterring the Damage Step the battle phase rewinds and you begin again with choosing to declare an attack and target.


So let me get this straight? After a Cyber Jar or Morphing Jar#2 and your opponent has 5 face-down monsters on his/her side of the field... Your Mystic Swordsman LV4 Attacks one monster.. destroys it by effect thus a replay is triggered.. so attacks another.. replay triggered... attacks another... replay triggered... attacks another... replay triggered... attacks another... replay triggered... Attacks directly?
I dont think so.

Reread what he said. A replay occurs if the number of targets on the opponent's side of the field changes BEFORE entering the Damage Step. The effect of "Mystic Swordsman LV4" does not occur until the start of the Damage Step (in the first part of things that occur). Go read what was posted in the "Sakuretsu Armor" thread and where "Mystic Swordsman LV4"'s effect activates, or go to the mailing list and read Kevin's FAQ on Damage Step resolution.

DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:
http://www.upperdeckentertainment.com/yugioh/train4.asp
Returning gameplay to a previous step and playing that step over again is known as a "Replay". For Example, if the number of your opponent's monsters on the field change due to the effect of Trap or Quick-Play Spell Cards during your Battle Step, a Replay is triggered. When this occurs, play returns to the beginning of the Battle Step with the attacker choosing a new attacking monster and target. Replays can ONLY be triggered by the effects of TRAP or QUICK-PLAY SPELL Cards.

That is just a copy/paste of what was in the instruction book, which is already outdated. The ruling with "Gravekeeper's Assailant" vs. "Berzerk Gorilla" / "Spirit Reaper" shows what other effects can cause a replay as well.

Likewise, if say you tried to attack a face down "Guardian Kay'est" and it got flipped up because of "Desert Sunlight", a replay occurs since "Guardian Kay'est" (when face up) cannot be targeted by an attack. This is due to the monster's own effect and not the trap card that flipped her.

Remember, there is an updated version of the rule book coming with the release of the new structure decks with new rulings (See: "Field Spells") and let's not forget the whole "Priority" issue.

- Andrew
 
Mystic Swordsman's effect triggers in the damage step before flipping the face down monster up.  Therefore the damage step has been reached and no replay occurs.  Same timing for Ninja Grandmaster and his destroying a face-up defense position monster with his effect instead of by battle.  These do not cause a replay because they don't happen until the damage step.  Replays can be triggered by the effects of monsters.  Strike Ninja removing himself when declared as a target for attack will cause a replay.  A-Team: Trap Disposal Unit tributing itself to cancel an opponent's trap card activated in the battle phase before the damage step will cause a replay.

Let's hope the new rulebook is about 3 or 4 times as thick and attempts to address some of the details we spend so much of our time teaching now.  Still I'm betting it won't address Priority unless we are incredibly lucky.
 
they might cover priority as a "new" game play feature.

just like they did for the vs. system instruction booklets, they hell of cover what everything is in that book.

why not for Yugioh.

in the end its all Konami's decision, just like Multi chains, and the so forths.
 
Back
Top