Field and Activation Mechanics

slither

Alex (1981 - 2008)<br />Slithery When Wet
Ok, here's the thing... im not really convinced on the whole BKSS case in this situation.

From my understandings when you decide to activate a card you must first place the card on the field <if there are no spaces available you just cannot activate a card>

Now why do Field Spell Cards contradict every other mechanic in the game, it was fine the way it was in previous ruling booklets, which stated that a player could not activate another Field Spell card and destroy his/her own.

Now im in the upper train of thought on this, but this particular field mechanic does not make any sense at all... so now here's my question:

If this is possible then does this mean that activation of a card really occurs in the hand, <I know for a fact that it doesn't> or Field Spell Cards have other properties for activation? <which I doubt>
 
because that's how the Field Spell Zone works, it's a basic mechanic, there's no real explanation for that other than "Konami said so", it's just like asking "why can't I normal summon twice per turn?".
 
There will be a day when BKSS will turn hectic on them, because of things like this that just condradict everything in the game.
 
Now why do Field Spell Cards contradict every other mechanic in the game, it was fine the way it was in previous ruling booklets, which stated that a player could not activate another Field Spell card and destroy his/her own.
Who is saying this? the list?
 
novastar said:
I mean where is the contradiction coming from?

As far as i understand, you cannot destroy your own Field Spell by activating another...only the opponent can.

it's been like that for a while now... were you living under a rock? :p
 
Now I forget. Did we ever find out if what the mechanics were behind setting Field Spell Cards? I remember that your set card wouldn't destroy their active card, but was that it?
 
Field Spell cards must be set in the Field Spell zone (yeah, I bet your opponent will fall for THAT bluff 8^D) so by the mechanics, you'd have to destroy the field spell in place to set your own.
 
Hmm, that's an interesting call. The way I've always seen it, the Field Spell zone has been a "mutually exclusive" zone where only one card can exist, set or active. So if your opponent had a field spell and you set yours, it would still destroy the other one. But I guess we would have to see on that one.
 
Mechanics of a Field Spell

If your opponent has an active Field Spell, you may activate or set your own. If yours is activated, theirs is destroyed. If yours is set, theirs is not, until such time as it is activated.

If your opponent controls a set Field Spell, you may activate or set your own. Nothing will be destroyed.

If you control an active or set Field Spell, you may activate or set your own. However, the previous spell will immediately be destroyed.

I see NO contradiction anywhere in the above. Could you please explain further why you . . . well . . . what this is about?
 
I'll have to wait until I get home to 'verify', but I believe I asked this on the Judge's List. The answer I got back was that setting your Field Spell Card when your opponent has an active one will NOT destroy theirs. There can only be 1 'active' Field Spell Card at a time. Theirs will not be destroyed until you activate yours.
 
Jason_C said:
Mechanics of a Field Spell

If your opponent has an active Field Spell, you may activate or set your own. If yours is activated, theirs is destroyed. If yours is set, theirs is not, until such time as it is activated.

If your opponent controls a set Field Spell, you may activate or set your own. Nothing will be destroyed.

If you control an active or set Field Spell, you may activate or set your own. However, the previous spell will immediately be destroyed.

I see NO contradiction anywhere in the above. Could you please explain further why you . . . well . . . what this is about?

Not contradiction per say, I was just emphasizing why mechanics upon activation of a card had to be different for Field Cards "specifically".
 
slither said:
Not contradiction per say, I was just emphasizing why mechanics upon activation of a card had to be different for Field Cards "specifically".
Either that, or perhaps mechanics of the Field Spell Zone. Yeah, that second one. So, it's like, for an extremely breif period of time, two cards can exist in the same zone.
 
Well, for a few years or so I was under the mistaken belief that each opponent shared a Field Spell Zone. However, what I failed to realize was that each player has his own Field Spell Zone and that when one is activated, then any other active ones will be destroyed by Game Mechanics. This is what allows you to have a set one and your opponent have an active one.

It was you Skey, I believe, who eventually asked this question on the Judges List and that was the answer we got. I believe my intial question at that time was about setting Field Spells in the regular Spell/Trap Zones. Which turned out to be illegal as well. My question in this thread was directied at what else we had learned at tht time.

Like for example, I don't believe you can activate a Field Spell if you already have one set in your zone. But you can activate one if there is one active in your zone. At least I'm pretty sure.
 
Back
Top