Field and Activation Mechanics

slither

Alex (1981 - 2008)<br />Slithery When Wet
Ok, here's the thing... im not really convinced on the whole BKSS case in this situation.

From my understandings when you decide to activate a card you must first place the card on the field <if there are no spaces available you just cannot activate a card>

Now why do Field Spell Cards contradict every other mechanic in the game, it was fine the way it was in previous ruling booklets, which stated that a player could not activate another Field Spell card and destroy his/her own.

Now im in the upper train of thought on this, but this particular field mechanic does not make any sense at all... so now here's my question:

If this is possible then does this mean that activation of a card really occurs in the hand, <I know for a fact that it doesn't> or Field Spell Cards have other properties for activation? <which I doubt>
 
The new Rule Book said If you control a Field Spell Card, you can activate or Set a new Field Spell, and destroy your own old one. But I don't think you can destroy a set Field Spell through that mechanic.
 
Digital Jedi said:
Well, for a few years or so I was under the mistaken belief that each opponent shared a Field Spell Zone. However, what I failed to realize was that each player has his own Field Spell Zone and that when one is activated, then any other active ones will be destroyed by Game Mechanics.
The only thing both players shared, which may have contributed to the confusion, was the properties of the activated Field Spell Card.

If it was Mystic Plasma Zone, both players would receive the bonus (and decrease) for every Dark Monsters they had on their respective field.

That was it. The Field Spell Card affected both players, but was only owned and controlled by one.

If A Legendary Ocean is active, both players can summon a Level 5 Monster from hand without tribute.
 
Well, that's not specifically what led me to belive that. It was the mechanics of a Field Spell Card that led me to belive that was a shared zone. I figured that was why there could never be more then one in that zone at one time. Some Continuous Effects affect both players, so that in of itself wasn't misleading for me. It was that destruction mechanic specifically that had me mislead.

Now I'm not finding anything suggesting you can activate a Field Spell if you already have a set one. I would think if your opponent's set Fields Spell doesn't detroy your active one, and you both have youir own Field Spell Zones, then it must not be possible for you to destroy your own set one. Therefore not making it possible to activate or set another one at all in that instance.
 
Digital Jedi said:
I would think if your opponent's set Fields Spell doesn't detroy your active one, and you both have youir own Field Spell Zones, then it must not be possible for you to destroy your own set one. Therefore not making it possible to activate or set another one at all in that instance.
I think you're over thinking this one.

Player A has a set Field Spell Card (Luminous Spark) and wishes to activate his Mountain Field Spell Card.

How does Player A activate his Mountain Field Spell Card if he cant destroy his face-down Field Spell Card?

Simple. He flips the Luminous Spark's "face-up", effectively activating it, then attempts to activate his Mountain Field Spell Card which destroys the present Field Spell Card.
 
Back
Top