flipp effects

BURN

New Member
If a flipp effect monster is flipped face up with skill drain on the field it doesn't get it's effect. If you use book of moon on a flipp effect monster would the flipp effect monster get it's effect?
 
BURN said:
Thank you. But I don't understand how some effects work with BoM and some don't. And that nowhere does it say that Brain Jacker has to be face up to get it's effect after it was flipped face down.

TER: Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field and equip it to this card (Is the card equiped considered a monster or an equiped card). The ATK and DEF of this card become the same amounts as the monster equipped to this card.

Brain Jacker: Equip this card to a monster on your opponent's side of the field and treat it as an Equip Card

Can Brain Jacker take control of a face down monster? I doesn't say it can't.

If you take control of a Stealth Bird can you flipp the bird face down then back up since you have control of the bird?

Can Brain jacker take control of a face down monster? Good question. You can take control of a face down monster with Change of Heart, and then flip him up onto the board. But there are mechanics that prevent a face down monster from being equipped. So I would say not.

If you take control of a Stealth Bird, can you flip the bird face down...? Yes, you should be able to flip him face down. At which point, Brain jacker goes to the graveyard. But Stealth Bird stays on your side of the field, and when you flip Stealth Bird face up, he's still yours.
 
This might help. Look at Dragon Manipulator. When flipped, you take control of one opponent's dragons for the rest of the turn (sort of like Brain Jacker limited)

It doesn't say equip him to the opponent's dragon.

So in this case, Dragon Manipulator may be destroyed when flipped during battle, or may get flipped face down by BoM after being flipped face up, but you still get his effect because it doesn't depend on the Dragon Manipulator card to carry out the effect once initiated. He doesn't have to be present to do the controlling.
 
BURN said:
Thank you. But I don't understand how some effects work with BoM and some don't. And that nowhere does it say that Brain Jacker has to be face up to get it's effect after it was flipped face down.

TER: Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field and equip it to this card (Is the card equiped considered a monster or an equiped card). The ATK and DEF of this card become the same amounts as the monster equipped to this card.

Brain Jacker: Equip this card to a monster on your opponent's side of the field and treat it as an Equip Card

Can Brain Jacker take control of a face down monster? I doesn't say it can't.

If you take control of a Stealth Bird can you flipp the bird face down then back up since you have control of the bird?
Please keep in mind that I'm saying your missing the point, not to be rude, but to clarify something I believe your overlooking. You state that nowhere does it say that Brain Jacker has to be face-up to get it's effect, but it does. You see when an equip want's to equip itself, the rules say it has to be face-up. As I said before TER and Relinquished are bad bad examples because the monster never equips itself. TER and Relinquished are the ones doing the "equipping" and as a result these two monsters overide the game rules. Barin Jacker in no way overides the rules of equip cards and can never become one face-down.

The best advise I can give you right now is to forget about TER and Relinquished, put there effects far out of your mind for the purposes of understanding Brain Jacker as their effects do not apply to him. They are monsters that "Grab" a monster and "transform" it into something it isn't. Brain Jacker is a monster that "transforms" itself into a Equip Spell Card that is subject to all the rules of an Equip SPell CArd as long as it is face-up on the field.

Also Brain Jacker could never take control of a face-down monster because general mechanics do not alow it. It isn't like TER (yeah I know I told you to forget him) That monster specifically overides that paticular mechanic largley Because Konami Said So. It was probably clearer in the Japanese text as to how it worked but poorly translated, not clarifying that it and Relinquished are the only monsters so far that can actually hold on to an Equip while it is face-down.
 
Back
Top