Forced Requisition activation timing and effect timing

CerezScypher

New Member
I'm trying to understand Forced Requisition, so I've got some examples of when I think it can be initially activated:

1.  -I activate Graceful Charity
     -My opponent does not chain
     -I do not chain
     -Graceful Charity resolves with me drawing 3 cards, then discarding 2 cards
     -The whole chain is resolved, so I use my turn priority to respond to the discard of my cards by activating my face-down Forced Requisition

2.  -I activate Card Destruction
     -My opponent does not chain
     -I do not chain
     -Card Destruction resolves with me and my opponent discarding our hands and drawing the same number of cards
     -I use my turn priority to respond to the discard of my cards, activating Forced Requisition

3.  -My opponent activates Confiscation, paying 1000 LP as a cost
     -I do not chain
     -My opponent does not chain
     -Confiscation resolves with my opponent selecting a card which is discarded from my hand
     -My opponent uses turn priority to activate Waboku in response to my discard
     -I chain Forced Requisition

an example where I cannot activate it:

4.  -My opponent does battle damage with White Magical Hat on his turn, during the damage step
     -White Magical Hat's effect goes on link 1 of a chain
     -(from reading the damage step chart I don't believe either player can activate cards to chain right now)
     -White Magical Hat's effect resolves and 1 card is discarded randomly from my hand
     -(once again the damage step chart leads me to believe that no one can activate cards in response right now, and even if cards could be activated now, Forced Requisition can't be activated in the damage step)

My next question is about when Forced Requisition's effect activates after it is already face up on the field.  The way I see it:

1.  -I activate Tribute to the Doomed, discarding 1 card as a cost, targeting 1 monster on the field; Forced Requisition's effect is triggered
     -My opponent does not chain
     -I do not chain
     -Tribute to the Doomed resolves, destroying the targeted monster
     -The entire chain has resolved, so I have priority to respond to the destruction and sending to the graveyard of a monster.  Forced Requisition's triggered effect is mandatory, so I place it first on the response chain.
     -My opponent does not have any triggered effects
     -I choose not to add to the chain
     -My opponent chains Michizure, targeting 1 of my monsters
     -I do not chain
     -My opponent does not chain
     -Michizure resolves, destroying my monster
     -Forced Requisition's effect resolves, my opponent discards a card

2.  -I activate Card Destruction
     -My opponent does not chain
     -I do not chain
     -Card Destruction resolves, my opponent and I discard our hands and draw the same number of cards we discarded; Forced Requisition's effect is triggered
     -Using my turn priority, Forced Requisition's effect goes on the first link of the response chain
     -My opponent has no triggered effects
     -I do not chain
     -My opponent does not chain
     -Forced Requisition's effect resolves, my opponent discards the number of cards I discarded for Card Destruction

These are just my best guesses, and they rest on many, many assumptions.  Some notable assumptions:

  -Forced Requisition is activated in response to card discard, rather than chained to an effect that will discard.
  -It is in response to a card that includes discarding, not limited to cards that only discard
  -If a card is activated in response to an event, you may chain to the first card with other cards that have the event as an activation requirement
  -Forced Requisition's effect is triggered by discards as activation costs
  -Forced Requisition's effect is triggered by discards as resolutions of card effects
  -Effects triggered during a chain will be placed first on a new chain that starts immediately after the current chain resolves
    -This new chain will be a "response chain" for last resolved effect on the old chain; in other words, at any point in this new chain, the activation conditions for a card are considered met if the activation conditions for that card are included in the last resolved effect on the old chain
    -The first effects added to the new chain are the turn player's triggered effects in an order of his/her choosing; then the opponent's triggered effects in an order of their choosing
    -After the triggered effects are chained, the turn player may add to the chain or not; after the turn player continues the chain or passes, the opponent may add to the chain or not; this continues until both players pass
  -Forced Requisition's effect is triggered by effects that include discarding, not limited to those that only discard

There's a whole lot written here, so there's probably some mistakes, so any corrections to this would be appreciated.
 
"Forced Requisition's effect is triggered by effects that include discarding, not limited to those that only discard"

Does this apply to cards that also say "send one card to the grave" vs. discard one card? Because it is after all the same thing.
 
Forced Requisition
Continuous Trap

You can activate this card when you discard from your hand. After that, each time you discard from your hand, your opponent must also discard the same number of cards from his/her hand.

So simply put... if an effect is activated that causes you to discard (outside of the damage step), or if you simply have too many cards in your hand at the End Phase of your turn, you can activate "Forced Requisition" right afterwards.

Note though, the effect must specifically say "discard". As mentioned in the "Armed Dragon and Night Assailant" thread, "sending" a card to the graveyard is NOT the same as "discarding".

After "Forced Requisition" has been activated, whenever something arises where you must "discard", your opponent simply has to "discard" the same number of cards as well.

Just make sure you have the updated errata list from UDE and check the card. If the effect says "discard", then that is something that can be used to either activate "Forced Resolution" or trigger the effect after activation.

- Andrew
 
CerezScypher said:
I'm trying to understand Forced Requisition, so I've got some examples of when I think it can be initially activated:

1.  -I activate Graceful Charity
     -My opponent does not chain
     -I do not chain
     -Graceful Charity resolves with me drawing 3 cards, then discarding 2 cards
     -The whole chain is resolved, so I use my turn priority to respond to the discard of my cards by activating my face-down Forced Requisition

This part is correct.

2.  -I activate Card Destruction
     -My opponent does not chain
     -I do not chain
     -Card Destruction resolves with me and my opponent discarding our hands and drawing the same number of cards
     -I use my turn priority to respond to the discard of my cards, activating Forced Requisition

This is not correct. The last thing to happen was a draw, not a discard. Forced Requisition may not be activated at this point.

3.  -My opponent activates Confiscation, paying 1000 LP as a cost
     -I do not chain
     -My opponent does not chain
     -Confiscation resolves with my opponent selecting a card which is discarded from my hand
     -My opponent uses turn priority to activate Waboku in response to my discard
     -I chain Forced Requisition

To my knowledge, this is correct, although FR rulings on this point can get kind of sticky.

an example where I cannot activate it:

4.  -My opponent does battle damage with White Magical Hat on his turn, during the damage step
     -White Magical Hat's effect goes on link 1 of a chain
     -(from reading the damage step chart I don't believe either player can activate cards to chain right now)
     -White Magical Hat's effect resolves and 1 card is discarded randomly from my hand
     -(once again the damage step chart leads me to believe that no one can activate cards in response right now, and even if cards could be activated now, Forced Requisition can't be activated in the damage step)

This is correct. You may not activate FR in the Damage Step.


1.  -I activate Tribute to the Doomed, discarding 1 card as a cost, targeting 1 monster on the field; Forced Requisition's effect is triggered
     -My opponent does not chain
     -I do not chain
     -Tribute to the Doomed resolves, destroying the targeted monster
     -The entire chain has resolved, so I have priority to respond to the destruction and sending to the graveyard of a monster.  Forced Requisition's triggered effect is mandatory, so I place it first on the response chain.
     -My opponent does not have any triggered effects
     -I choose not to add to the chain
     -My opponent chains Michizure, targeting 1 of my monsters
     -I do not chain
     -My opponent does not chain
     -Michizure resolves, destroying my monster
     -Forced Requisition's effect resolves, my opponent discards a card

This is not correct. After Forced Requisition has been activated, when you discard, your opponent discards. This happens in between links of a chain. The time when your opponent would discard would be after you put the effect of Tribute for the Doomed on the chain (before your opponent may chain). The effect of Forced Requisition never goes on the chain.

2.  -I activate Card Destruction
     -My opponent does not chain
     -I do not chain
     -Card Destruction resolves, my opponent and I discard our hands and draw the same number of cards we discarded; Forced Requisition's effect is triggered
     -Using my turn priority, Forced Requisition's effect goes on the first link of the response chain
     -My opponent has no triggered effects
     -I do not chain
     -My opponent does not chain
     -Forced Requisition's effect resolves, my opponent discards the number of cards I discarded for Card Destruction

Mostly correct, however again, you do not use priority to put it on a chain (even if it were something that goes on the chain). If it is your turn, your effects MUST go on the chain first. However, in this case, there is nothing to go on the chain (again, the FR effect does not go on the chain).


  -Forced Requisition is activated in response to card discard, rather than chained to an effect that will discard.
Correct
  -It is in response to a card that includes discarding, not limited to cards that only discard
Partly correct. The last event to happen must be a discard.
  -If a card is activated in response to an event, you may chain to the first card with other cards that have the event as an activation requirement
Probably correct, although things are sticky here.
  -Forced Requisition's effect is triggered by discards as activation costs
  -Forced Requisition's effect is triggered by discards as resolutions of card effects
Correct.
  -Effects triggered during a chain will be placed first on a new chain that starts immediately after the current chain resolves
    -This new chain will be a "response chain" for last resolved effect on the old chain; in other words, at any point in this new chain, the activation conditions for a card are considered met if the activation conditions for that card are included in the last resolved effect on the old chain
    -The first effects added to the new chain are the turn player's triggered effects in an order of his/her choosing; then the opponent's triggered effects in an order of their choosing
    -After the triggered effects are chained, the turn player may add to the chain or not; after the turn player continues the chain or passes, the opponent may add to the chain or not; this continues until both players pass
  -Forced Requisition's effect is triggered by effects that include discarding, not limited to those that only discard
Not correct. The discard of Forced Requisition happens when you discard. It does not go on the chain.
 
I found that last post quite informative.  I'm still wondering one thing that wasn't explicitly stated.  The situation is that I already have Forced Requisition face-up on the field.

  -I activate Card Destruction, Chain Link 1
  -My opponent does not chain
  -I do not chain
  -Chain Link 1:  Card Destruction resolves, my opponent and I discard our hands and draw the same number; this triggers Forced Requisition's effect
  -Forced Requisition's effect resolves, my opponent discards the number of cards I discarded for Card Destruction
  -(If there was a lower link in the chain it would take place now, but there is not) The chain is concluded, the last thing to happen was my opponent discarding cards, so I now have priority to respond to my opponent's discarding

Is this the proper order of events?

Does Card Destruction not actually trigger Forced Requisition because the last part of Card Destruction's effect is the drawing of cards, or is it triggered anyway?

Would Forced Requisition's effect resolve after Card Destruction resolves completely, or would it happen in between the discard and the draw?

If Forced Requisition's effect resolved after the last effect on a chain resolved, Does the turn player now have priority to respond to the discard of cards by Forced Requisition's effect?
 
That is essentially correct. Forced Requistion only cares about the last event being a discard to turn it face-up. After that, as long as there is something that causes a discard, regardless of it happens first, second, third, or in the three-thousandth place in the effect, it will trigger (and 'resolve') when that link in the chain resolves (or if it was a cost, before the opponent may add to the chain.

The last ruling on Card Destruction vs. Forced Requisition is that you both discard, you both draw, and then the player being hit with FR discards again.

For your last question, the turn player has priority (unless this has changed, which it might have considering the way priority seems to be going back and forth) and may respond to the discard.
 
Back
Top