freed vs. premature

You can activate "Premature Burial" to Special Summon this card from the Graveyard, and then this card's effect will negate and destroy "Premature Burial". "Freed the Matchless General" will not be destroyed since the effect of "Premature Burial" was negated by his effect.

Which seems to contradict the following ruling:
If your opponent activates "Change of Heart" and gains control of this card while it is face-down, and it is then flipped face-up, they retain control of it until the end of the turn. This is because the effect of "Freed the Matchless General" must be applied when the Spell Card is activated.
Suggesting that Freed will not destroy Premture Burial at all.


Either way, freed is not destroyed when summoned by premature Burial
 
DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:
Which seems to contradict the following ruling:

Suggesting that Freed will not destroy Premture Burial at all.


Either way, freed is not destroyed when summoned by premature Burial

They do not conflict. His effect is continuous.

When targeted by a Non-Continuous Card (ie. Change of Heart) Freed must be face-up at activation and will automatically negate and destroy the card, at the point when the chain link is created, not when it resolves.

Premature Burial is an Equip Card and will constantly target (check for a target), thus it will be destroyed instantly once Freed is face-up.

The difference in the rulings has to do with the type of card that is targeting Freed.
 
I believe this is on the Official UDE FAQ section, saying that Premature will be destroyed and negated when Freed reaches the field. Being that Freeds effect will NEGATE and destroy the effect, meaning the effect of Premature that says the Monster is destroyed when it is destroyed will be negated. Along with the fact that Equip spells do continuesly target, I.E Premature on a Spirit Reaper, the Reaper will reach the field then be instantly destroyed. Same would go for Freed but he has that little added bonus of negating the spell.
 
Back
Top