Harpie Lady Sisters

Bigred Blues

New Member
Harpie Lady Sisters
Effect Monster (Winged Beast / WIND / 6 Stars / ATK 1950 / DEF 2100)

This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by the effect of "Elegant Egotist".


Recently Harpie Lady Sisters were Deemed "Nomi" and could not be be special summoned except through the effect of "Elegant Egotist".. Recently on the realms someone has brought up questionable proof. I will post it here
Harpie Lady Sisters can be special summoned from the graveyard if properly summoned. I asked UDE if the card errata was correct, and it's not. It's been taken down from the site, and I got an e-mail saying HLS is not a "nomi" creature. My guess, is that when writing HLS' errata for the DB1 version, they accidently put "cannot" instead of "only" on the web site and confused everyone.

The moral of the story is, HLS can be special summoned from the Graveyard.

-----Original Message-----
From: Chris Blair [mailto:csbtransition@hotmail.com]
Sent: Thursday, January 20, 2005 1:34 AM
To: entertainment
Subject: Harpie Lady Sisters errata?

In the Card Errata section, Harpie Lady Sisters says "cannot be
special-summoned except", unlike the Metal Raiders and Dark Beginnings
versions which says "can only be special summoned". I'm only asking if
this
is correct because Tip Card #2 says I can special summon Harpie Lady
Sisters
is she was special summoned correctly first.

-Please clear this up,


Thank You,

Hello,

If you summoned Harpie Lady Sisters, then you can reborn her (them).

Eric Tice
Game Support Rep
Upper Deck Entertainment


I would like to know what you people think on the Subject. Was Harpie Lady Sisters on Eratta List? Because I looked and I did not see them there...http://www.upperdeckentertainment.com/yugioh/faq_errata_01.aspx
 
UDE does not, in fact, make any kind of announcements at all about its changes to card texts. It is only by the diligent efforts of the volunteers from this site that they are ever discovered and the public informed. I think that you can count on one hand the times that UDE has announced something prior to Netrepâ„¢Net -- and then, only after we had been doing so for quite some time.

It is little fault of this staff if UDE suddenly -- and without any warning or announcement -- decides to arbitrarily change card texts around and not tell anyone about it until people have begun to debate the issues and then act as if the public should have known all along.

It shows a lack of professionalism and tact to point fingers at the only site that takes the time to keep the public up to date when the company making the changes won't 1) keep the public up to date nor 2) keep us up to date out of some kind of childish spite.
 
bishop said:
UDE does not, in fact, make any kind of announcements at all about its changes to card texts. It is only by the diligent efforts of the volunteers from this site that they are ever discovered and the public informed. I think that you can count on one hand the times that UDE has announced something prior to Netrepâ„¢Net -- and then, only after we had been doing so for quite some time.

It is little fault of this staff if UDE suddenly -- and without any warning or announcement -- decides to arbitrarily change card texts around and not tell anyone about it until people have begun to debate the issues and then act as if the public should have known all along.

It shows a lack of professionalism and tact to point fingers at the only site that takes the time to keep the public up to date when the company making the changes won't 1) keep the public up to date nor 2) keep us up to date out of some kind of childish spite.
So you don't keep track of the Errata page the same way as you do with the Rulings, I'm guessing.
 
Raijinili said:
So you don't keep track of the Errata page the same way as you do with the Rulings, I'm guessing.

We currently keep track of the PDF version. It wasn't changed. It's the only place that actually has any kind of "log" as to what was done.
 
No ill will was meant towards anyone affiliated with the creation of the Card Registry, if that's what it seemed like. Sorry, bishop, if I implied that at all. (Also note that my posts in this thread are my own -- I'm speaking for myself, and not for UDE as a whole.)

All I was alluding to was the fact that the picture for DB1-EN146 "Harpie Lady Sisters" shown in the Card Registry has the "nomi" text printed on the card, which made me do a double-take, since the actual card is not printed with "nomi" text.
 
Raijinili said:
So you don't keep track of the Errata page the same way as you do with the Rulings, I'm guessing.
We do actually keep track of it in the same way. But since they don't change it often, it tends to be sidelined in favor of the aforementioned PDF version. If UDE doesn't see the need to update it, then we can't go against the printed, official version.
 
Mr. Okegawa the text presented state that it can only be special summoned in 1 particular way, how are we supposed to know which monsters are Nomi and which arnt if there are alot of other monsters with similar effects.
 
Text of Archlord Zerato:
This card cannot be Special Summoned except by offering 1 face-up "Warrior of Zera" on your side of the field as a Tribute while "The Sanctuary in the Sky" is on the field.

Text of Dark Sage:
This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned from your hand or your Deck by Tributing 1 "Dark Magician" on your side of the field when you succeed in the effect of "Time Wizard".

Note that the nomi monster states: Cannot be Special Summoned except . . .
The 'normal' Special Summon monster states: Can only be Special Summoned . . . by ...

That is how you should tell the difference.
 
And any monster that has "can only be Special Summoned by the effect of" (Berserk Dragon, Exodia Necross, and Mirage Knight) is a Nomi monster, as well.

For the "except by" ones, I've found that it's easy to remember they're Nomi monsters by paying attention to just the the beginning of their descriptions -

"This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned--" and then stopping right there. Those parts of the description say those monsters can't be summoned at all...until you read a little further and see the only exception. Easier to just remember the Nomi monsters with that trick (plus the 3 I mentioned above) and then you don't have to worry about the rest of the Special Summon-only monsters.
 
Dlanaan said:
Text of Archlord Zerato:
This card cannot be Special Summoned except by offering 1 face-up "Warrior of Zera" on your side of the field as a Tribute while "The Sanctuary in the Sky" is on the field.

Text of Dark Sage:
This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned from your hand or your Deck by Tributing 1 "Dark Magician" on your side of the field when you succeed in the effect of "Time Wizard".

Note that the nomi monster states: Cannot be Special Summoned except . . .
The 'normal' Special Summon monster states: Can only be Special Summoned . . . by ...

That is how you should tell the difference.


Compare with Exodia Necross and Harpie Lady Sisters, that why we can't differ which monsters are Nomi or not.
 
Veterans can distinguish the difference pretty easily.

Cards like Dark Necrofear: not Nomi

Cards worded with the "only be Special Summoned..." that came out before MFC: not Nomi

Promos that say "only be Special Summoned...": not Nomi

Anything else, especially from MFC and DCR: Nomi
 
Little note of interest:

While going through the Data Base Error Reports forum, I noticed a thread on Tip Cards from December and something djp952 said:

"can scan one in if you'd like, but here's an example of what one says.* I also have one that states you can use "Monster Reborn" on "Harpie Lady Sisters", even though we all know it has been declared a "Nomi" monster by Konami. LOL!"

Full post is here: http://www.igforums.com/showpost.php?p=23015&postcount=2

It's from Tip Card #2: Special Summon-Only Monsters

Looks like they knew in December what it should have been here :)

Roan
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
Compare with Exodia Necross and Harpie Lady Sisters, that why we can't differ which monsters are Nomi or not.

Look for the word 'except' in the text to determine if it is Nomi for the later cards (post DCR). If it has the word 'except' it is nomi. If it does not, then it isn't.
 
The "Nomi" monster text templete:

This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set, and cannot be Special Summoned except by [Method].

Its actually the "cannot [...] except" templating that identifies a nomi.

The non-"Nomi" text is as follows:

This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned by [Method]

The "can only" text identifies a non-nomi monster, and indicates a cost Special Summoning, not a restriction.
 
novastar said:
The non-"Nomi" text is as follows:

This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned by [Method]

The "can only" text identifies a non-nomi monster, and indicates a cost Special Summoning, not a restriction.

Not quite, and that's only because of wording problems in MFC and DCR.

The following monsters have effects that sound like they're non-"Nomi", but they are in fact Nomi and should hopefully be reprinted in the future as such:

Dark Paladin
Exodia Necross
Mirage Knight
Berserk Dragon
 
The above templating i used is correct, and in Kevin's explaination (a while back) is explained that the 4 you are mentioning are to have the "Nomi" wording, and that the actual original text was to be ignored.

There are no wording issue with those cards. These 4 have been known to have the "Nomi" text, the template is as outlined, even if some of the cards have not been updated yet.

"cannot except" for nomi's "can only" for non-nomi's.

Infact the Card Registry clears this up in all cases with the exception of XYZ-Dragon Cannon. Porbably due to the Dimension Fusion discrepancy.
 
Back
Top