judges Ruling on snatch steal

ToyBoy

New Member
Ok If my opponet plays snatch steal on my monster and takes control what happens when GIANT TRUNDADE is activated. They pick up SNATCH STEAL but common sense would say I get my monster back because it is not equiped anymore. I ask a judge about this and he said my opponets gets to keep the monster because snatch steal was REMOVED from the field not DESTROYED.
This doenst make sense to me, this situation has happend more than once to me and i am tired of it
sombody help me.
 
The monster "snatched" would return to your side of the field when Snatch Steal is removed from the field by Giant Trunade. Same thing would happen if Imperial Order is played.
 
And to add to that, in case you weren't aware:

The only time the opponent keeps your monster after playing "Snatch Steal" is if the monster chosen is flipped face down (say with "Book of Moon" or "Tsukuyomi"). The monster stays on the opponent's side of the field and he can then flip it up on his next turn and it stays his.

Otherwise as stated, if your monster is face up and "Snatch Steal" leaves the field, you get control of your monster back. Of course if he played "Giant Trunade" he can replay "Snatch Steal" and take it again, but initially, the control would shift back to you.

- Andrew
 
quote author=masterwoo0 link=topic=882.msg5783#msg5783 date=1099928009]

The monster "snatched" would return to your side of the field when Snatch Steal is removed from the field by Giant Trunade.  Same thing would happen if Imperial Order is played.
You shore that the moster would return if imperial order is played i thought it didnt because its still equiped just that you would still gain life points.
Thats what ive been told and the way i have been playing it.
 
Imperial Order negates the effect of "Snatch Steal" and would then send the card back to the original owner.  Imperial Order does not negate cost payments, so the controller of Snatch Steal is still giving you 1000 life points at each of your Standby Phases as long as IO is active.

So, your opponent ends up paying for the cost of Imperial Order is you activated it, and you still gain 300 life!!! :evil:
 
masterwoo0 said:
Imperial Order negates the effect of "Snatch Steal" and would then send the card back to the original owner. Imperial Order does not negate cost payments, so the controller of Snatch Steal is still giving you 1000 life points at each of your Standby Phases as long as IO is active.

Wait there. The 1000 life point gain is part of the effect of "Snatch Steal" not a cost. So if "Imperial Order" is on the field, you get control of your monster back and you don't gain any life points either. "Snatch Steal" stays equipped however so if "Imperial Order" leaves the field, control goes back to your opponent and you start gaining again.

- A
 
yeap thats how snatch steal works.

IO will negate snatch. so control of the monster returns to the original owner untill IO is destroyed or negated.

Snatch steal has to be equiped to a monster in order for it to be controlled. Once the monster isnt equiped the monster returns to its original owner.

if you play giant trunade after you snatch stole, you give control of the monster back, then get can play snatch steal again if you like.

now like mentioned if the monster gets booked while snatched, then it stays with the person that snatched it. :)

snatch doesnt get destroyed, but it does get sent to the graveyard.
 
Also, if you Interdimensional Matter Transport or Dimensionhole a monster you Snatch Stole, Snatch goes to the Graveyard and control of the monster will return to your opponent when each of these cards resolve.
 
densetsu_x said:
And to add to that, in case you weren't aware:

The only time the opponent keeps your monster after playing "Snatch Steal" is if the monster chosen is flipped face down (say with "Book of Moon" or "Tsukuyomi"). The monster stays on the opponent's side of the field and he can then flip it up on his next turn and it stays his.

Otherwise as stated, if your monster is face up and "Snatch Steal" leaves the field, you get control of your monster back. Of course if he played "Giant Trunade" he can replay "Snatch Steal" and take it again, but initially, the control would shift back to you.

- Andrew


maibe a stupid question but let say you summon tsuko flip the opponents monster you snatched face down and then play book of tai on it does it return to his field or do you still get to keep it ?
 
When you use Tsukuyomi's effect on the Snatched Monster, Snatch Steal is automatically destroyed, so now said face down monster is no longer bound by the limitations Snatch Steal placed on it. Then when you use Book of Taiyou on it, it is your full fleged monster, will all rights and privileges therein.

Unfortunately, when the monster dies, it still goes to their graveyard 8^D
 
I was reading on the UDE Advanced Tactics site where they discuss the recusive flippers (Guardian Sphinx and the like) and found this:


When "Guardian Sphinx", etc., is flipped face-down using its effect, Equip Spell Cards equipped to it are destroyed. If Special Summoned with "Premature Burial", and then flipped face-down, "Premature Burial" is destroyed but "Guardian Sphinx" remains on the field. If Special Summoned with "Call of the Haunted", and then flipped face-down, "Call of the Haunted" remains on the field meaninglessly, and "Guardian Sphinx" remains on the field.


Is this flip and destroy specific for Premature Burial or I was under the impression it was a general gaming mechanic (since I know equip cards are sent to the graveyard when their face-up monsters are destroyed.

Thanks in advance for the clarification!
 
Dillie-O said:
I was reading on the UDE Advanced Tactics site where they discuss the recusive flippers (Guardian Sphinx and the like) and found this:


When "Guardian Sphinx", etc., is flipped face-down using its effect, Equip Spell Cards equipped to it are destroyed. If Special Summoned with "Premature Burial", and then flipped face-down, "Premature Burial" is destroyed but "Guardian Sphinx" remains on the field. If Special Summoned with "Call of the Haunted", and then flipped face-down, "Call of the Haunted" remains on the field meaninglessly, and "Guardian Sphinx" remains on the field.


Is this flip and destroy specific for Premature Burial or I was under the impression it was a general gaming mechanic (since I know equip cards are sent to the graveyard when their face-up monsters are destroyed.

Thanks in advance for the clarification!

No, any equip card that was equipped to "Guardian Sphinx" when he is flips himself face down would be destroyed (since equips can't be equipped to face down monsters). The reason why they were specifically mentioning "Premature Burial" because when "Premature Burial" is destroyed, the monster it was equipped to is normally destroyed as well. But since the monster is now face down, it has been "freed" of it's chains. Same thing with "Call of the Haunted" (except CotH just stays meaninglessly on the field).

And this would be true of any monster who has an equip card if that monster is flipped face down.

- Andrew
 
Well, Equip Cards are now considered destroyed when they no longer have a target. (wait for it). However, cards that trigger on being destroyed do not trigger in this instance because those cards are now looking for Equip Cards being destroyed by effects rather than game mechanics. It's a pain in the butt to understand (let alone explain), but the long and short of it is that the cards are played the same way ... which of course brings up the question as to WHY they changed the definition.
 
So according to the mechanics nothing changed we're just using different words. :bishop:
This is one of those not so rare instances where clarifying is likely to cause more confusion.
 
question:


I wonder you all say when the monster is snatch stolen from my side of the field. o.k. I'm only a little confused. Because woudln't it negate the effect of snatch steel of my monster is face down? If I activate book of moon quick play before snatch steal even resolves I would think I keep my monster. But you all say that if I activate book of moon they keep it. Eventhough the requirements of the effect of snatch steal wasn't even available. Since I activated a quick play magic card. Mod's or anyone in this case could you clear up my confusion.

-Javario
 
You are correct if you Chain Book of Moon to the Activation of Snatch Steal then Snatch Steal will fizzle as it lost its target. However once Snatch Steal has resolved and control of the monster has changed to the owner of Snatch Steal then Book of Moon will turn the monster face down, Snatch Steal will go to the grave and the monster will not return to the original owner because there isn't a pending effect to return the monster as there would be with Change of Heart.
 
Back
Top