just want to check

squid

removed from play
Ive checked the rulings in the Registry, so I fairly confident of the answer, but...... its always better to ask than assume.

If I attempt to tribute a Horus monster (or other Level type monster) to summon the next level up, while End of Anubis is face up on the field, will the effect fail to resolve properly?
 
chaosruler said:
"The End of Anubis" WILL NOT negate Ignition Effects unless it requires the monster to be in the Graveyard when the Ignition Effect is activated (such as "Amazoness Chain-Master").

that is from EoA's rulings. Exiled doesn't have to hit the graveyard to work, so it isn't negated, for starters.

The Horus', however, MUST hit the graveyard, and as such, will be negated by The End of Anubis.

-chaosruler
See, this is what i hate about UDE's wording in thier rulings sometimes.

This is far too confusing than it has to be.

It's simple, Exiled, Horus...or any other Ignition Effect that is activated from a monster that originally starts out on the field is not negeted by EoA.

Just because the cost for Horus (and others like it) requires it is specifically be sent to the Graveyard doesn't change anything, its just a requirement for the cost to fulfilled.

They need to clarify this.

Even in the example the Amazoness is a Graveyard Effect, similar to an Optional Graveyard Trigger. I honestly dont know why they call it an Ignition Effect, to me it look like very similar to Peten.
 
I honestly dont see how you could even compare an effect like Horus' with an effect like ACM.

All i know is, i definately see the difference here, and there is a big problem with EoA's rulings.
 
The only point of comparison I'm using is where they MUST land after being destroyed/tributed in order to activate. I'm not using how they got there or anything else as comparison, just that they depend on being part of the Graveyard's contents in oreder to activate and resolve.

-chaosruler
 
chaosruler said:
just that they depend on being part of the Graveyard's contents in oreder to activate and resolve.

-chaosruler

But that is the problem, Horus doesn't need to be in the Graveyard to activate. Horus activates on the field and sends himself to the graveyard. If something prevents him from going to the graveyard then obviously he won't be able to fulfill his effect to level up. But Amazoness Chain Master's effect actually starts activation IN THE GRAVEYARD, like the elemental searchers, like Witch and Sangan, like Vampire Lord. That is the difference.

Question: Can you just decide to send a monster to the graveyard because you would like to free the space up and summon another monster? No. Why? Because you have to tribute for a high level monster or use another effect which sends the monster to the grave. Thus something has to be activated in order to send the monster to the grave. If that is the case then the effect must be activating on the field in order to send itself to the graveyard. That is why The End of Anubis rulings are insanity. Where is the effect coming from that sends the monster to the grave if the effect doesn't activate until after the monster is in the grave?
 
What's confusing here is the fact that they (UDE) are trying to say cost happens before activation, when really cost is part of the activation sequence. Whether its the first event to happen or not doesn't matter.

They are trying to make it seem like the effect of a card activates from whatever Zone the card is currently in after cost has been paid, which is ridiculous. It does nothing but cause confusion.
 
Okay, just so I can get things straight in my own mind, so far we have:

  1. Monster Effects that activate in the Graveyard after being sent to the Graveyard and resolve in the Graveyard.
  2. Monster Effects that activate on the field after being sent to the Graveyard and resolve on the field.
  3. Monster Effects that activate on the field after being sent to the Graveyard and resolve in the Graveyard.
  4. Monster Effects that activate in the Graveyard after beign sent to the Graveyard and resolve on the field.
<Ka-chik. BLAM!!! Thump!>
 
I guess this could be a simple way to figure out if an effect is Anubis-able.

If it's a Trigger effect and in the Graveyard when the effect triggers (like Giant Kozaky, Mystic Tomato, and Sangan), it's Anubis-able.

It it's an Ignition/Multi-Trigger effect and in the Graveyard prior to the effect activating (like Vampire Lord, Sinister Serpent, and Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys), it's Anubis-able.

If it's a Trigger, Ignition, or Multi-Trigger effect that activates someplace else (field or hand for example) and the Monster ends up in the Graveyard either by it's own effect (as a cost like Exiled Force) or through another effect (Flip Magician of Faith, chain Ring of Destruction to target the MoF), then it's not Anubis-able.

I think that's how the logic of things work. As such if Exiled Force is not Anubis-able, then Peten the Dark Clown would be Anubis-able since the effect does activate in the Graveyard. Just because the cost would remove it from play does not mean the effect would not be negated.
 
Ok End of Anubis only negates cards that target cards in the graveyard or cards that activate in the graveyard.

The way I see it is you activate Horus's effect on the field and it resolves when in the graveyard. Could be wrong here. This would mean EoA doesn't negate it.
 
Yes it's simple because it covers the different conditions you will encounter with a way to proceed in each case.

And if we take the Horus LV4/6 examples, they would fall under the same category as Exiled Force so no, it would not be Anubis-able.
 
So...

Exiled WILL be negated because it ACTIVATES in the GRAVEYARD

Horus WILL NOT be negated because it ACTIVATES on the FIELD

That should be all the information that you need.
 
but there is a difference between Horus LV4 / LV6 to that Exiled Force and that is in the effect.

one says "..Send this card to the graveyard...", the other says "Tribute this face up monsters.."

meaning 1 doesnt have to be in the graveyard to resolve properly and the other does.

it has a similar effec to that of witch or Sangan.

:D
 
patman133 said:
So...

Exiled WILL be negated because it ACTIVATES in the GRAVEYARD

Horus WILL NOT be negated because it ACTIVATES on the FIELD

That should be all the information that you need.

No, neither of them would be negated by The End of Anubis. Their cost sends them to the graveyard, but the activation of the effects started with them on the field.

As for the sending the card to the Graveyard, that just means you can get around Mask of Restrict and Mind Control (and that you couldn't do it if Banisher of the Light is on the field). It also differs from Witch/Sangan in that Witch/Sangan's effect do not activate until they are in the Graveyard. Horus LV4/6 would be activated while he's on the field.
 
somehow, I doubt that this would be answered directly. It sounds too similar to the earlier discussions on Exiled vs. EoA that was sent to the board.

I know that in that earlier thread, Novastar had presented a theory on the sequence of events involved in activating a card (or maybe that was the MoF vs. Ceasefire discussion). Just for my own benefit, and others who may need such, has there been a conclusive set of steps when determining activation, cost, target, resolve, and all that other stuff?

I used to feel secure in the activation process, but now, with the mess EoA created, I am not.

Move over, Digital Jedi
<thump>
 
Well, the Exiled Force v. The End of Anubis answer on the mailing list was later "repealed" by Daniel in one of his e-mails:

"The End of Anubis" will not negate Ignition Effects unless it requires
the monster to be in the Graveyard when the Ignition Effect is activated
(such as "Amazoness Chain-Master").


So for Exiled Force, the activation begins on the field so it won't be negated. For Sinister Serpent and Peten the Dark Clown, they have to be in the Graveyard for the effect to be activated so they will be negated.
 
Right. Which is why I didn't think the boards would answer it. Its something that could be hashed out among ourselves.

Not me, really (that's why I asked the question to begin with), but by you people:p
 
Back
Top