Last Will Question

frostmonarch

New Member
If my opponent wanted to negate the summoning of my monster by the effects of Last Will, does he have to negate Last Will at the time of activation of Last Will or can he use something (i.e. solemn judgment) at the time of the summoning of the monster to negate its summon?

Thanks
 
anthonyj said:
No offense intended but what is the source for this information?

hehe, I'd say Nova themself, given how long Novas been in the game and how much Nova knows. 8^D

But that raises a very good point Nova (regarding my comment). I'll need to take heed of that.
 
novastar said:
Truthfully, whether Last Will's Special Summon is a Trigger or done like a Continuous Effect, it doesn't affect the ability to use Royal Oppression on it.

It would however affect SJ or HoH.

No, but it might have bearing on other things that we're looking at. Last Will has always been somewhat of a mystery card. Getting answers about this card from UDE / Konami is like pulling teeth. Everytime I ask a question involving it I get eyes rolling back in their head and the response, "I'll get back with you" if in person and if online I often get, "Refer to the FAQ"

Weather it's a chainable event would have a great bearing on a question that would be similar to the one we're discussing in a different thread here involving Last Will, a tributed monster, and BTH. If the tributed monster would not be Sangan and Last Will's effect wasn't chainable then if the monster Last Will special summoned was less than 1500 atk the story might be different....

Sorry, I'm going WAY off topic here connecting two threads together, still, they have bearing on each other and I suggest anyone who hasn't read the other post do so.
 
I am aware of the troublesome nature of Last Will, and that it is pretty much been a WIP for the last few years.

The only solution that does make sense is to make it a straight chainable Trigger (obviously optional Special Summon). Resolving it any other way, makes it too complicated and doesn't really fit in with the structure as it stands. I see your thinking with BTH (another problematic card), but it only further solidifies the idea that making it non-chainable doesn't fit.

Yes... i know this is YGO we are talking about, but they also should try and make it easy enough for people of various levels of understanding to grasp.
 
JERP rulings, July 14 2003:
You can chain Royal Oppression to Last Will's activation.
You can't chain Royal Oppression to Last Will's effect, as it is not a chainable event. (My world has been shattered. A Special Summon by outside effect that is NOT chainable?)
You can't use Last Will's effect in the Damage Step.

Well, the part about it being non-trigger makes the part that says it is optional yet can't miss its timing make sense. The Special Summon effect is APPLIED.

Oh, and you STILL can't Royal Oppression it. As I keep saying, the rule is "No outside effects", not "Not during a card effect resolution".
 
There is obviously a lot of conflict here... since many of those rulings conflict with current NA rulings.

Not that i am advocating taking Kevin and the gangs word for it, but the gap is quite astounding here...

As far as the "outside effects" vs. "effect resolution" you may be right, but it is inconsistant that's for sure.
 
Back
Top