Losing target

Fury

New Member
Chaos Sorcerer (Link 1) targets the opp's face-up attack pos Zaborg.
Opp chains with Desert Sunlight (Link 2) and Book of Moon (Link 3).
Resolve backwards:
Link 3: Book flips Zaborg face-down.
Link 2: Desert Sunlight flips Zaborg face-up.
Link 1: ?
Did Chaos Sorcerer lose its target when it was flipped face-down even just temporarly or it only checks it at resolution?
 
Hm. Other situations:

Chaos Sorcerer is summoned and targets the opp's Sangan (Link1).
He chains Hidden Soldiers (Link2) and Compulsory Evacuation Device targeting Sangan (Link3).
Resolve:
Link3: Return Sangan to hand.
Link2: Sangan is summoned.
Link1: ?Chaos Sorcerer removes Sangan because it is still face-up on the field.


Chaos Sorcerer (Link1) targets the opp's Zaborg.
Opp chains Return from the Different Dimension (Link2) and Interdimensional Matter Transporter targeting Zaborg (Link3).
Resolve:
Link3: Zaborg is removed from play.
Link2: Zaborg is summoned.
Link1: ?Chaos Sorcerer removes Zaborg because it is still face-up on the field.
 
1st scenario is not valid. You can't activate "Hidden Soldiers" when "Chaos Sorcerer" is Special Summoned.

If the monster leaves the field, and then returns to the field, then it is considered to be a 'different' monster in most cases. The effect of "Chaos Sorcerer" would resolve w/o effect in those instances.
 
Sangan is a new target, because it is not the "same card". It is a newly summoned monster. It isn't the same as having the same card flipped face down and then face up. That card is still the same card, regardless of it is face up or face down. Once it goes back to the hand though, it is a "new" monster.

EDIT: Oops. Forgot Hidden Soldiers is for when the opponent normal summons. Oops.

And for the Return From a Different Dimension situation, assuming there is already a monster you are planning to return besides Zaborg (because you can't even activate Return if there are no RFP monsters), yes, that would make Zaborg disappear as a target. Again, because it is a "new" monsters in the eyes of what is going on in the game.......but then Zaborg would get removed in the end phase by Return, and not come back from Interdimensional. Better would be just remove him yourself with IMT and let it bring him back at end phase.
 
skey23 said:
1st scenario is not valid. You can't activate "Hidden Soldiers" when "Chaos Sorcerer" is Special Summoned.
True, true. I didnt check the "Special part".

The point was if the target becomes invalid what happens with the effect.
So if the target leaves the field the effect disappers.
If the target becomes invalid but remains on the field then the effect goes through.
However the Daedalus ruling on the face-down monster is "just a card" ruling could mean that after the monster was flipped face-down it is "just a card" and not the target of the effect anymore.

Also did you have a specific ruling in mind when you gave your answers?
 
"¢ If you have a face-up Flip Effect monster, you can activate "Desert Sunlight", and chain "Book of Moon", another "Desert Sunlight", and another "Book of Moon". When the chain resolves, you will flip the monster down, then up, then down, then back up. The Flip Effect activates twice, and they wait to create a new chain after the current one resolves. For example, if the Flip Effect monster is "Morphing Jar", its effect will activate twice in a chain, as Chain Link 1 and Chain Link 2, they resolve in reverse order, and both players will discard and draw 5 cards, then discard and draw 5 cards again.

Morphing Jar is still flipped f/d after it has been flipped f/d and then f/u. Therefore, skey = correct.
 
I play "Thread Reborn" :)

This is a question about mechanics again and because I dont have a scenario it is more hypothetical.

So, lets say the card says:
"Select 1 monster on your field or in your graveyard and add it to your hand."
This is a targeting effect, just in case.

If I target a monster and my opp destroys it with say Ring of Destruction and the monster is sent to the grave would I be able to add it to my hand? The monster is still a valid target in the graveyard. Does the fact that it changed locations matter in this case? That the card is the same can easily be determined by both players.
 
The made up card you made up looks to target at activation meaning the target has been chosen as the "card a" on the field. If "card a" is no longer on the field but in the grave it is treated as a different card for targetting purposes thus making the card resolve without effect.
 
I didnt know Miracle Fusion targets, hm.
The older fusing cards didnt so I wrongly assumed they kept that. But anyway, unfortunately there is nothing in the rulings of it about the topic. So we can keep guessing :)
 
Miracle Fusion does not target. Everything written on the card happens at resolution. There's no cost. Same with all other fusing cards.
 
Maruno said:
Miracle Fusion does not target. Everything written on the card happens at resolution. There's no cost. Same with all other fusing cards.
UDE and Konami disagree with you. Please use Netrep's card search database or the auto-link feature in your post.

Btw, it's the second ruling.
 
Weird. I thought it didn't. I was so sure I didn't even check the rulings. It's probably the way the card text looks like it does everything at resolution (which would mean it doesn't target), because it's all one big sentence.
 
Yeah, I also thought that all fusing cards dont target but well I was wrong, too.

So it's not a big shock when I tell you that Dragon's Mirror targets, too :)
Overload Fusion doesnt have such a ruling but since 2 cards with similar effects have it probably targets as well. So if you have Cyber Phoenix and Cyber Dragon on the field you cant overload for Chimeratech if that's your only Cyber Dragon, hm.

---
If 1 of the targets of Two-Pronged Attack leaves the field before its resolution will the 2 remaining targets be destroyed? Does it matter if one of mine or my opp's monster leave?

---
Both The Forces of Darkness and Pot of Avarice target multiple (but a fixed number of) monsters in the graveyard. So how is it that if one of the targets disappears The Forces of Darkness still resolves and adds the remaining target to the hand but Pot of Avarice loses all of its effect. It not even shuffles back the 4 remaining targets. I could understand if the "draw 2" is skipped because it requires that 5 monsters are shuffled back, but why the shuffle part doesnt even try to do something IDK.
 
Fury said:
If 1 of the targets of Two-Pronged Attack leaves the field before its resolution will the 2 remaining targets be destroyed? Does it matter if one of mine or my opp's monster leave?

"¢ [Re: Elemental Hero Wildheart] This card is unaffected by the effects of Trap Cards, but it still may be the target of Trap Cards. For example, you can activate "Two-Pronged Attack" and target your "Elemental Hero Wildheart", another of your monsters, and the opponent's monster. When "Two-Pronged Attack" resolves, the other 2 monsters will be destroyed. "Elemental Hero Wildheart" will remain on the field.

Japanese ruling: all monsters must be on the field when it resolves. However, the monsters do not necessarily have to be destroyed, as shown by the above ruling.
Fury said:
Both The Forces of Darkness and Pot of Avarice target multiple (but a fixed number of) monsters in the graveyard. So how is it that if one of the targets disappears The Forces of Darkness still resolves and adds the remaining target to the hand but Pot of Avarice loses all of its effect. It not even shuffles back the 4 remaining targets. I could understand if the "draw 2" is skipped because it requires that 5 monsters are shuffled back, but why the shuffle part doesnt even try to do something IDK.

Because Konami Says So. Uh...because The Forces Of Darkness is one sentance, and the "return" part of Pot of Avarice is two phrases connected by a comma?
 
Back
Top