LOTS of questions regarding Dark Necrofear

exiledforcefreak

RIP Jacob KT 2/16/06
Very surprized I couldn't find anything in the card registry or Ronin.

1. If my opponent takes dark necrofear with, lets say snatch steal, and I destroy it, who gets Dark Necrofear's effect?
2. Does Dark Necrofear ever hit the grave? It says it's destroyed but does it go to the grave? If not, where does it go untill the end phase? does it float in mid air untill then?
3. After Dark Necrofear is equiped to a monster and hits the grave is it still treated as a magic card or is it treated like a monster again? If it is treated as a magic card can I get it back with Magician of Faith and use it to take control of one of my opponent's monsters?

Thx in advance :D
 
to answer your questions...

1. neither, since its still your monster and it wont come back becuase you killed your own monster (Same with V.Lord)
2. it goes to the grave and at the end phase it revives itself and takes control of a monster
3. Its effect resets once it hits the graveyard so it would be treated like a monster.
 
Oooo...questions about one of the cards that made me create my ultimate fiend deck  :D

1. It depends. If you destroy it as a result of battle, you can get the effect. If you destroy it with a card effect, you do not get the effect, because in order for its effect to be used, it must be destroyed by your opponent's card effect.
2. It goes into the graveyard, and her effect activates there during the End Phase.
3. It would be considered a monster when it reaches the graveyard.
 
1. It depends. If you destroy it as a result of battle, you can get the effect. If you destroy it with a card effect, you do not get the effect, because in order for its effect to be used, it must be destroyed by your opponent's card effect.


Is it just me or is that a mistake up there.  V.Lord does NOT come back to your hand if destroyed in battle, only when
destroyed AND sent to the graveyard by your opponent's card effect.  Unless there is a new errata on V. Lord that I haven't seen yet.
 
a couple of thing important to know about her Majesty's effect

Her triggering and activation of equipping a monster is a Spell Speed 1 effect and can be chained to. If, in the End Phase, she equips to an opponent's monster, the opponent can chain a face down MST (or similar) to her effect and destroy her.

**If this happens, Necrofear will NOT return to equip again. It has been ruled that her effect can only occur once per turn.

This ruling has confused the bejeezus out of many. The reason behind it was to specifically counter the infinite loop possibility when an opponent only has a face up Gearfried on the field, Necrofear equips ->Gearfried destroys ->Necrofear equips ->Gearfried destroys. Cant have that happen! So, Necrofear will only revive once per turn



Another thing to understand is that Necrofear may be treated as an equip spell card, but her activation point is the effect of a monster effect. She is immune to the negation of Horus Level 8. Horus L8 can negate the activation of a spell card, but by the time Necrofear is considered a spell card, her activation point has passed (as a monster effect) therefore there is no place for Horus to jump in and negate.

Most of Necrofear is fairly easy to understand, but the 2 things above have caused more than one duelist to blink, which is why I mentioned it.

~squid~
 
And likewise if she equips herself to a monster like Horus LV6 (that's immune to spell cards), while she is still on the field, you won't get control of your opponent's monster in that instance. Same as if "Spell Canceller" is active on the field.

- A
 
Back
Top