Nomi or Not Nomi? That is the Question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

OKShadow

OKC's Dark Duelist
This is for the continuing discussion started under the Harpy Sister thread. This is in regards to what makes a "nomi" monster just that or if there's a loophole that can be exploited around it. :evil:

For example...

Red Eyes Black Metal Dragon...
This card can only be Special Summoned from the Deck to the field by offering "Red-Eyes B. Dragon" equipped with "Metalmorph" as a Tribute. Your Deck is then shuffled.

Rulings
1. This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set, and must be Special Summoned from the Deck by the condition written on the card. It CANNOT be Special Summoned from your hand. So once it is in your hand, there is no way to Summon this card.

If this is the same for Metalzoa, can any of these be used once they hit the coffin for a dirt nap?
 
Blue-Eyes Black said:
Just because a concept doesn't come out until nearly 1 1/2 years after a set's release doesn't make the concept illegal for older cards.

Just because the concept of magic counters didn't exist, you couldn't force magic counters onto LOB cards? Just because no one had rulings for spirit monsters, you couldn't rule that Wicked Worm Beast was a spirit monster?

See how ridiculous it is?
 
Raijinili said:
Blue-Eyes Black said:
Just because a concept doesn't come out until nearly 1 1/2 years after a set's release doesn't make the concept illegal for older cards.

Just because the concept of magic counters didn't exist, you couldn't force magic counters onto LOB cards? Just because no one had rulings for spirit monsters, you couldn't rule that Wicked Worm Beast was a spirit monster?

See how ridiculous it is?

If they errata'd an LOB card to say it uses Magic Counters, it would. If "Wicked Worm Beast" was errata'd to be a Spirit monster, it would be. =P Based on the current text, "Harpie Lady Sisters" should be a nomi monster. It'd be nice if they'd just put nomi on the cards (or in the errata text) so we didn't have to think so much. >_>;;; For all of the other Special Summon-only monsters, the errata says "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned by[...]." This just shows more clearly that they cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. Why would they give "Harpie Lady Sisters" errata that infers that she is a nomi monster if all of the other Special Summon-only monsters didn't?
 
Raijinili said:
Blue-Eyes Black said:
Just because a concept doesn't come out until nearly 1 1/2 years after a set's release doesn't make the concept illegal for older cards.

Just because the concept of magic counters didn't exist, you couldn't force magic counters onto LOB cards? Just because no one had rulings for spirit monsters, you couldn't rule that Wicked Worm Beast was a spirit monster?

See how ridiculous it is?

The ideas of Magic Counters and Spirit Monsters are actual game mechanics. They weren't around before their respective releases (303 and MA, respectively). Nomi is not a game mechainc; it's a 1-word description of a type of ruling. And as you know, rulings CAN be retroactive.
 
That might in a sense be true, but the type of card text on the monsters is definately a game mechanic, and the HLS should not be included in that, period.

It is not a "ruling" at all, but a "templating" of card text, which is much more powerful than just plain ruling.
 
Let me just ask one question: What makes Harpie Lady Sisters any different than Exodia Necross? Are they not both non-Ritual, non-Fusion, Effect Monster Cards that both require that they be Special Summoned through a certain Spell Card?

Maybe it's just the way I'm looking at it. But you know that if one person is asking this question, there are at least a few others curiuos about this. To me reversing the errata on Harpie Lady Sisters will just lead to confusion as to why Harpie Lady Sisters is ruled different than cards like Exodia Necross. It's a situation of, "Well, you ruled this new card one way, but there's an older card that behaves the same way but is not ruled the same way."
 
This just all comes down to whatever Konami (or the makers of the game) want it to be. If they want HLS to be a nomi-monster, so be it, if they don't, that's cool too.

You don't have to explain the difference between Necross and HLS, it's simply because that's what they want. if they want the text to be "only" instead of "except" then its up to them.
 
Again from the mailing list, it was confirmed that:

Red-Eyes Black Metal Dragon
Metalzoa
Gate Guardian

Are NOT nomi monsters. So they can be reborn from the Graveyard assuming they were summoned properly.

- Andrew
 
The above list by Raj seems completely accurate. If its not on the list, then it's not nomi, the only outstanding one seems to be Harpie Lady Sisters. I will ask for comfirmation.
 
Yeah Andrew's pretty fast if you're not watching. lol

He's pretty sneaky, so you gotta keep an eye on him. (J/K bud)

So how many other monsters can we throw at Konami to ask whether or not they are nomi? Creator or the upcoming Phoenix God of Nephthys?

Maybe the new Gatling Dragon hehe
 
No point in even thinking about cards for sets that haven't even been released since the spoiler text may not even match what it is when it is released here ("Absolute End" comes to mind for starters).

Now as for the 1 remaining card you mentioned, "The Creator", it's already been stated that that card is not a nomi monster since it can simply be special summoned from "Removed From Play" by either "Dimension Fusion" or "Return from the Different Dimension". Further, you can bring "The Creator" onto the field initially simply by offering 2 monsters as a tribute. Nothing fancy at all.

- Andrew
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top