not a simple apprentice magician question

exiledforcefreak

RIP Jacob KT 2/16/06
ok so i control 5 monsters, 1 of which is an Apprentice Magician

my opponent attacks my Apprentice Magician and it is determined to be destroyed and as such is considered destroyed at this point

at the same time Apprentice Magician is still on the field and as such I have a full field

so, the question is, does Apprentice Magician's ability go off during the damage calculation sub-step or one or the sent to the graveyard sub-step of the damage step? do I get to special summon a lvl 2 or lower spellcaster from my deck? what exactly happens in this situation?
 
The currently rulings state this:

3. Because "Apprentice Magician"'s effect is not a Graveyard effect, the controller of "Apprentice Magician" at the time it is destroyed as a result of battle gets its effect. So if I take control of my opponent's "Apprentice Magician", and it is destroyed as a result of battle, then I Special Summon, not the original owner.

The trigger occurs when it is considered destroyed but before it has hit the graveyard.

So, if your monster zones are already occupied, then I would think that you could not special summon via the Apprentice Magician's effect.
 
darkjason said:
So, if your monster zones are already occupied, then I would think that you could not special summon via the Apprentice Magician's effect.

<Ed McMan voice> You are CORRECT SIR!
Apprentice Magician is somewhat unique in this way. It's effect does not activate when sent to the graveyard but after it's considered destroyed and before it is sent to the graveyard....thus it's still on the field occupying a monster zone preventing other monsters from being special summoned until a monster zone is unoccupied.
 
Back
Top