Protector of the Sanctuary+Bait Doll+Disturbance Strategy

CardsOfTheHeart

New Member
If this question is covered on another thread, don't blame me; I can't find it.


I've been asking several judges about this and I'm getting conflicting rulings.

Protector of the Sanctuary + Bait Doll + Disturbance Strategy

1. Can Bait Doll activate a f/d Disturbance Strategy while Protector of the Sanctuary is on the field?
2. If it can, does the effect of Disturbance Strategy resolve normally?

I've had a lv1 judge say that the timing would be incorrect on Disturbance Strategy in that case (since it can't be activated while Protector of the Sanctuary is on the field).
But I've also had a lv2 judge say that since Bait Doll forces the activation of Disturbance Strategy and cards that are forced to be activated while Protector of the Sanctuary is on the field still work (e.g. Morphing Jar), the timing isn't incorrect and the effect resolves as usual.

So who's right?
 
krazykidpsx said:
no you got it mixed up now.

If you control Protector of the Sanctuary you cannot forcefully make your opponent draw cards.

If they activate Card Destruction, then its on them, you didnt force them to activate it.

IF they control protector, the same thing, but the effect only apply to you. your the opponent of the owner of Protector of the Sanctuary.
It appears that what I posted was correct.
Most cards that would cause the opponent to draw outside of the Draw Phase, such as "Card Destruction", cannot be activated, even by the controller of "Protector of the Sanctuary".
If I'm reading, and understanding, this correctly, then it doesn't matter WHO controls "Protector of the Sanctuary", NEITHER player can activate cards that would make BOTH players draw.
 
krazykidpsx said:
thats too janky, because then you wouldnt be allowed to activate Level MOdulation and so forth.

a bit too iffy.
If YOU control "Protector" then YOU can't activate "Level Modulation"..lol.
You cannot activate "Level Modulation" if the opponent has 1 or less card in their Deck, or if you have "Protector of the Sanctuary" on the field.
But I could because YOU can draw. And it's ONLY making YOU draw, not ME.
 
Indeed, back on topic ...

The original question was whether Bait Doll could activate your f/d Disturbance Strategy while you have Protector of the Sanctuary on the field.

Here's a Protector ruling that we need to focus on:
You cannot activate cards if they make your opponent draw, such as "Dragged Down into the Grave", "Card Destruction", or "Disturbance Strategy".
Notice how I underlined the word 'you.' That means that you as the controller of Protector cannot activate cards like Disturbance Strategy.

But, if you play Bait Doll on a f/d Disturbance Strategy in that case, what would activate the said card: 'you' or the effect of Bait Doll? That's the question you need to answer.
 
CardsOfTheHeart said:
The original question was whether Bait Doll could activate your f/d Disturbance Strategy while you have Protector of the Sanctuary on the field.

Here's a Protector ruling that we need to focus on:
Notice how I underlined the word 'you.' That means that you as the controller of Protector cannot activate cards like Disturbance Strategy.

But, if you play Bait Doll on a f/d Disturbance Strategy in that case, what would activate the said card: 'you' or the effect of Bait Doll? That's the question you need to answer.

Oh my dear :D Bait Doll would activate the card, but in that case you must look who the controller is/was of Bait Doll. In this case, you are and the controller of Bait Doll and the controller of Disturbance Strategy.
 
I thought I would weigh in on this. I put this into the same ruling as Call of the Haunted. Disturbance Strategy still resolves if you choose Protector of the Sanctuary. So why wouldn't the timing be correct if Bait Doll activated it. I say the play is legal. Here are some rulings I looked at to come to my conclusion.


You cannot activate cards if they make your opponent draw, such as "Dragged Down into the Grave", "Card Destruction", or "Disturbance Strategy".

You can chain "Call of the Haunted" to a card effect that would make your opponent draw, and if you Special Summon "Protector of the Sanctuary", your opponent does not draw.

If "Call of the Haunted" is chained to "Disturbance Strategy" to Special Summon "Protector of the Sanctuary", your opponent adds his hand to the Deck and shuffles it by the effect of "Disturbance Strategy", but "Protector of the Sanctuary" prevents him from drawing.
 
Back
Top