quick questions, simul optional effect

mikoal

Sinister Control
i have a mystic tomato
my opp snatch and attacks my mystic tomato
my opp attacks me

what happens?
since both are optional effects

it says "you may " bring out a 1500 or less
does that mean, you miss the timing of the 1st one?
 
Ok, so, here's the scenario then....

P1 has 2 "Mystic Tomato"s on the field.
P2 has a monster.
P2 plays "Snatch Steal" and takes a "Mystic Tomato".
P2 attacks with "Mystic Tomato" into P1s "Mystic Tomato".
P1 gets to Special Summon 2 Dark Monsters with an ATK of 1500 or less. Yay!

You don't miss the timing with these cards. The optional part is there so you can decide to use it or not. You don't HAVE to Special Summon a monster.


Hope this helps!
 
skey23 said:
Ok, so, here's the scenario then....

P1 has 2 "Mystic Tomato"s on the field.
P2 has a monster.
P2 plays "Snatch Steal" and takes a "Mystic Tomato".
P2 attacks with "Mystic Tomato" into P1s "Mystic Tomato".
P1 gets to Special Summon 2 Dark Monsters with an ATK of 1500 or less. Yay!

You don't miss the timing with these cards. The optional part is there so you can decide to use it or not. You don't HAVE to Special Summon a monster.


Hope this helps!



so same scenario with poison draw frogs do you get the effect?
All i know is that if the last thing to happen isnt that optional effect it should work.

Ie: you have a poison draw frog and u tribute for jinzo, no Poison draw from effect
but if you have sangan and u tribute for jinzo, you get sangan effect.

so why does 2 of ur own mystic ramming into each other get it
 
Yes, if two "Poison Draw Frog"s attack each other, and they are both destroyed by Battle, then both of their effects will activate. You will not miss the timing for either of them.

The reason for this is because both effects have the same activation timing, in the Graveyard. Both monsters are sent to the Graveyard at the same time. One is not sent before the other.


Hope this helps!
 
skey23 said:
Yes, if two "Poison Draw Frog"s attack each other, and they are both destroyed by Battle, then both of their effects will activate. You will not miss the timing for either of them.

The reason for this is because both effects have the same activation timing, in the Graveyard. Both monsters are sent to the Graveyard at the same time. One is not sent before the other.


Hope this helps!



so with the tributing of jinzo, the lat thing happening was the summon

where as the 2 example up there, the last THINGS happening are the 2 montser hitting up the grave?
 
I always try to think about these situations with a special little 'Timing' window, before the next chain will start.
So when multiple monsters with optional effects hit the graveyard, you enter the small window... now you can decide which effects should activate (you can also decide that all Tomato // Poison Draw Frog // whatever - effects should activate).

After you made your decision, the effects build a new chain following the rules of simultaneous effects. So you won't miss the timing of any of these effects, as Simon already pointed out. :)

soul :cool:
 
Also, if you use the effect of mystic tomato and search your deck, you MUST summon a monster if there is a summonable dark monster with 1500 atk or less in your deck, even if the only one is a Thousand-Eyes Idol or something.

You can't search your deck and say "i don't want to summon anything after all" if there still is a possible monster in your deck.
 
Chillout1984 said:
Also, if you use the effect of mystic tomato and search your deck, you MUST summon a monster if there is a summonable dark monster with 1500 atk or less in your deck, even if the only one is a Thousand-Eyes Idol or something.

You can't search your deck and say "i don't want to summon anything after all" if there still is a possible monster in your deck.


When this card is sent to the Graveyard as a result of battle, you may select 1 DARK monster with an ATK of 1500 or less from your Deck and Special Summon it to the field in face-up Attack position (no Tribute is required for monsters of Level 5 or more). The Deck is then shuffled.



you MAY
 
What Chillout is saying is you cannot use Mystic Tomato for a free Serch and Shuffle. either you use it (search, Summon, Shuffle) or you don't (don't even search). Basically it falls under the rules of deck manipulation (free shuffle) and possibly stalling. You should know what you have in your deck and you can always look at your hand or graveyard to tell if the card you wish to summon is in there. You choose to use it before the search. Therefore, once you search for the card you want, you MUST select one.
 
DarkLogicianOfCaos said:
What Chillout is saying is you cannot use Mystic Tomato for a free Serch and Shuffle. either you use it (search, Summon, Shuffle) or you don't (don't even search). Basically it falls under the rules of deck manipulation (free shuffle) and possibly stalling. You should know what you have in your deck and you can always look at your hand or graveyard to tell if the card you wish to summon is in there. You choose to use it before the search. Therefore, once you search for the card you want, you MUST select one.



well yea.......
kinda like using reinforcements

just incase someone says anything....

........ of the army
 
You can activate Mystic Tomato whether you know you have a monster to summon or not. If you activate the effect, you're indicating your desire to Special Summon a Dark Attribute monster with 1500 attack or less. If you fail to summon anything, the opponent can confirm this with a quick 10 second run through of your deck. So actually you can get a free shuffle, but only if you fail to resolve Mystic Tomato with effect.

The thing about Reinforcement of the Army is that if you activate it, you're already indicating your desire to search your deck for a Level 4 or lower Warrior-Type Monster Card. The only option you have is to activate it or not. If you activate it and search your deck for your monster and fail to show your opponent a monster you're searching for, then they can have a quick 10 second run through of your deck to confirm your claim. Reinforcement of the Army then will have been considered to resolve without effect.

I just wanted to make sure that information was covered.
 
Nobody questioned that. What was stated was that IF you choose to activate the effect of "Mystic Tomato" and you search your deck, only to find "Cyber-Stein", then you MUST Special Summon that "Cyber-Stein", you cannot then decide you don't want to Special Summon him. The only optional part of "Mystic Tomato"s effect is whether to activate it or not.
 
skey23 said:
Nobody questioned that. What was stated was that IF you choose to activate the effect of "Mystic Tomato" and you search your deck, only to find "Cyber-Stein", then you MUST Special Summon that "Cyber-Stein", you cannot then decide you don't want to Special Summon him. The only optional part of "Mystic Tomato"s effect is whether to activate it or not.
I never questioned that with my post. I was just addressing the mechanics behind the failure to resolve the effect completely.
 
Back
Top