The logic, as I understand it, was this:
I had 2 monsters on the field, my opponent had 1. I attacked his face-down "Morphing Jar #2". Since "#2" was no longer a 'valid' monster to return to a deck, the total monsters returning to 'each' deck was 2, BOTH from my side of the field. To quote DaGuy: "It's the monster(s) that are returned to the deck that are counted." And this is the EXACT logic used to rule the way the judge ruled. There were a total of 2 monsters returned to the deck. But here is where the ruling differed from what DaGuy says: "It doesn't concern itself with the sides of the field." The judge ruled that because BOTH monsters came from MY side of the field that I got to Special Summon 2 monsters, even though 1 of those monsters was my opponent's and went to HIS deck.
Why do I know this?...Because my opponent argued his case and wanted the judge to 'back up' his ruling. He believed the card played as DaGuy and chaosruler state.
I am not trying to be confrontational. I am simply stating the ruling given to me last weekend.
I am simply trying to find the 'correct' answer for myself should I ever have to give a ruling in a similar situation.
Thanks.