According to the ruling which says it does not target, you can and must destroy 1 monster that fits the condition.  If there are several monsters with the same Level, and you remove from play that Level number of monsters, then at resolution you will destroy 1 of those monsters.  If a card effect is chained to alter the number of those monsters, well, no problem.  You destroy 1 of the remaining monsters.
Short answer, mikoal, yes.  See Fissure for similar interactions there.
The card wording "Remove from play any number of..." implies you pick a number.  You don't target those removed monsters, because it's a cost.  You don't target a specific monster either, and remove from play its Level number of monsters.  You just pick one arbitrary number.
Having said that, you're not allowed to activate a card that will have no effect, so the numbers you can arbitrarily pick are restricted by what's on the field.  It doesn't target anything, though.