Slate Warrior vs. Royal Command

Okay...

So, Royal Command only negates Flip Effects?

Or do you mean that Royal Command won't negate the effect of an already activated Slate Warrior? I meant to ask whether Royal Command would prevent Slate Warrior's second effect from activating and resolving.
 
Oh... there was a debate about this... let me see if I can find the ruling cause it had it where the effect negator negated all the effects, even the lingering/non-flip one...

*EDIT*

Nevermind... different circumstance, different situation, no, "Royal Command" wouldn't negate the 2nd effect since it activates in the Graveyard anyway.
 
Uh-oh!

I must not have looked hard enough. Instead of causing another debate, could someone point me towards the thread?

Thanks Chaosruler, Densetsu_X, and anyone else who posts!
 
"Negate the activation and effects of all Flip Effect monsters' effects."

So any effect originating from a "Flip Effect Monster" is negated, not just "FLIP:" effects themselves. This is similar in nature to a weaker Skill Drain.

However, in the case of Slate Warrior only the first effect is negated because the second is a Graveyard Trigger and is unaffected by Royal Command.

It all depends on what Zones are affected by Royal Command, and whether the wording of the card is correct.
 
chaosruler said:
well, now i'm genuinely confused, but now i think i get it, yeah, it's a graveyard trigger

-chaosruler
Sorry...

It seems to be written like Skill Drain, and should negate all effects originating from a Flip Effect Monster, not just the "FLIP:" effect itself.

However, Slate Warrior seems like it would would get around it because it's second effect Triggers in the grave. It all depends if Royal Command affects the Graveyard or not.

My guess is that it doesn't.

better?
 
The controversy comes from Blade Knight vs. Slate Warrior

Blade Knight
Effect Monster (Warrior / LIGHT / 4 Stars / ATK 1600 / DEF 1000)

If you have 1 or less cards in your hand, the ATK of this card on the field is increased by 400 points. Also, if this card is the only monster on your side of the field, negate the effects of Flip Effect Monsters destroyed by this card as a result of battle.

Here is the ruling that makes everything fun

If "Blade Knight" destroys a Flip Effect Monster like "Slate Warrior", even that monster's non-Flip effects are negated. So in this case, "Slate Warrior" does not reduce the ATK and DEF of the "Blade Knight" that destroyed it, because "Blade Knight" negates its effect.


I do not see the difference between Royal Command's Line and Blade Knights, they a negating the Effect of a Flip monster not necessarily the flip effect but the Flip effect monster.

Royal Command
Continuous Trap

Negate the activation and effects of all Flip Effect monsters' effects.
 
I do not see the difference between Royal Command's Line and Blade Knights, they a negating the Effect of a Flip monster not necessarily the flip effect but the Flip effect monster.
The difference is that Blade Knight (like Dark Ruler) negates the effects of monsters destroyed in battle by it, Royal Command is similar to Skill Drain and only negates the effects of face-up Flip Effect Monsters.

In otherwords, from the time the monster is deemed "destroyed" in battle" by Blade Knight, till the time it leaves the Graveyard, all effects generated by that monster are negated.

These 2 effects are fuctionally completely different.
 
Raijinili said:
It's not a graveyard effect, it's only TIMED that way.
Yes, true enough. The trigger is the destruction, but the reduction isn't performed until the end of the Damage Step, when it would normally be sent to the Graveyard.
 
Following Blade Knight rullings, I would say that Royal Command negates all of Slate's effects since it's a Flip-Effect monster. If there was no errata on Royal Command, only the atk/def increase would be negated.
No condition is placed in Royal Command in order to negate the effects.

Yes, true enough. The trigger is the destruction, but the reduction isn't performed until the end of the Damage Step, when it would normally be sent to the Graveyard.

Does this mean that The End of Anubis will not negate Slate's effect?
 
Back
Top